We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #27 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very easy 15 minute trip to the centre by tram (right outside hotel) or metro (short walk to station "syngrou fix"). Also plenty of taxis which are very cheap.

Also very near to a stop on the open top bus tour route too, for those doing tourist visits.

Hotel has an amazing spa - had two separate treatment sessions as there's lots of special offers. Sauna, spa etc all fantastic. Make time for a session!

Rooms were large, service all good.

Only negative was cocktail bar on 10th floor. We planned to be there for the night but we ordered just one cocktail each, and the staff seemed quite lost. Took a long time, and we could hear them discussing how to make them. Unfortunately not served with properly crushed ice either. At 16 euros a drink, we expected more.....

(Alexander's bar in hotel grande Bretagne knows how it should be done properly - excellent cocktail bar).

Would recommend intercontinental for accommodation though.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank The_New_Mrs_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Billie 1981,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst visiting our city this month and for taking the time to write a review. It pleases us to learn that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, the service from our staff as well as your treatments at our award-winning I-Spa by Asian Spa City Retreat. However, we are sorry for the disappointment caused to you at our Premiere bar and will ensure that your feedback is shared with our team, in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

A beautiful property, huge rooms with extremely comfy beds, great pool and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. The courtesy bus to the City centre is good. We spent nearly a week at this hotel for a conference my husband was attending and it couldn't have been nicer!fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Chris S,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens during your business trip last May. We do appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel and thank you for your kind comments. It pleases us greatly to learn that our accommodation, service and facilities met with your expectations. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Key points:-

- location, okay but always lots of taxis so not an issue when you need to get anywhere but not very family friendly around the hotel (red lightish)
- staff, wonderful, can't do enough to help
- rooms, good size with comfy beds, reasonable shower
- food, room service very efficient and quality reasonable. Breakfast is very good but expensive unless you get included in your room rate

Not so good: -

- Internet, chargeable and intermittent quality
- Toilet paper, odd I know to mention but probably the cheapest anybody could buy. At €150 a night, you expect better!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank LuckyTim6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear LuckyTim6691,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review.
Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We have noted that our accommodation, food and service met with your expectations. With regard to the cost for internet connection, may we take this opportunity to inform you that our prices are, in fact, lower than those of our competitors in Athens. Moreover, by joining our loyalty program IHG Rewards Club, you may automatically enjoy complimentary internet access on our basic package.
We thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went there with my new wife on honeymoon. Service at the hotel was lovely. We stayed in a club room which was a good idea. The club room gives you access to the club lounge which means free breakfast before 9 am, free canapés around lunchtime and free appetizers with unlimited drinks around dinner. There is a bar and a restaurant on the roof, we had drinks there once and paid €22 for one whiskey and one coke. we didn't drink there again. we used the hotel shuttle to get to Syntagma but a taxi back was easier. Getting on the shuttle at Syntagma is not an easy trick and the taxi cost around €4. Taxis are a relatively effective. If we missed the shuttle we'd just get in the taxi, there is usually a row of them outside the hotel. There was a period where some bigwig was staying at the hotel and the taxis were moved around the corner as a security measure. I think the "security measure" was the idea of the police rather than the hotel. Greek police are generally rather ham handed in my opinion and while they were guarding the bigwig, they were generally very artless when talking to the patrons of the hotel. I'm not sure why the hotel tolerated it. during this period there was also a metal detector to protect Mr. bigwig which meant the rest of us were treated like criminals on the way into our hotel. we get the same treatment in airports and we treat it as a necessary evil because we don't have a choice. in hotels we do and a lot of people exercised their choice. had the hotel been poorer mr bigwig would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yinka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Yinka Y,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens during your honeymoon and for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the service from our staff and that our Club InterContinental facilities contributed to making your stay a pleasurable one.
In regards to the security measures in place during your stay, we would like to take this opportunity to explain that our hotel was chosen to accommodate the European Defence Ministers during their meeting in Athens under the auspices of Greece’s European Presidency. We do regret the inconvenience the security measures caused you, however we were obligated to follow the strict security measures in place by the Greek authorities, in order to ensure the safety of all our residents.
Furthermore, we would like to assure you that while these events are indeed rare, we have designated staff members who liaise with the police in order to achieve the least possible inconvenience to our guests.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

No issues, staff is helpful and friendly.

If you are looking for a 5 stars hotel this is a good option

No surprises neither negative or positive

Staid for 3 days this winter on my company yearly kickoff meeting.

Conference room is also really good for large audiences.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Fernando L,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met, both in terms of service and facilities . We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very good hotel,enormous room,helpfully staff,breakfast excellent, ideal for business meeting, gym and spa.You can the hotel bus for your transfers at the center of Athens.Syntagma.The location is ideal and you can stay for a city break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Minoa,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to learn that we have met our guests’ expectations. We thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed with a friend for New Years Eve and we had a suite with access to the Club House. A good hotel but decor is very dated and needs a refresh. Staff were very friendly and were keen to provide an excellent service. The hotel has all the facilities you need, however, the pictures in our suite and in the hotel generally are very odd! The New Years Eve buffet was excellent in terms of food and choice, however, they made little effort to celebrate midnight New Year. We were expecting a big fanfare, music and fireworks but it was very low key.

Room Tip: Avert your eyes to the dated decor and dreadful choice of pictures especially in the Club House and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iantux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear lantux,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens to celebrate New Year’s Eve. We greatly appreciate your review and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. With regard to the artwork throughout the hotel, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our public areas and Club InterContinental suites are decorated with original artwork from contemporary Greek artists. We have also noted your comment about the New Year’s Eve celebration at Cafezoe and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. Once again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,844 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $151 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing