We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this neighborhood and the staff were so friendly, we will return!”
Review of Dryades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dryades Hotel
Ranked #90 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for 1 night as we were passing through Athens on our way to Crete. Taxis from the airport run at a flat rate of 35 Euros to the center of the city. Easy enough to find, and we arrived to a nice welcome. The staff were so nice and helpful. Just around the corner of the hotel there is a bakery where you can get all sorts of sweets like donuts or walnut cakes.

We liked how quiet it was, situated in a residential neighborhood full of vibrant cafes, we wandered about 10 minutes away (after the front desk gave us a map and kindly showed us where to go) and found many restaurants to choose from, we had the most delicious meal I've had all year at the Taverna Pozania- I'm a Chef & picky and I literally felt my head spinning at the deliciousness of it all.

The rooftop has nice views of the city, peaceful and a good place to enjoy a coffee. The room was clean and the internet worked well in the room.

The only thing we would change was the double beds, but maybe that was our mistake as we could have possibly asked for 1 big bed but it was only one night so we didn't mind too much. Fresh cold water jug in the refrigerator of the room was a nice welcome.

Also our shower handle was broken which made washing ourselves tricky but we only noticed it late at night so we didn't want to bother the staff with it at that hour. Overall we loved this hotel, the price was right and when we return to Athens we will be staying here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovelyivealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is a nice hotel with nice rooms situated on the edge of the busy center of Athens. The area around the hotel has a lot of taverns, bars and restaurants. The neighborhood is vibrant and busy until late. The personnel are very nice and helpful, nice clean rooms and some rooms have a front garden where you can chill outside. It is good affordable so do not expect a 5 star hotel. For the more alternative experience of Athens, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of two parts : Orion and Dryades. Ask for a Dryades room with a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice room (modern, clean and comfortable), very nice staff (very welcoming and very accomodating). Hearty breakfast. it's not in the best area of Athens but it's quiet, the metro is not so far and you can find easily a place to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were incredibly happy that we booked at Dryades. Although it isn't in the main tourist area around the Acropolis, it is still quite central and handy for exploring the city (the Acropolis/Plaka area is a 25 minute walk or 10 minute cab ride). The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. It is basic in the way that budget hotels are basic, but it is nice. The staff is incredibly friendly and kind -- they helped us to plan our days in the city. The Excharia neighbourhood is "artsy" and bohemian -- close to the hotel there is a strip of restaurants that are just lovely and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace that has a view over the city and of the Acropolis. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, bread, and fruit.

I was so happy to see this different side of Athens away from the tourists. I would definitely stay in this hotel (and in this neighbourhood) again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've chosen this hotel for its good reviews, its position with a wonderful sigh on the acropolis and for its good rates. The reception is very kind and nice. The neighborhood is animated and interesting. You can get all city's conrners in few time. wonderful and pleasant stay!

Room Tip: athens room, acropolis view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHELE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Brilliant little hotel. Quite quirky layout but everything we needed for a stopover in Athens to drop off and collect people from the airport. Restaurants 3 to 5 minutes walk away brilliant. Vibrant area, staff were absolutely most helpful. Incredible value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex room with a terrace which was great because we had a dog with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Communityanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have recently spent a short stay at the Dryades Hotel in Athens.
My experience has been absolutely positive! The hotel is very well located: quite central at a walk able distance to the main tourist attractions but with the plus of being in a very lively and vibrant area with nice cafes and restaurants.
Our room, bigger than average for the same category of hotel, had two nice balconies overlooking the hill of Lofos Strefi with the benefit of having fresher climate and a green environment than in the historical centre.
The staff of the hotel was very kind and professional. They also happily helped me with a personal issue raised during my stay.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukretia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#110 of 282 in Athens
72 reviews
Exarchia
Exarchion Hotel
Exarchion Hotel
#129 of 282 in Athens
155 reviews
Exarchia
Hotel Frida
Hotel Frida
#134 of 282 in Athens
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,204 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
781 reviews
Victory Inn
#54 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryades Hotel

Address: 105 Emmanuel Benaki & Dryadon 4 | Lofos Strefi Park, Exarchia, Athens 11473, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $37 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dryades Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Strefi Hill in the center of Athens, this particular location offers a tranquil and verdant setting that boasts natural light and endless views of the city. All this in an authentic Athenian neighborhood that is very convenient since it is close to public transport, historical monuments, shopping and entertainment hubs.With a 24 hour reception and WiFi Internet available in all areas, breakfast room with amazing view and fully-equipped shared kitchens.The ideal choice for all those in search of a familial atmosphere, cleanliness and quality at exceptionally low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Dryades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing