We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
Ranked #91 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Rhodes, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly located.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location. It is less than 5 minutes walking from the central marketplace of Athens, the Ermou str. and the Sintagma Square. Nice and friendly staff. My room wasn't very nice which means that it need a redecoration, but it was spotlessly cleaned every day.It was quite at nights so I had a good sleep every evening. A good choice for someone with limited budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    193
    68
    37
    35
See reviews for
109
186
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I chose this hotel from the reviews that i had read about it as they were on the whole very good. The reviews lead me to believe it had a family feel and certainly did. The hotel itself was quite old fashioned and the rooms we had were a little on the pokey side but it was very clean and comfortable and certainly had what we needed for our 4 day stay.
Clean towels every day and room cleaned . Bathrooms are seperate to your bedroom but you have a key and they are private. Ours was a shower and toilet and I must admit id rather have a on-suit. There are a few on the lower floor. There is no lift and there are 4 floors so tiring with bags. I recommend that people with mobility problems ask for a room on the ground floor.
The staff were friendly and a blonde lady, (not sure of her name) but she was exceptional and made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.
There are no hairdryers in the room so take one but if you want to travel light, they do have one you can borrow.
The breakfast was a little limited, mainly bread and toast, some cake and oranges and jam etc. However, the bread was home made and you could smell this cooking in the early hours.
Coffee is on all day and free, Nice little touch!
Some rooms have balconies, ours didnt but there was a little balcony on the second floor for anyone to use.
The location was perfect. Right on the edge of plaka and a 5 min walk into santaga square where you can get taxis or the metro. Also a 24 hour mcdonalds if your fed up with greek food.
In the plaka, lots of cozy bars and eating places. lots of outdoor cafes. Very pretty.
The location could not have been better,
overall, happy with our choice .

Room Tip: email and ask for what is important to you. you can request a en-suit room or a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquimichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very pleased with our choice. Its a small hotel and feels Greek. It was perfect for our requirements. The rooms are very basic ( just what we wanted) but it is clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a small balcony over looking the street. The Acropolis was in the opposite direction but you could see it from just round the corner from the hotel.
Most of the time it was a quiet location but we did get a bit of noise from the street. The staff were friendly and the head waitress at breakfast tried to teach us a bit of Greek. You have to hand your key in to reception when you go out. Each time we came back we were handed the correct key without giving our names.
The shower room was strange but this was a small price to pay. In the room we had the toilet pointed into the shower area!
If we went back to Athens we would look first at staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_mobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel has great location. At Kodrou in Plaka only few minutes from Syntagma Square by on foot. It is an old building. Rooms have wooden floor. Interior of the hotel is good. We stayed at two single bed room. Rooms are clean. They offer free breakfaast includes: tea or coffee, jam, egg, cake and croissant. Especially their cakes and croissants are great. I think hotel is family-run business. In mornings there was a middle aged lady which is cheerful and helpful. But I can't say same things at night. At nights younger man works and he is not helpful (reason for poor service). We need hot water for throat ache medicine. I said to him can I take hot water. He says I'm busy now. I said OK I can wait. He answered you can go your room when it is ready I will call you and you will come downstairs again and take it. (he can not bring to us) I went to room and start wait after 3 HOURS our telephone rings and he says "you can come and take it hot water" Not says I'm sorry for being late or I can bring to your room. For taking only hot water he kept waiting us 3 HOURS. Such a service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradot-e-Nem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was one of the most enjoyable experiences I have ever had in my life, Athens is a city that captivates you to the point of not wanting to return whatsoever, and this hotel has the same Athenian flavour, mr. Andreas si one of the most humble and serving person I have ever met, everyone treats you like you are part of the family and give you all the indications to have an exciting time in Athens. Thank you Hotel Acropolis House! We will return!!! we promise!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is ok, some of the rooms can get no water at some hours because the Hotel is pretty busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JbringasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The lady at the desk is extremely funny and gives you a warm welcome. Epic location in Plaka, the historic center where you must be if you want an authentic experience. The hotel is located next to an authentic restaurant and is located nearby all highlights. Athens is the most epic place ive been to, and this is a fitting accommodation. Basic room and breakfast, very friendly staff, dont ick a Hilton or Sheraton in Athens but a family owned hotel you have my word!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Amazing little Hotel in the heart of Athens and Plaka. You are practically in the center of Town. Only a few steps from Syntagma and Hard Rock café. Hotel is not luxurious, but normal, clean, with domestic atmosphere... If You do not have high standards, this is an excellent choice. Ideal for couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branislav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,730 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,541 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#50 of 326 in Athens
581 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Property: Hotel Acropolis House
Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropolis House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing