We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location.”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very clean hotel & comfy hotel. Although rooms and bathrooms are a little small, the location really makes up for it all. Rooftop bar is great - has a view of the Acropolis. It is also walking distance to Monastiraki, Plaka, Market, Acropolis, Agora, Syntagma Square and more - all the places one should visit when in Athens. Plenty of food outlets in Monastiraki & Plaka area. We stayed 5 nights in total and if we go back to Athens again, we would stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (away from the main street) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02travel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and that you would stay again in the future. Thank you for your nice comments.
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Attalos Hotel is ideally placed for a holiday in Athens. It is close to the Monastiraki Metro station, which connects directly with the airport and the port of Piraeus. Plaka, with its restaurants and shops is also close by. The major tourist attractions - the acropolis, the agora, the tower of the winds, the new acropolis museum etc are all only minutes away. We booked a twin room without a balcony (mistake? absolutely not). The hotel rooftop has a fabulous view of the Parthenon and the rest of the city. We spent ages there. There is a bar, too, if you fancy enjoying the sunset with an ouzo. Oh, and there is a lift (elevator) and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. I'll certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a balcony as the roof terrace is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greekophile15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Location is very convenient for sightseeing and also for the port and the airport. It is nice to hear you liked the hospitality in our hotel. It is true that we have one of the best views in town. We are so glad to hear you would stay again in our hotel and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future !
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is absolutely perfect for a few days in Athens! The City Sightseeing on and off busses stop near by, tons of restaurants all around you. You can walk out of the hotel and go right towards the square and hit souvenir heaven and all the food you could want. Really charming area where shops and restaurants are. Most of the reviews all say the same about this hotel, great staff.....location and rooftop bar are awesome! The bar sells bottles of water for street price as well. Unbelievable view from rooftop bar.

Room Tip: Higher floor that has balacony that overlooks the Acropolis. We had room 510.....decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstonflygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, friendly service and the view from our hotel roofgarden. It is nice to hear you liked the hospitality and your stay was a positive experience.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on our hotel another time in a future visit to Athens!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

this hotel belongs budget category. nothing fancy but gets to job done.

the good:
- monstiraki metro station is just a few steps away from the hotel door - easy access to and from the airport - big plus!
- monstiraki square nearby offers many dining options. look for the take out gyro stand - 2.2 euro each, pork or chicken. not your everyday healthy food, but very delicious.
- news stands nearby for buying beer, soda, and water.
- short walk to the syntagma square and the acropolis, both are like less than 20 minutes away on foot at a slow pace.
- actually, it's close enough to just about all sightseeing spots by foot. we walked to plaka, panathinaiko stadium, temple of olympic zeus, and even mt lycabettus
- roof terrance/bar provides a glimpse of the acropolis. a nice place to have a drink and admire the acropolis - all day long - for sunrise and sunset

the bad:
- not many to complain about in general
- bathtub is a bit narrow. unfortunately you have to take showers in it
- the bed sheet we got one day had a red stain on it. looked like blood stain being through the washing machine. don't think this is a huge alarming sign, but we prefer not to see it. we didn't even compain to the hotel. however, when the cleaning people saw this bed sheet they should've sent it back to lundry right away.

Room Tip: we stayed at this hotel twice in our recent trip to greece. the first room was 404 with balcony. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that your stay in our hotel was a positive experience. The location is as you mention very convenient. We are happy to hear you liked the view from roofgarden. We are sorry to hear about the stain on the sheet, we have already informed the cleaning staff as well as the laundry to be more careful .
We hope to be able to welcome you again on our hotel another time in the future !
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to Monastiraki metro station. Very easy access to airport and port of Piraeus. Just few steps from Acropol and near Syntagma squaere. Nice staff ,clean and confortable rooms. There is a bar at the top of the hotel where You can drink something and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager81_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness , friendly service and roofgarden of our hotel. It is nice to hear you liked the hospitality and your stay was a positive experience. We will be glad to welcome you again on our hotel another time in the future !
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Highly recommend! Great value for the money especially for short stays like ours. Finding a hotel like this is what makes Trip Advisor so great. We arrived for a three night stay before our cruise. Clean hotel, central to key tourist sites, beautiful view from rooftop bar of The Acroplis, no frills room, small bathroom...just as others had described. Close to the Monastiraki metro stop if coming from the airport. About a 40 minute metro ride ( 7 euros each Vs 25 euro taxi fare). Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elcidkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and the review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you liked location, roofgarden and friendly service!
Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at the Attalos Hotel twice recently. It is an older style hotel, with basic amenities, and for the price is great value for money. The hotel is extremely clean throughout, and whilst old, is comfortable and more than adequate. The reception staff are all very friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The roof top bar is lovely, and a big hello to Maria who runs the bar for her friendly service and conversation. I will definitely come back to the Attalos during my next visit to Athens.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel .We appreciate your comments about cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly service as we try our best to offer the best we can in order to offer guests a pleasant and comfortable stay. Thank you for the review and the high score on TripAdvisor !Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
675 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#41 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $65 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing