We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Club lounge makes all the difference.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Athenaeum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #22 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Club lounge makes all the difference.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have just returned from a luxurious weekend in this hotel. We had paid for a room giving access to the club lounge and we were directed to this lounge for check-in. We had a room on the 9th floor with a view across to the Acropolis. The double bed was huge as it was 2 single beds put together presumably with a mattress topper as there was no gap between them and was very comfortable. We tried to watch a film in our room on the Friday evening but unfortunately it wasn't working. Breakfast in the club lounge had a very good selection of hot and cold dishes. Tea, coffee, and soft drinks were available all day, with cakes and cookies in the afternoon. From 6.00 - 9.00p.m. there was wine, a couple of hot appetisers, various tiny bites and biscuits and cheese.- not as extensive as in some other Intercontinental club lounges but quite adequate. Our eyes were always drawn across to the floodlit Acropolis. All the staff in the club lounge were extremely helpful, friendly and professional.
Cafe Vienna in the lobby has a lovely atmosphere with a pianist playing in the evening. I enjoyed a massage in the spa and you could use the sauna and steam room before any treatments but it would have been nice to just have some comfortable chairs to relax on after a full day sightseeing.
The hotel is away from the main tourist area in quite a run-down area but we made good use of the free shuttle, being dropped off the first morning nearer to the Acropolis and being picked up each day from Syntagma Square. It is worth getting to the Acropolis early in the morning as even in the winter it was getting very crowded as we were making our way down. The 12 euro ticket gives access to all the main historical sites so is excellent value. The Plaka area is good for cafes and souvenir shops.
Overall, a good base for a luxury weekend.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for access to the club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita1439404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental when visiting Athens earlier this month for a luxury weekend break. Having read the detailed account of your stay, we are pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was an enjoyable one and that you particularly appreciated the breathtaking view of the Acropolis from your room and our Club InterContinental lounge. We are, however, sorry that you were unable to watch a movie from your room due to technical reasons and would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. Once again, we thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    706
    210
    58
    20
See reviews for
342
571
113
525
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good location, poor service, and not good value. But the rooms are in need of a facelift.. Walls of room are dull and dreary and carpet is worn. We know Athens is going through tough times but the image does befit the brand.. Enjoy the food available outside rather than stay in. ..................................................................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying with us whilst travelling to Athens on business last December. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we regret that on this occasion we were unable to fulfill this commitment. We have noted your comment about the level of service you received and would like to express our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused to you. Lapses in our usually high standards of service are indeed rare and we appreciate any feedback that will assist us in further improving upon our standards. May we also take this opportunity to inform you that the most recently renovated rooms at our hotel are our Deluxe rooms, as you may wish to reserve such a room on your next visit to our hotel. We thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We reserved two rooms for our family. Both were spacious and clean. A little outdated, but nothing that bothered us. We were disappointed they charged for WIFI (very pricey) and decided not to buy it. Any cafe in Athens has free WIFI for the asking and that is how we checked email, facebook, etc. during our stay. Super delicious breakfast buffet - truly something for everyone! Staff was very nice, security guard at the door at all times. We had to take shuttle to Plaka area, but we were happy to stay a little farther from the hustle/bustle. We usually did not wait for the shuttle to return and it was about 5 euros to take a taxi back, which was worth it at the end of the day for us. It was close to highway, but noise was not a problem. We were there in December, so we did not try pool. Restaurants inside hotel were quite expensive, so we did not dine there since there are so many wonderful choices in the city.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat if we return to Athens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco8644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental while visiting Athens in December. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standard for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed and I am pleased to learn that the quality of service you received from our staff met with your expectations. Regarding the cost of the food and Internet we would like to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. Moreover, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that most of the rooms at our hotel have been recently renovated and we plan to renovate the remaining rooms in the very near future. We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mashhad
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I had marvelous days there .the hotel is big and had every services that i wanted that time.clean rooms and big , and nice view and nice pool outdoor and inside.breakfast and room servise were excelent.calm area and good resturants near hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yashamashhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens.
We are delighted to know that the level of service and the facilities of the hotel contributed towards a memorable stay.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have usually stayed in the Hilton when visiting Athens. Compared to the Hilton, this hotel is a little bit 'tired' in places, and some of the rooms do require renovation (my shower head flew off, for example). However, the rooms are very nice and large, with a seating area, and they are very clean and comfortable. I used the gym, which was excellent, and was included in the price (at the Hilton the gym is not so good and costs 15 euros). I prefer it to the Hilton as the food was much better, the staff were more pleasant, and it generally had a nicer ambience. I ate in two of the hotel restaurants, the bistro and the Premiere. The Premiere food was very nice 'nouvelle' type cuisine, and the service was excellent. The views from the restaurant are stunning. I actually preferred the bistro food as it was less 'fussy', but this is just personal taste really. Overall, I would return to this hotel as I found my stay very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens this month and for taking the time to share your comments. We are most sorry to learn of the problem in your bathroom and would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. We trust that the issue was resolved promptly and to your satisfaction. With regard to your comments about your room, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that while not all of our rooms have been recently refurbished, our Deluxe rooms are the most recently renovated rooms in the hotel. You may wish to consider reserving a Deluxe room for your next visit or choose a Club InterContinental room that will give you access to our Club InterContinental lounge with its spectacular views of the Acropolis. We are delighted to learn that our facilities, staff service and the quality of the food in our restaurants met with your satisfaction and will ensure your feedback is shared amongst our team. Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service is excellent, food is of high quality but unfortunately rooms need renovation....

Only in the executive floor you can get a better room.

Staff is really polite and helpful, especially in the restaurants and ready to listen anything you want!

Room Tip: You need to choose the Executive rooms to get a new one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Athens G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having stayed at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business earlier this month. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service from our staff and the high quality of food served in our restaurants. We have also noted your comment regarding our rooms and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that along with our Club InterContinental rooms, we have fully renovated all the Deluxe rooms in the hotel and would be more than happy to show you such a room when you next have the occasion to stay with us. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

if you're looking for clean, very good service...then this is it.
It's your typical upscale business hotel.
No soul to it...but like a porsche...a great running machine.
Good place to host a client conference.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NBL629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last April and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to learn that our high standards of service met with your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#23 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 2,818 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing