We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a not so great area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a not so great area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
The pros...The hotel has a nice outdoor pool , great spa(no hair salon),fabulous views of the acropolis,a nice breakfast.The beds are comfortable. The rooms are very clean and have new modern bathrooms.They do have a selection of pillows to choose from. We were upgraded to a balcony room and it was amazing. Our balcony was huge with a table and a sofa and love seat. We sat outside and viewed the Acropolis and relaxed after our day of sightseeing. In our opinion this is the only choice. It was a huge spacious two room suite with the large balcony.
The cons...you can not walk around outside the hotel. You must drive or taxi everywhere. It's only about ten minutes ride from the center of all but the neighborhood it is located in is run down.it is easy to get a cab right out the lobby. The taxi service we received was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jenn F,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens with your family this month. We are pleased to learn that you found our accommodation to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities. May we take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel offers a daily complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square, though one also has the option of using a taxi, or public transport which is easily accessible from the hotel. We thank you for taking the time to write a review and to share your comments. We trust that when you next visit Athens, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    798
    242
    66
    27
See reviews for
402
641
125
612
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived from the USA early afternoon took a nap then went exploring. The hotel has a free bus that will pick up and drop off at downtown location. Problem came when we were up the first two nights (because of jet lag) and everything in the hotel was closed. We walked a four blocks at 3am (no cab for 4 blocks but they gave us directions) and found an all night restaurant called Ciao with good food and lots f people. It was pleasant but at 3am in a foreign country I would rather stay in the hotel and order room service. We stayed on the club floor which includes the lounge and concierge which I highly recommend. You can see the Acropolis from the balcony in the lounge while you eat breakfast. The breakfast was meat egg pastries and fruit with coffee and juices and before dinner snacks with wine and beer later. The shops in the hotel were expensive with not much selection so I did most of my shopping downtown.

Room Tip: Get a club room you eat breakfast and dinner in the lounge and only pay for lunch on most days. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pflovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear pflovett,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in particular, the facilities offered in our Club InterContinental lounge. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food is fantastic, one of the best views and sky bars we have ever visited!!! . Service was excellent. I would definitely recommend and will be coming back again soon! The club rooms are definitely the ones to go for, and for those that travel a lot I would recommend the rewards scheme.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Phillip G,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that your overall experience from your stay at our hotel was an enjoyable one starting from the comfort of our Club InterContinental rooms to the excellent service received from our staff and the food quality. Once again, thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the best intercontinental hotels I have stayed in. The service from the first day was excellent. The staff are there but do not overpower you. The location is not the best but the shuttle helps this. The in room dining was a little cold when I received it but was of good quality. You pay for the service and quality here but it is good, very good. If it was a little less expensive that I would give it top marks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishguy353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Irishguy353,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We are delighted to learn that the facilities at our hotel and the high level of service you received from our staff met with your expectations. We have also noted your comment about the fact that your in room dining order was not delivered as hot as you would have preferred, and for this we would like to express our sincere apologies. We thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

After lots of research we decided to stay in the Intercontinental.

As a Priority Platinum we figured that this will be a worth while hotel that we can get great service and value.

We were supposed to get an Acropolis view (but you can see the type of view in the pic) and the room was not first rate/shape.

There was no complimentary water...(is this intercontinental or what?).

During our check in we found that we will not have access to the lounge...I am still wondering who is the genius in Priority Club membership to design the benefits....As a result of this stay and the Holiday Inn Athens, we have decided to abandon the chain...(I'm also a HHonors Gold where the gold's benefits are light years ahead of Priority club's).

At one point the guest relations person actually sent me to "check the terms and conditions of Priority Club and the hotel"...are you kidding me? is this how you treat loyal customers (have been platinum for multiple years...)

Upon leaving the hotel, they didnt even ask how was our stay...typical service..

Best is that after leaving and corresponding with the guest relations- they apologized and offered that we come back to the hotel...to which I responded- you say: sorry for a lousy stay, lousy view, and lousy service and you want us to come back because you send such a letter?

Who is doing their customer service training?....

Shuttle to the city centre was fine and on time.

Considering that the hotel is not in a good location, one would expect they will compensate by delivering and exceptional value...

With so many options in much better locations- just look elsewhere.

Would not stay in this hotel again.

One good word- breakfast was fantastic. The selection and quality were first rate. One of the better breakfasts that we have seen (esp since they have lots of local treats).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ronandsam,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens. As a valued Platinum IHG Rewards Club member, we greatly value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would once again like to extend our most sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with regard to the service you received and assure you that the issues you have raised have been discussed with our team.
May we take this opportunity to clarify that the IHG Rewards Club program is a loyalty program where one may earn points or miles at all IHG properties. The benefits offered to our Platinum members are an upgrade to the best available room at check-in, guaranteed room with 72 hours advance reservation, complimentary internet access, 50% bonus points on qualifying stays, complimentary weekday newspaper and 2:00pm late check-out subject to availability. Our hotel offers all our valued IHG Rewards Club Platinum members all of these benefits as well as a complimentary local gift on arrival. Access to the Club InterContinental lounge and a complimentary bottle of mineral water are not benefits of the program.
However, IHG’s Ambassador program, is a loyalty program that offers benefits to members who stay at InterContinental Hotels and Resorts. Benefits of this program include fresh fruit and mineral water in your room on arrival, a bottle of mineral water on a daily basis, a guaranteed upgrade to the next room category, guaranteed late check-out at 4:00pm plus much more. We trust this clarifies any misunderstanding with regard to IHG’s loyalty programs.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harndrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very nice rooms. Visit the restaurant on top, it has a fantastic view and great food.
I enjoyed the stay, even though they forgot the compliementary Water on the second day, and didn´t deliver even though I asked them to.
A Little far from the centre, so expect to have to use a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARYHarndrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear ARYSlagelse,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental and for taking the time to write a review. As a valued Ambassador member, your feedback is greatly valued and we would like to express our sincere apologies for not delivering your complimentary bottle of mineral water on the second day of your stay. We are pleased, however, to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our award winning Premiere restaurant. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are visiting Athens and want to make sure you're away from the centre, where there has been a lot of demonstrations in recent times, this is the ideal place. It is around a 7 minute taxi ride from the Acropolis and many other attractions. If you book club rooms , you can sit on the balcony with magnificent views. If you're staying in Athens, its well worth going to.

Room Tip: Try for a club room. Evening drinks and breakfast are included in the price and you get to relax on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to learn that we have met our guests’ expectations. In particular, we have noted that you enjoyed the facilities of our Club InterContinental lounge and its magnificent view of the Acropolis. Once again, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#50 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing