We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Everything about this 'C' grade B&B hotel (it's own positioning) is good to excellent.The welcome at the reception was easy and with a pleasant welcome, indeed all staff throughout the hotel are pleasant and helpful. Tooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean, and the bed linen spotless. But best of all is its location just a short walk from most of the key sights of Athens with an outstanding view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you choseAttalos hotel during your stay in Athens and it very satysfing to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to hear that you liked the location, view of Acropolis from the roof terrace, service from staff and hotel facilities.
We will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future !
Thank you !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Athens. Less than 5 mins walk from the train station. Restaurants and shopping are just in plaka area and its only 10 mins walk. The front desk are really friendly and they are on time if you want wake up call. They will suggest really good restaurants and places to go. We book a tour here ( aegaen glory - hydra, aegina and poros tour) and was really good tour and good value for money. The roof top bar was amazing looking at the acropolis. Get few cocktail and dessert. Rooms are okay nothing fancy but that's all we need. They have computer to check your email and to print you boarding pass that was really a ++. If you are on budget trip and not looking for fancy stuff.. You will love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakwatsera09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Attalos hotel and especially the location close to all the interesting spots of the city, Acropolis view from the roof terrace which is one of the most beautiful views of the city and service from staff that makes us very happy as we all try our best so our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay in our hotel and city!
Thank you for the high score!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Absolutely the best value in all of Greece, this quaint 6 story hotel in the Psirri, located within walking distance of the Plaka and Acropolis, with access to some amazing restaraunts and with the best hospitality of any hotel we've ever stayed in anywhere, this place should be on any traveler to Athens list as THE place to stay. I have never before seen such a beautiful view as that from the rooftop bar, and the service there was also excellent. If there is any problem that this place has, it's that there's no parking nearby, but that's hardly their fault. The breakfast buffet wasn't great, but filling, and the WiFi was the best of any place we stayed at in Greece. I can't give enough high praises for this place and a super thanks goes out to Matt Barrett and his wonderful greektravel website for recommending it in the first place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brent k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens. We were glad to read your review on TripAdvisor as it is a great satisfaction to hear that you liked your stay at Attalos hotel. We are happy you enjoyed location in walking distance to all the interesting points of the city, view of Acropolis from the roof terrace and service from staff and hotel facilities.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future !
Thank you for the high score and your nice words!

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is located just right outside of Plaka area, Athens’s beautiful tourist attraction. It is on Athinas street , and 200m away from Monasthpaki square. There is a subway from airport to the square. It is very convenient.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights this May. The hotel was charming, and nicely decorated, have very pleasant family hotel atmosphere. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. I should say they were the most helpful people we encountered in this Greece. In general, Greece people were very helpful. Room is large enough, but the air conditioning was not cooled down fast enough.
The best thing for this hotel is the roof bar, open from 16:00 to late evening. It has a very good view for Acropolis. When siting there in the evening with a bottle of beer in hand and the golden Acropolis in the view, the price we paid was well worth it. Staying in Athens, a hotel with a roof bar with a view of Acropolis is the must.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lifetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is satysfying to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Attalos hotel and that you liked location ,hotel facilities , staff service and the family atmosphere . It is true that the Acropolis view from our roof terrace is one of the best in the city.
We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future and offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay!
Thank you !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel is nice, conveniently located. In itself, the hotel is nothing special. However, the staff make this a place to come back to. The front desk was always very helpful. The bartender on the rooftop terrace is creative and fun. The rooftop was one of our favorite places to relax after spending the day walking around town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iauditu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Attalos hotel and that you liked location and service from staff. We try our best to offer the best we can so guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. View of Acropolis from the roof terrace is true that is one of the best in the city.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future !
Thank you !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I used to stay here all the time when I was doing independent research and did not have many funds. A great little hotel, centrally located and reasonably priced. The nicest owners. My luggage got lost going from Crete to Athens (one of Olympic Airlines popular extras that you did not sign on for when you purchased a ticket with them and one of the main reasons I only travel with a carryon now) and the hotel staff actually gave me a t-shirt to sleep in. Still have it. Brings back such pleasant memories. Great roof bar with views of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marciahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and the high score. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Attalos hotel and that you liked location and Acropolis view from the roof terrace .
We are happy to hear that you still have the shirt and brings you good memories!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future!
Thank you !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just stayed a week here, returning on May 23rd, 2013. The location is great for getting around via bus or train (taxis are cheap!). Yes, the rooms are basic, but very clean - the shower and bathroom gleamed! Try and get a front balcony room (for very little extra) - watching the world go by is so relaxing! Great little bakery next door for coffee and breakfast treats!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on Athina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Attalos hotel and that you liked location , cleanliness and service from staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future and offer you a great stay!
Thank you for the high score !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,410 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
679 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#48 of 282 in Athens
610 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 282 in Athens
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing