We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #34 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

It is an old hotel, but nice for 1 or 2 nights. It is conviniently close to Monasteraki, which was subway, and also stops for the bus. Good place to walk at night in the main roads.

It is clean, breakfast fair enough. But the AC is old, so it will take a while to get the temperature.

Watch for the elevator, only has external door and it is small. Internet in all hotel.

For the bar, great place to look to parthenon at night. Piictures should be taken there

Room Tip: Ask in reception for outdoor room and high floor! They can make it happen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we take every comment under serious consideration because it motivate us to do even better !

We are constanly trying to improve our rooms and facilities as it is true that the building is old since it is from the late sixties.
Despite of that, we are so glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, the convenience of the location, the breakfast, the free Internet Access, the breathtaking view from our rooftop bar. Your comment about our staff is really important to us .

We hope to welcome you again in the future and we all wish you happiness and prosperity for the upcoming New Year !

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    846
    255
    49
    27
See reviews for
277
807
172
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location of this Hotel (just a block north of the Plaka, very close to Monastriaki METRO stop) is VERY good. Perfect for shopping, and half-way equidistant between the primary tourist destinations of the city--the Acropolis/Agora, and the National Archaeological Museum.

The staff at the hotel are wonderfully helpful, polite, and willing to assist with just about anything! AMAZING!!

The rooftop bar view literally can't be beat. Even from the Plaka, rooftop views are so-so of the main night-time draw--the Acropolis/Parthenon....because from the Plaka, you're too close, and often the view is obstructed by the hill of the Acropolis itself, or by trees. However, from one block back, at Hotel Attalos, and three floors up, the view is AMAZING! And you can bring up your own food--which means if you're on a budget, you can save a TON of money and buy your gyro on the street for 2 Euros instead of in a restaurant for 8 Euros...then head up to the rooftop, order a beer, and have your feast with the best view in town for less than you'd have spent on just a beer down in the Plaka!

Highly recommended! This is a mid-range hotel, not bare-bones and dirty like a hostel, not expensive and out of reach like a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Be sure to check out the local markets on the same street as the hotel, too..the meat, fish, spice, and fruit/vegi markets give you a view of local life that you just won't get if you stay only inside the Plaka. Load up on spices...you'll be glad you did when you get home!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaJeff1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor .

We are so happy that you found our hotel conveniently located and you enjoyed your stay in Athens. Your kind and warm words about our rooftop bar with the breathtaking view to the Acropolis and more important about our staff , means a lot to us and make us try to get even more better!

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

We wish you all the best for the upcoming New Year to you and your beloved ones !

Kind regards,
kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Found this place on the Internet booked it on a whim and lucked out! If your looking for a clean room this is the spot. The best view in the city from the roof top bar and in excellent part of the city. Walked to the Acropolis and the museum in no time. Great shopping and wonderful restaurants all around!! Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mrs Tina,

Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the review on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, the amazing view from our rooftop bar and the location of our hotel and your hotel choice turned out to be such a pleasant experience for you !

We will be happy to welcome you again soon! We wish you a Happy New Year full of health, prosperity and joy !

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Value for money,hotel located in the center of Athens,clean,walking distance to Acropolis.The rooms are big and clean.Near metro and bus stations,restaurants,bars and shops.The roof top is perfect to enjoy a unique view

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Dan I,

Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens and for taking time to submit your review on TripAdvisor

We deeply appreciate your kind feedback regarding the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and the convenient location. We are so glad that you enjoyed the rooftop bar overlooking the spectacular view of Acropolis .

We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again soon !
We wish you all the best for the upcoming New Year !

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband, myself and our 3 children stayed here in June 2013 for 5 nights. When I initially saw it, I was a bit apprehensive. The location is very busy and when we went to our rooms they appeared a bit dated. This however was amply made up for by the following:
a)Fantastic rooftop bar with amazing views.
b)An unbeatable central location.
c)Extremely friendly and helpful staff - They even contacted a pharmacy to check that the medication I needed was in stock.
d) Very comfortable rooms and beds.
e)fantastic value for money.
I highly recommend this hotel. If you want 5 star luxury this is not for you, but if you want comfort, convenience and value for money, then this can't be beaten in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor and for the High score!
It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your room, the view, the staff and the location!
The last renovation in the rooms was in 2004 and every year we renovate some things as our priority is the comfortable stay of our guests.
We try to get even more better! so we will be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here in October 2013. We took the metro (8 euros/person) from the airport to Monastiraki station - exit Athinas Street, turn right and walk 100 metres to the hotel. Couldn't have been easier. It is within walking distance of the plaka, acropolis, tons of restaurants and the shopping district. For the price, the rooms are clean, beds comfortable and shower refreshing. The staff is extremely friendly and will help you find anything. Including beer and wine to pack in your suitcase before heading to the Piraeus cruise terminal. For 1.60 euros you can take the metro from Monastiraki Stn to Piraeus (last stop). Once at Piraeus, you have 2 options: you can take a taxi to Gate 11 where the cruise ships are docked or walk about 40 minutes along the water. Our goal was to do everything on a budget - so we walked pulling our luggage behind us.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street a bit noisy as Athenians stay up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your saty in Athens.
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor and for the High score!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the city.
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2013. I'd give it full marks for location, amenities, staff, and cleanliness. We took a room for three - the rooms are spacious and bright, well maintained. Decent bathrooms, very clean. Manager presented us with a bottle of wine when he came to know two of us had a birthday on one of the days that we stayed there! Very helpful with inputs on sightseeing and directions too. The roop top bar is fantastic, with a view to die for. The breakfast spread is pretty good - there is a decent range to choose from. There are several eating places to suit all pockets wihin walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff even found something we'd forgotten in the room and emailed us about it! If you are looking for the best value for money, then this is it!

Room Tip: If there are more than 2 of you, take a room for 3 rather than 2 rooms, it's worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagarikamelkote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor and for the High score!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything in our hotel. It make us try to get even more better!
That is a very good reason to return! :)
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#61 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing