We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Athenaeum
Nearby Hotels
$573
$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$176
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$303
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
$257
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Melia Athens(Athens)
$199
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,410)
Filter reviews
2,410 results
Traveler rating
1,089
925
277
81
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
925
277
81
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungefree shuttlecafe zoeshuttle servicesyntagma squaretram stopguest relationsbig hotelan upgradeper dayrooms are bignice poolthe hotel offersacropolis viewvery nice hotelmini bartop floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,222 - 1,227 of 2,410 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013

As a frequent IHG hotels guest, i expected better service from a 5 stars hotels in the center of the city. The staff is very unhelpful, the rooms are just basic, internet is expensive, gym is outdated.

There is nothing to do around the hotel except strip joints, and you require a taxi for any short trip.

I checked in at 1 am, with 3 suitcases. No one offered to help. I ordered room service, and it took 55 minutes to reach.

I would strongly recommend to IHG an full audit of this property, they might want to downgrade it to a crown plaza or holiday inn.

Really disappointed with this 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Book a hotel in the center of Athens
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Toomuchtravel2013,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst visiting Athens earliest this month.
We were most concerned to learn about the inconvenience you experienced upon check-in as well as from our Room Service Department. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you and rest assured that your comments will be discussed with the staff members concerned in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future.
As far as the WiFi connection is concerned, I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that in our hotel exceptionally the internet is offered without a charge to all the levels of our IHG Rewards Loyalty program which is free to join.
Moreover, we would like to inform you that our hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square daily, though one also has the option of using a public transport which is easily accessible from the hotel.
We thank you for your valuable feedback and trust that the lapse in service you experienced on your last visit will not deter you from returning to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Spacious & clean rooms with clean & odour free bathrooms makes the stay comfortable & relaxed.Food is good & service is prompt. The only drawback is the location of the hotel & the issue with local conveyance to the other parts of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samrat_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Samrat_Bhattacharya,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visit to Athens and for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the high level of service provided in our restaurants.
In regards to the access to the various parts of the city, we would like to take the opportunity to mention that apart form our daily complimentary shuttle bus service to the main square of Athens, one can access easily the city centre by using the various means of public transport which are located non more than a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We would like to express once more our delight for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

very big hotel and expencive for what it offers. you pay only for the brand name. Parking and food exertremly overpriced.
I have to tell that we had very good sleep and the room, also the bathroom was perfect.
very nice christmas decoration

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efimav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear efimav,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. May we take this opportunity to advise you that our menu prices and cost for parking are in line with the prices of our competitors in Athens. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. I find customer service in this hotel has gone down hill. I didn't get a smile or eye contact upon arrival. When I asked for a room with a double bed I was greeted with hotel full, we can bring up a double matress and strip out the two single matress and put the two beds together !! On top of that I was given a room (755) overlooking the busy dual carriageway. Even though I had double double glazing the noise in the room was unbelieveable. Traffic noise eventially abaited at 0230am.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear johnaholmes,

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to write a review. As a regular guest, we greatly value your comments and are sorry to learn about your experience upon check-in. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you and for the inconvenience you experienced in your room with regard to the traffic noise. We thank you again for your constructive comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I must say that i've been staying here mainly for buiness, for me the only thing that really was itching me and my colleagues was the internet from the lobby and from room. I am from Romania and we know that we have the best internet in Europe, but you expect at least normal conditions. I don't know how they expect us to pay 14 euros for 8 hours of wifi at 5 Mbps, or 30 euros per day. Guys, in Romania we have FREE at 100Mbps. Please change it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeS932013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear GeorgeS932013,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your feedback. We have noted your comments about the cost of internet connection and would like to assure you that our prices are, in fact, lower than those charged by our competitors in Athens. However, may we also take this opportunity to suggest that you join our IHG Rewards Club loyalty program, as one of its benefits is complimentary internet access for all members from 1 January 2014 worldwide. At our hotel, we have exceptionally offered complimentary internet access to all members from 1 July, 2013. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews