We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent value”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #31 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Concepcion, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent value”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good solid hotel in a very good location (three minute walk to the Metro and fifteen to the Acropolis). Comfortable rooms. A beautiful view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar. Excellent value. I would certainly stay in it again and I would recommend it to others travelling to Athens.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Omar B
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your visit Athens and the Review on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the locatiom and of course our rooftop bar!
We will be happy to welcome again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    882
    267
    50
    27
See reviews for
296
846
181
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights while in Athens on business this February. I was on my own but given a twin room (en suite private bathroom) which was very nice.

The location is very central and both tourist destinations and amenities (restaurants, bars, shops) are a short walk away.

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. All the staff speak good English and are happy to help, such as when my iPhone charger didn't fit the adaptor I had brought with me and I was able to borrow an adaptor from reception for the duration of my stay, free of charge.
Upon arrival I was given a map of the city and a card with the hotel's address. The latter was very useful because I was getting taxis to and from work meetings, and not all the taxi drivers spoke English well enough to understand my destination.

The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and (pleasant surprise!) proper English tea was available.

Another plus was the computer room with 3 PCs which appeared to be available 24 hours. Free coffee and tea are available in this room between 11am and 4pm.

The weather was very mild for February (as a British person it was great not to see rain at all while I was there) and I was able to relax on the roof terrace where there is a bar and a great view of the Acropolis.

All in all I had a great stay and will definitely be staying at the Attalos on future visits for business and leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors (there are 6 floors in total) to avoid street noise and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBorn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear LondonBorn 87
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during you stay in Athens and for the High score!
Your Review means a lot to us!
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Attalos several times in the past ten years and have always found it to be good value. It's location is ideal to do sightseeing, shopping, etc. It is close to shops, restaurants, bars and steps away from the metro and the Acropolis and it's beautiful new museum. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms vary in size and shape but all are clean and well appointed. There is a rooftop bar which is the ideal place to watch the sun set over the acropolis. The breakfast is a bit pricey for what you get, but there are plenty of places around for those who prefer a smaller fare in the morning.

Room Tip: In high season, the front rooms may be noisy for the light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Moncton Canucks
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel everytine you visit Athens.
Attalos hotel is your home away from home in the heart of Athens!
We are always happy to welcome you!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This all you could want. Just up from Monastiraki Square and an easy walk to the Acropolis, Syntagma and everywhere else central. Really comfortable, clean and friendly, with a fantastic view of the Acropolis from the roof bar. Very reasonable price for such a central location. Just great.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have a view of the Acropolis - higher up is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adedomaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Adedomaros
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens.
It is nice to hear that you enjoed your stay! It is true that the location is perfect as all the sights and interests are near!
YES! WE HAVE THE BEST VIEW OF THE ACROPOLIS FROM OUR ROOFTOP BAR!
Is this the best reason to return??? :) :))
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Thank you for the High score!
Honest Regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed for just one night and the location is excellent. The hotel is somewhat worn, but the mattresses seem new - and are quite hard, perhaps not to everyone's taste. I stayed in 207, an ok size room with a small window to the back of the hotel. The bathroom was small and the proverbial cat would not have liked to be swung in there!
The walls are paper thin so you'll hear your neighbours very clearly and as the cleaning lady starts her round VERY early (before 5am), you should bring earplugs. The hotel is super central and the rooftop bar is great. As the staff is kind and helpful and the rates are good, I would come back - but bring my earplugs!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallish_mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Smallish_Mermaid
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel for your stay in Athens and for the Review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, as our priority is Satisfy Guests!!!! The mattresses are medium hard and new but as you say it depends of the taste.... it is true that the bathrooms are small but since the building is from late sixties we cannot change that.
We would like to let you know that the maid starts working at 8 am, so probably was a noisy neighbour.
After all we will be happy to welcome you again in the future and we promise that you'll enjoy your stay 100%!!!! :)
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights on what was a wonderful holiday in Athens. Visited all historical sites n more including trip to Aegian island. The hotel is close to many attractions such as Accropolis, Monastiraki, ermou street and the Metro, which just few blocks away, is convenient point to connect you to anywhere around the city.
The hotel rate is very reasonable and room is very clean. The noise from the street can be a bit disturbing but then again this is center of bustling city and that's part of the fun! The staff are all friendly and ready to help. Thank Kostas and Saki and the 2 ladies in the restaurant. I cant understand why there are some complains about the rooms restaurant etc ...to me this is definitely a top end 3-star hotel and value for the money. Believe me, I am a frequent traveller to many cities around the world and stayed in countless hotels and I am satisfied with this hotel.
M Othman, Kuching, Malaysia.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mahli o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Mahli O
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor.
We cannot say anything as you have tell everything on your Review....:)
We always try to offer the best to our guests and we are happy to hear that succed!!!!!!
Of course we'll be happpy to welcome you again to enjoy our beautiful city and Attalos hotel!!!!
Thank you for the High score!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis/Manager
Sakis, Kostas and all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

One of my brother's coworkers had stayed here a few years back. She recommended it. We were very happy with the price. While the room was pretty plain, it was also very clean. The rooftop bar was great. It's located within walking distance of everything that we wanted to see. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Shane 1102
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor and the High score!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you'll recommend us.....
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,324 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,708 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,272 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
604 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 326 in Athens
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing