We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brilliant hotel, very helpful staff, would highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Athenaeum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #24 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant hotel, very helpful staff, would highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly reception team. They offered us a room upgrade and use of club lounge and spa for an extra cost which we accepted. Could not fault the room, cleanliness, brilliant service, view, food - shall I go on. The hotel shuttle bus service to the centre was very regular and comfortable, and the driver very professional and friendly. There was also a tram stop 2min walk from the hotel which was just as efficient and very regular (average 3min wait for tram and 4 stops into town). You would walk to the centre in about 15min. Don't use the taxis unless you have to as they always overcharge and rip you off. Overall a fabulous hotel!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pstyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guesr Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also our complimentary shuttle bus service. We would like to thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    742
    222
    62
    23
See reviews for
379
597
116
549
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
555 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We used Priceline to book this hotel. The hotel itself is fine, but it is in a dicey part of Athens. When we checked in, we asked for rooms with a view. They told us we'd have to pay for an upgrade. It would have been a wise PR move to upgrade us without a fee - if they had, this review would certainly have been more positive. Besides, the hotel was obviously not overbooked so it would not have cost them anything to have upgraded us.

The rooms were lovely - great bed and bedding, big bathroom. But the pull out line from which to hang clothes was broken and one of the lampshades was partially torn - surprising for a five star hotel. The pool was small and crowded - they did not have enough chairs or places to sit. But the towels were fabulous.

The only real gripe we have with this hotel, other than not upgrading us, was with the shuttle service. We were downtown in the main square, waiting for the shuttle for nearly twenty minutes. When it arrived, many people pushed to get on - they probably knew that if you didn't get on, you'd have to wait for another hour before the next ride. We held back, courteously, and the shuttle filled. We wanted to get on and stand but the shuttle Nazi blocked the way. I explained that we had been waiting and he didn't care - he said we'd have to wait for another hour until the next shuttle. Unacceptable! Finally, after considerable arguing, he let us on but was angry about it. Said the police could give him a big fine. Who is he trying to kid? The police do nothing - we can certainly argue this because of our earlier encounter with their "do-nothing - ness" when we were robbed of our passports. At any rate, we did get back to the hotel but when we wanted to go back downtown, the same thing happened to some other people who couldn't get on. Yet, the hotel does not run the extra shuttle that is sitting in the driveway. If this is a 5 star hotel, the staff should run the extra shuttle or make two trips to accommodate the guests. Plus, when we did take a taxi to the square, the hotel had said it would cost between 3 an 6 euros - wrong! It cost us 9 euros. Another bit of misinformation. It is because of the location and shuttle service that we cannot recommend this hotel. If they work out the shuttle service, we would recommend it.

The view of the Acropolis from the restaurant and bar on the 9th floor is beautiful but men have to wear long pants in there - a pain in HOT Athens. Ice is only available from room service, another pain - but it did arrive quickly both times we ordered it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for your comments regarding your stay. With regard to your request for a room upgrade, unfortunately, our Acropolis view rooms are limited in number and sold at a premium rate as they are in high demand throughout the year, therefore we were unable to upgrade to this room category.
Your comments about the pull out line in the wardrobe and lampshade have already been noted and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by this oversight on our part.
As for our complimentary shuttle bus, this is a courtesy service available to our guests and according to our hotel’s policy and local law, standing passengers are not permitted for safety reasons. However our drivers often return to the pick up point, if more guests are waiting to return to the hotel.
May I take the opportunity to inform you that apart from the hotel’s shuttle bus, one may use other transportation means such as the metro, public bus, tram and taxi, which all drop off at a very close proximity to the hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the breathtaking view from our Premiere terrace
and would like to add that our award winning Premiere restaurant is listed as one of Athens best restaurants and a dress code is required. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at the InterContinental at the beginning of our trip before heading to the Islands. It is definately a business centre for people in Athens for work, however, we enjoyed ourselves. We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the rooftop patio with a beautiful view of the Acropolis. We had dinner there one night and the food and service was exceptional. While there aren't many amazing places to eat right in that area, it is not too far to walk to Ermou st. or syntagma square (or you can easily take the tram or the shuttle that the hotel offers).

Our room was on the lower level floors where the rooms have not yet been renovated. The room had 70s decor but was comfortable and clean. If you need something stylish you can upgrade to a deluxe room for a bit more, or club class (with lounge access) for about 60 euros per night (?) That includes breakfast as well.
This hotel exceeded our expectations, based on what we read on Trip Advisor. I would highly recommend the rooftop restaurant Premiere for a meal. Though expensive it is worth it. Afterwards, enjoy a drink (or three) in the comfortable outdoor furniture.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliAli82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for your kind comments concerning our
award-winning Premiere restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at the Intercontinetal on our last night in Greece before returing to the U.S. The hotel is a sea of tranquillity. We used Priority Club points and as a Platinum member, at check-in we were given the option to upgrade to the Club level for 40 euros. After a long ferry ride back from the islands and then another 2-hour drive, this was well worth in. We had a light dinner in the Lounge and then a very nice full breakfast the next morning, all for the price of the upgrade (and also got one hour of internet access). We had a king room, and then they brought a very comfortable rollaway bed for our 12-year-old. The room was spotless and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McLean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

LOVED our stay at the Intercontinental Athens. By far the comfiest beds i've slept in......and perhaps the most memorable part of my stay there! Amazing rooftop bar with great views of Athens and the Acropolis. Pricey but worth it. Only thing missing was internet in our rooms (was pricey so we didn't get it)....but otherwise great. Concierge helpful as expected, pleasant staff, great service, shuttle service to town centre every half-hour was fantastic. Cannot comment on area as we spent time either in our rooms or the bar/cafes, or out in the centre of town. Short cab ride to Piraeus for the ferry (I think it was about 8 or 10 euros)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nnneeesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed at the Athenaeum for 2 nights before traveling onto the Greek Island Ikaria (see my review of the Erofili Hotel. Ikaria). As the headline says, “my expectations were exceeded”.
We managed to a great deal on two rooms on the Club floor. A triple room for me and my two sons and a double room for my wife and daughter, both with stunning view to the Acropolis. The rooms were a good size, I was sharing a room with two teenage sons aged 15 & 17 and all their electronic paraphernalia wasn't a problem! The rooms were bright, clean and well maintained, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were well equipped with organic locally made luxury toiletries.

Check-in was very easy , the Club floor had its own check-in on the 8th floor and the receptionist made us feel very welcome. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The facilities were very good including a very pleasant, supervised pool. The Club floor had its own lounge and balcony overlooking the Acropolis. The lounge offered complementary breakfast, light snacks throughout the day and a free bar during the early evening. Having a Club room also entitled us to free access to the Spa - we were able to use the Steam room, Sauna, Jacuzzi and Hot beds.

Access to the City Centre is very simple, the hotel offers a frequent free Minibus service until around 10.30pm and the tram stop is a 2 minute walk from the Hotel and runs until the early hours. The Tram was built for the 2008 Olympics so is very new and clean, the ride to Syntagma Sq takes about 10 mins and costs 1 Euro. The neighbourhood is a mix of Business and residential, we felt very safe walking around the neighbourhood late at night.

The Atheneum is a very comfortable and stylish hotel with a calm atmosphere we felt pampered and well looked after

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed our Club InterContinental facility and the spaciousness of our rooms. We are also pleased that you have found the complimentary shuttle bus service helpful and the I-Spa facilities to your satisfaction. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We are challenged to say exactly why we were dissatisfied. It is dated, the pool is marginal, walls are tissue thin and service was just OK. Beds were comfortable and showers great but something is just off with this place. Only obvious point is if you ask for an iron you are directed to an ironning room that has one iron and board for the whole hotel???? Price and location are close to Marriott and the latter left us with a vastly superior experience. Sorry we can't be more specific and we won't stay there again the validate our feelings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#19 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 3,039 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#50 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing