We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,576)
Filter reviews
2,576 results
Traveler rating
1,170
987
290
88
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,170
987
290
88
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge free shuttle cafe zoe shuttle service syntagma square tram stop guest relations big hotel an upgrade rooms are big per day nice pool sitting area acropolis view the hotel offers mini bar very nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,526 - 1,531 of 2,576 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good location, poor service, and not good value. But the rooms are in need of a facelift.. Walls of room are dull and dreary and carpet is worn. We know Athens is going through tough times but the image does befit the brand.. Enjoy the food available outside rather than stay in. ..................................................................

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalikajaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying with us whilst travelling to Athens on business last December. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we regret that on this occasion we were unable to fulfill this commitment. We have noted your comment about the level of service you received and would like to express our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused to you. Lapses in our usually high standards of service are indeed rare and we appreciate any feedback that will assist us in further improving upon our standards. May we also take this opportunity to inform you that the most recently renovated rooms at our hotel are our Deluxe rooms, as you may wish to reserve such a room on your next visit to our hotel. We thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We reserved two rooms for our family. Both were spacious and clean. A little outdated, but nothing that bothered us. We were disappointed they charged for WIFI (very pricey) and decided not to buy it. Any cafe in Athens has free WIFI for the asking and that is how we checked email, facebook, etc. during our stay. Super delicious breakfast buffet - truly something for everyone! Staff was very nice, security guard at the door at all times. We had to take shuttle to Plaka area, but we were happy to stay a little farther from the hustle/bustle. We usually did not wait for the shuttle to return and it was about 5 euros to take a taxi back, which was worth it at the end of the day for us. It was close to highway, but noise was not a problem. We were there in December, so we did not try pool. Restaurants inside hotel were quite expensive, so we did not dine there since there are so many wonderful choices in the city.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat if we return to Athens.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco8644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental while visiting Athens in December. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standard for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed and I am pleased to learn that the quality of service you received from our staff met with your expectations. Regarding the cost of the food and Internet we would like to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. Moreover, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that most of the rooms at our hotel have been recently renovated and we plan to renovate the remaining rooms in the very near future. We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I had marvelous days there .the hotel is big and had every services that i wanted that time.clean rooms and big , and nice view and nice pool outdoor and inside.breakfast and room servise were excelent.calm area and good resturants near hotel.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashamashhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens.
We are delighted to know that the level of service and the facilities of the hotel contributed towards a memorable stay.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have usually stayed in the Hilton when visiting Athens. Compared to the Hilton, this hotel is a little bit 'tired' in places, and some of the rooms do require renovation (my shower head flew off, for example). However, the rooms are very nice and large, with a seating area, and they are very clean and comfortable. I used the gym, which was excellent, and was included in the price (at the Hilton the gym is not so good and costs 15 euros). I prefer it to the Hilton as the food was much better, the staff were more pleasant, and it generally had a nicer ambience. I ate in two of the hotel restaurants, the bistro and the Premiere. The Premiere food was very nice 'nouvelle' type cuisine, and the service was excellent. The views from the restaurant are stunning. I actually preferred the bistro food as it was less 'fussy', but this is just personal taste really. Overall, I would return to this hotel as I found my stay very relaxing.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens this month and for taking the time to share your comments. We are most sorry to learn of the problem in your bathroom and would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. We trust that the issue was resolved promptly and to your satisfaction. With regard to your comments about your room, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that while not all of our rooms have been recently refurbished, our Deluxe rooms are the most recently renovated rooms in the hotel. You may wish to consider reserving a Deluxe room for your next visit or choose a Club InterContinental room that will give you access to our Club InterContinental lounge with its spectacular views of the Acropolis. We are delighted to learn that our facilities, staff service and the quality of the food in our restaurants met with your satisfaction and will ensure your feedback is shared amongst our team. Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service is excellent, food is of high quality but unfortunately rooms need renovation....

Only in the executive floor you can get a better room.

Staff is really polite and helpful, especially in the restaurants and ready to listen anything you want!

Room tip: You need to choose the Executive rooms to get a new one
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athens G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having stayed at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business earlier this month. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service from our staff and the high quality of food served in our restaurants. We have also noted your comment regarding our rooms and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that along with our Club InterContinental rooms, we have fully renovated all the Deluxe rooms in the hotel and would be more than happy to show you such a room when you next have the occasion to stay with us. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens on your next visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews