We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and clean but not much else”
Review of Cecil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cecil Hotel
Ranked #122 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The location was fine between two metro stations and an easy walk to plaka and ermou street but at night, it didn't feel entirely safe- a little too dark and deserted. Also room was fine but heater didn't keep up and there wasn't enough hot water for more than 1 shower. Half the staff was very friendly, offering to get breakfast out for us early when we had to leave at 430am and on the day of the marathon. The other half smoked and played video games almost ignoring us.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samkapil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 373 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was very basic hotel and clean, good for those on a budget. They have internet although its one computer that you have to share with the rest of the residents.
The rooms are clean and the beds are sufficient, its ok for a night or two. The air conditioning is good too though.
Its in the Omonia area which is very rough area of athens, its popular area as it close to all the main sights of athens.
All in all, basic and cheap place to stay.
They have a good spread on for breakfast which I thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iorek_0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Booked a room at the Cecil at very short notice and found it to be very good value, perfect for a short stay in Athens.

The location is great - the nearest metro station is only a couple of blocks away; the Plaka district and the main shopping areas are within very comfortable walking distance; and Monastiraki square with its wonderful views of the Acropolis is just down the road.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms simple but adequate. There is also a very good, free wi-fi connection (which is more than you can say about the Athens Hilton!).

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I came back to Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglabarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Close to everything; pleasant small hotel with character; tiny rooms but with nice 'french' balconies. Super cheap too. Pleasant staff, great little breakfast. 7/10

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I were in Greece during the riots, and although we only stayed in Athens briefly before sailing for the islands, we did have to stay there. The Hotel Cecil is in a location convenient to Plaka and the Metro, but at the same time is a few blocks removed from the chaos that can be Athens. There was always a person to greet us at the front desk (whether at night or very early in the morning) and the hotel was incredibly secure. We had a rooftop room with a lovely view of the Acropolis especially at night. This is a clean hotel with great character and an affordable price. We will definitely stay there on our next Greece Adventure!

Room Tip: Make reservations in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunMoonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Hotel Cecil sits on a decidedly non-touristy side street in Athens, although it is just a few blocks from both Monastiraki and Omonia Squares. There are two subway stations within 3-4 blocks. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. A breakfast is provided, including delicious Greek yogurt and honey and superb coffee. The rooms are larger than average for a small European hotel. The bathroom was tiny, with barely enough room for a sink, toilet, and shower, but was clean and worked well. Getting to all the major tourist sites was very easy via the subway. Our room had a view of the Parthenon, although this was tempered somewhat by the laundry from the apartments across the street. Overall, the Hotel Cecil was a great value in a very good location. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblinDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Amidst political protesting and striking this summer in Athens, we were so fortunate to have randomly selected Cecil Hotel. We had very little planned when we actually departed for Europe, but had booked out 3 night stay in Athens, partly to get oriented and because we had a late arrival. The rooms are not fancy, but are comfortable, clean and affordable. The bathrooms are a bit small (your shower gets water EVERYWHERE), but this seems to be the case throughout Europe, and especially in Greece. It is conveniently located just up from Monastiraki Square and flea market, and the cute restaurant/bar area of Psiri (great for a glass of wine and/or dinner), and an easy walk to the Plaka neighborhood (yet far enough to be removed from the touristy hustle and bustle).
Our room had a clear view of the Acropolis, which is beautiful at night, and since is was removed from the parliament and government buildings we were not around the protests. The best part of its location is that the Airport and Port metro lines go straight to Monastiraki square, and the hotel is just a few short blocks from the station. Super easy, especially when traveling with rolling bags or backpacks.

There is a simple, yet satisfying breakfast served every morning, and an open computer available for internet access. This was especially convenient since our flight was canceled due to striking. The hotel staff was super accommodating and helped all affected guests with rebooking flight reservations, hotel reservations, and getting to the airport (Calling a taxi for you). Overall, if you want a comfortable mid-range option while staying in Athens, this is a GREAT choice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#74 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,204 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#124 of 282 in Athens
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,943 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
505 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#141 of 282 in Athens
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Hotel

Address: 39 Athinas, Athens 105 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $41 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cecil Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing