We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #27 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

very spacious room & great room facilities.
room service is excellent. buffet breakfast is a spread (50% discount for hotel guests)
very helpful staff. such great Greek hospitality.
location is a little bit out of the way but there is a shuttle service hourly to syntagma square.
such memorable stay !

Room Tip: rooms facing the akropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visits to Athens with your family and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We are delighted that you found the shuttle bus of the hotel useful and that the service provided by our staff met with your expectations. Once again allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

very comfortable hotel, American style spacious bedroom, classy decoration. Excellent room service. You can find anything you need. Although located on a central avenue the rooms were very quite. Nice lobby with expensive art (Kostas Tsoklis painting) and piano music in the night hours.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens last October. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was both comfortable and enjoyable. Your appreciation of the art work in our hotel has also been noted and we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel boasts a collection of 350 art pieces, the majority of which are from contemporary Greek artists. Moreover, they are on display in our lobby, suites and meeting rooms. We thank you for your kind comments and recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here a couple of times pre cruise. We find the hotel very good, modern with large rooms. we always stay on the club floor which has a nice roof top terrace. Continental breakfast and evening cocktails are included. The staff there were very friendly and helpful, this is not to be taken for granted in Athens !
Perhaps on the critical side, if you want peace and quiet it's quite near a busy road and even with the double glass you can hear some traffic. Still if you are looking for peace and quiet Athens is not for you.
The hotel runs a regular shuttle bus to main square which is only about 10 minutes away.
Prices for extras are rather expensive, 2 gin and tonics in the bar for EUR 35 !, no wonder the bar was empty. A beer in a plastic glass by the pool is EUR 9. Better to pay the Club floor and have drinks included .
From all the hotels we have tried in Athens it certainly is okay, not super luxury, but then the prices aren't in that class either.
If you want to eat simple greek food like the locals there is a small family restaurant just 2 blocks to the right of the hotel entrance called Taverna Valsalis. We ate there 2 courses with a half a litre of wine for EUR28 !. it was recommended by the cruise representative , an english lady who has lived in Athens for over 30 years.

Room Tip: High floor not near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental when visiting Athens. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and kind comments.
We have noted that you particularly enjoy our Club InterContinental facilities and the service offered by our staff. Moreover, we have noted your comments about the cost of drinks and would like to advise you that our prices are in line with our competitors in Athens.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having taken a group of just over 600 delegates and speakers from all over the world to this hotel, all I can say is what a wonderful experience this was!
In the pre-conference discussions the hotel management had a 'can do' attitude. The staff during the conference were happy, helpful and had a wide range of language skills, invaluable in these kinds of occassions.
The meeting rooms were excellent whilst the delegate bedrooms were also of a high quality.
Athens itself provided a wide range of social activities and even the weather was kind!
It is understandable if people may view Athens with one eye upon its economic difficulties and consequentally, the overhyped media covereage of social unrest, but the people of Athens welcomed us with open arms and happy hearts.
If you are looking to deliver a successful conference at reasonable rates, please consider Athens and the InterContinental Athenaeum as your first choice!

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with an Acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsRLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental to host your conference in Athens this month and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience during the conference and have noted your satisfaction with our rooms, meeting rooms and our staff. We greatly appreciate your having taken the time to share your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in a quad bedroom for 5 nights in September. The rooms are large by European standards. The beds were extremely comfortable with lots of fluffy linens and pillows. We were on the 4th floor and heard nothing outside. Everyone slept well. Decor is a bit dated but it was very clean and nothing looked worn out. Bathrooms were large and clean and the water pressure was fantastic.

The location is less than ideal, but this isn't an issue as the hotel offers a shuttle every 1/2 hour to and from syntagma square. If you aren't with children, its also within walking distance to the acropolis.

Hotel staff were pleasant and courteous.

The only negatives about this hotel is that they charge exorbitantly for any extras. Spa, restaurant, television, and internet prices are shockingly expensive. For example, it was 18 euros for a children's movie on the television, and the price per day for standard cable is about the same. We skipped out on the 100E breakfast and brought in our own croissants and buns.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gummydani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental with your family during your recent visit to Athens.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the service from our staff, the comfort of our rooms and our facilities.

Furthermore, we have noted your comments about the cost of breakfast, internet connection, the Spa and the pay movies at our hotel and appreciate your feedback. May we take this opportunity to inform you that these services are similarly priced to our competitors in Athens. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

what can I say?
the room was clean and spacious.
The bathroom super.
the breakfast was delicious
the lobby is like an callery.
the bed was excellent.
the internet was expencive.
the staff was helpfull and polite
the position is just o.k

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xristina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental during your recent visit in Athens. As guest satisfaction is our primary concern we are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and that the facilities of the hotel as well as the level of service were to your satisfaction. We have noted your comments about our price for internet access and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

ive stayed there 3 nights during August (17 - 18 & 23 - 25 August.2012, they have a very poor rooms .
First they know that am there for honey mooner but they didnt care and they gave me room on 4th floor which is worst than the 1 stars hotels , TV is not working , bath room is dirty , room is full used and look like its very old room and its really very old . i dont recommend to stay there despite that all my trip is to intercont. but not any more because of this hotel .

They have a very beautifull Restaurant in the 9th floor i guess , romantic and i had a pleasent stay with my wife there

The swimimg pool is so small and ugle design

Breakfast is good.

i dont recommend to stay there but i recommend to try the restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens for the special occasion of your honeymoon and for taking the time to share your feedback. May we begin by expressing our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused to you and for the inconvenience you experienced. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it seems that on this occasion we fell short of fulfilling this commitment. May we assure you that your comments about the cleanliness of your bathroom and the television malfunction will be addressed with those concerned in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. We have also noted that you particularly enjoyed our award winning Premiere restaurant located on our rooftop as well as the breakfast served at our cafezoe restaurant. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We trust that this isolated lapse in service on our part will not deter you from returning to the Athenaeum InterContinental on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,844 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $151 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing