We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plaka Hotel(Athens)
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
$121
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
$86
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Athens(Athens)
$170
$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New Hotel(Athens)
$253
$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$412
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,465)
Filter reviews
2,465 results
Traveler rating
1,111
947
283
84
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
947
283
84
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungefree shuttlecafe zoeshuttle servicesyntagma squaretram stopguest relationsbig hotelan upgraderooms are bigper daysitting areanice poolacropolis viewmini barthe hotel offersvery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,444 - 1,449 of 2,465 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hotel is one of my favourite hotels I have ever stayed in! The hotel itself is magnificent! You can really feel the Athenian touch.

The rooms are spacious and renovated. The beds are extremely comfortable and large! The front desk are knowable and the concierge is friendly and helpful.

Guest relations (Martha), fantastic woman! Professional, helpful, and friendly. Always smiling. Overall this hotel I would consider to be almost perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceantoOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last month and for taking the time to share your kind comments. We are delighted to learn that our hotel is one of your ‘favourite hotels’ and that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Once again, we thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to our cruise departure. The front desk and GM were effusive in their greetings and we felt very welcome. Our room was clean and nicely sized. The bathroom could be updated soon, but, the amenities (korres) were lovely. I also appreciated that the scale appeared to have made me lose weight. Always a bonus BEFORE a cruise. The bed was very comfy. We enjoyed the pool too.
There aren't a whole lot of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was a little expensive, but, varied and delicious. Internet was pretty darned expensive - not a fan of paying for it.
Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visits to Athens and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that the service provided by our staff meets with your expectations making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We have also taken notice of your kind comments regarding the comfort of our rooms and the facilities provided in them. Regarding your comment about the cost of internet access I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. We thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic service throughout the hotel, especially distinguished by Dinos at front desk, who answered questions, gave excellent directions and information upon check in. Delicious buffet breakfast and tasty cuisine at restaurants. Traveled there for business trip. Super efficient and very friendly staff. Great free shuttle bus service to Plaka area that runs on a regular basis. Would stay there again and highly recommend it. Gym very clean with all the essentials. Everything throughout the hotel was fresh and clean, and great views from rooftop restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Double hung windows make rooms very quiet, and double curtains can be adjusted to light or dark.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceans_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens for business earlier this month. We are delighted to learn that you had a ‘great experience’ with us and that our high level of service, cleanliness and facilities met with your expectations. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest and we greatly value your recommendation. We trust that your future travels will bring you back to our city and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we stayed on a Saturday nigh with the three kids and were very impressed by the entrance and modern interior. Our room was inter connecting and on the 7th floor and very clean and tidy and at the price suited us perfectly. we did walk to the acropolis which was 10-15 mins away. We also spent the afternoon by the pool which was also very tidy. would happily stay again.

Room Tip: We had an un renovated interconnecting room - the room was clean and tidy if not the most modern style. how ever this was reflected in a very reasonable price
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbuk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens with your family last September. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. With regard to our rooms, we are pleased to advise you that the majority of our rooms are renovated and we are in the process of planning the renovation of the remaining rooms in the near future. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I know the title might throw you off a bit, but the review title is supposed to highlight the key aspects of my hotel experience. Unfortunately, this title sums it up. Amazing hotel entrance, exquisite elevators, friendly staff, but pretty mediocre old-fashioned rooms. Considering the first steps you take in this hotel, it is only natural to expect something similar when you enter the room. Alas, the dark side of the moon. Ok, it is clean, i will give you this. The bathroom spacious, as well. But that is about it. Location-wise, something to avoid, since it is situated on one of the most busy highways of Athens, 24/7, although soundproof windows do the trick. Room prices competitive depending on the season or conventions held at the hotel. Overall, pick something else.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank adamakosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst travelling on business last February. It is with regret that we learn that your stay with us did not meet with your expectation and we would like to apologise for the disappointment caused to you with regard to your room. May we take this opportunity to inform you that most of the rooms at our hotel have been recently renovated and we plan to renovate the remaining rooms in the very near future. We thank you for your valuable comments and trust that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews