We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“unpleasant stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acropolis House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece (Plaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #71 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“unpleasant stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I chose the hotel because of the location, it is close to the X95 bus station, about 8-10 mins' walking. However, the room is too old and out-dated (I guess it has not been renovated for at least 15 or 20 years?), I hate to say this, but this is the oldest hotel I have ever stayed. The bathroom is so small that I can barely turn around (I'm a girl of small size). The air-conditioner is so noisy that I can not sleep well (very old model). The hotel really really needs update and renovation.
I am surprised why this hotel gets a high score in tripadviosr. Actually I have paid lower price for another much better hotel in Acropolis area, and chose Acropolis House for return trip just because we need to catch bus to x95.
If you only care about location and nothing else, chose this hotel. Otherwise think twice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    170
    54
    31
    33
See reviews for
87
167
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Acropolis for the second time when I visited Athens during my 75th birthday celebration. The hotel is fine. Clean. Safe. Not American/corporate. People you meet at breakfast are the kind of people you'd like to hang out with all day, but you can't ---- because you want to get out and about and see the museums and have some wonderful Greek food and ouzo. Jasmine will help you decide where to get the best food and how to get to the museum or wherever you want to go. And help you with the essential Greek phrases. "Fair eees tow."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. The location is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. Yu have to like the feel of a B and B and walking up the stairs. It is a good price in this area of Athens. I will definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location in the Plaka is convenient. My sister and I were able to walk to most of the sites, and used the metro very little. The fridge in the room was not turned on, so it was warm when we got there, but we were able to turn it on and it worked well. The wifi signal was very weak in our room, but we were able to use a neighboring hotel's wifi and the signal was good. We did not eat the breakfast, so I'm not sure how it was. The staff was excellent, very helpful and kind!! Our room had two beds, a full and a twin. The twin bed was VERY HARD!! --Not comfortable. I loved our little balconey overlooking the street. The value was good. I would stay there again. It was a decent place to sleep. We were gone all day touring, and didn't hang out at the hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was recommended by two academics and one businessman who travel frequently -- but I was concerned traveling as a solo woman with being in Plaka and having to catch the X95 early in the morning for my flight. Andreas, Jasmine and the night watchman were all wonderful, accomodating, found a room when there were nor more rooms left to reserve and provided reassurance as to the safety of their neighborhood. I got a personal wake up call with breakfast coffee prepared before the usual hour and walked easily to my bus after sleeping very well in a cool, clean room. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: If you will be staying long, ask for the view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We to the marvelous Acropolis House Hotel at the end of April 2013. The wonderful staff, including Jasmine and Theodora, welcomed us and we were able to secure our old room with a peek-a-boo view of the Acropolis from the balcony. It is an easy place to stay - an easy walk from Syntagma and to Monastiraki, Acropolis, Benaki and Cycladic Museums. The building is an historic monument with high ceilings, painted wallpaper and endless weathered charm. Plaka has the same spirit as always but many shops are now closed. The Greeks are welcoming, warm and all is peaceful. Don't let the news about Greece in foreign papers deter you from visiting Greece and enjoying the Acropolis House Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaliaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great place for its price. Centric, easy to get everywhere, we thank the staff, specially Andreas, for his kindness, he helped us a lot!!!
Special thanks to Dimitris, the taxi driver that Andreas booked for us, he was like our greek father during our trip :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#121 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#25 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#93 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#106 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Property: Hotel Acropolis House
Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing