We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Term Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Half Term Break”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great Hotel, Dinos the team leader at the front desk was very helpful and his experience can be seen in all aspects. Rooms on the 8th floor were superb and the Club lounge staff on the same floor I will give 10 out of 10. Can not really add any more you will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesbaroudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens. It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that the service offered by our staff met with your expectations. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    853
    255
    72
    31
See reviews for
431
676
131
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here prior to departing on a cruise. The hotel staff were warm and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and very clean.
We did not eat in the Premiere restaurant, but dined in the Café Vienna.
The Café Vienna is much more than the average hotel coffee shop/café, the menu is really good, prices very reasonable and the food quality marvelous. Our waiter was a very distinguished looking Greek with steel grey hair; he was highly efficient and professional. When we asked him to recommend a medium dry bottle of white wine he did not try and push the most expensive one the list. A highly recommended place to eat.
As for Athens itself, we were there a little over three years ago and this time we noticed there were many more empty shops than then. But as far as the austerity measures go, they appear not to extend to paint aerosols, as there seems to be much more graffiti than previously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Typical-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. It is delightful to learn that you enjoyed the service from our staff and your meal at our Café Vienna. We would like to thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Normally, when a cruise line offers a free night at a hotel prior to its cruise, it is ok but not great. This hotel was REALLY nice. The rooms were very modern and large. If this room was in NYC, I would stay here every year. The area is a fairly high traffic area but the windows were thick and kept out the noise. The hotel is not really within walking distance of the Acropolis (although you can see it) but they have a shuttle that will take you closer into the main town. Our cruise package included the breakfast buffet and it was great, too!

Thank you Regent for putting us here.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month and for taking the time to share your kind comments. We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that the comfort of our rooms met with your expectations. In addition, we have noted that you appreciated our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square as well as the 'great' breakfast buffet served at our cafezoe restaurant. Once again, thank you for your feedback and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the InterContinental Athenaeum as part of a conference that was also being staged at the property. Like other InterContinental properties, the Athenaeum offers a luxurious stay and nice amenities. The view from many of the rooms, the club, and the top floor restaurant had amazing views of the Acropolis. Besides the view, the restaurant on the ninth floor served amazing food. Next to the restaurant, was an outdoor bar that served as a launching point for many great nights.

The business facilities, to include the conference spaces, were very good, cementing the Athenaeum as a business location. The one thing to know is that you are staying at the property for more than three days there is a discounted rate for the Internet. One gets access to the discounted rate by going to the business center.

The only downside of the hotel is the location. While there is a small convenience store across the street, the rest of the area seems with a lot of options for adult entertainment and not a lot of food options.

Overall, I hope to stay at the Athenaeum again sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychoAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens this month as a conference delegate. We are delighted to learn that your stay at our hotel was a memorable one and that you enjoyed your dinner at our award winning Premiere restaurant as well as the breathtaking views from the terrace. We would like to thank you for your kind comments plus recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights on business. My Royal Amb status was immediately recognised and I was duly upgraded to a suite with complimentary mini bar! The hotel lobby is very grand with places to sit and drink and discuss business. The facilities within the hotel are excellent, good sized gym, pool, business rooms for meetings etc etc. The suite in which I stayed was of course, fantastic! All the usual refinements of such a great hotel chain. The bed was super comfy and to be honest I did not want to go to work in the morning! Excellent choice of restaurants both in the hotel and locally. Breakfast had a great choice to suit all nationalities. Do not be put off in regard to the hotels location, I mean when the taxi approached through the narrow streets, I was expecting something far different. If you are able to secure a room with views of the acropolis then its indeed an added bonus. A taxi from the airport is about a 25 minute ride and will cost 45 euros. I cannot praise the staff and hotel enough.........absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Just ask for a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business this month. As a valued Royal Ambassador member who travels extensively and stays at InterContinental Hotels and Resorts worldwide, your comments and feedback are highly regarded and greatly appreciated. We have noted your satisfaction with your suite, the facilities throughout the hotel and our restaurants, in particular, with the extensive choice of breakfast options available at our CafeZoe. We would like to thank you for your kind comments and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel is a typical Intercotinental - huge somewhat bland but a sure choice if you get into anywhere new. Unfortunately I was alocated into the "unrenovated rooms" - the so called non smokíng floor had definetely seen a decade of more of busily chain smoking guests...the decor looked like out of a dynasty episode.The prices are hair rising 8 € for a beer, but on the other hand thunbs up for the impeccable super friendly service, the fantastic breakfast buffet and the concierge .

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room - if you are ( like me ) hysteric when it come to noise choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuperzigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your visit to Athens this month and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We have noted your comment about the condition of your room and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. While the majority of our rooms are non-smoking, on very rare occasions, a non-smoking room may smell of smoke if a previous guest did not adhere to the smoking prohibition. We have also noted your comment regarding the high level of service you received from our staff as well as your satisfaction with the breakfast buffer served at our cafezoe restaurant. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on our next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh. England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were here just one night after our cruise and were so glad we stayed here. We arrived mid morning after leaving our ship expecting to put our luggage into storage and waiting until the afternoon check in time but the delightful receptionist gave us our room there and then, wonderful. It was probably one of the slickest and best hotel check in experiences we have had. Our room was large, extremely clean and very well furnished, lovely bathroom, tea & coffee making, mini bar, it was all there, perfect. The hotel itself is a true 5 star experience and all the staff we came into contact with were helpful, polite and friendly. The shuttle bus is a great bonus. We crammed in a lot of sightseeing over the 2 days and having this hotel to stay in made it the perfect Athens experience. The Management of this hotel are to be congratulated on delivering a truly 1st class guest experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month and for taking the time to share your kind comments. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us was a comfortable one. We have noted that you found our service and facilities to your satisfaction and are pleased that we provided you with a ‘perfect Athens experience’. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,572 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#51 of 326 in Athens
1,285 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
359 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing