We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #93 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stanley is an excellent hotel to stay,with very easy access to Metro and buses.Good reception,clean rooms,daily change of linens,good WIFI,Vast breakfast.Metro station Metaroxiogeo is just near door,and 2stops from Syntagma square.Only negative is no coffee maker in room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsivakumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We hope we have the chance to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    630
    398
    156
    65
See reviews for
315
505
101
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Stanley Hotel must have been a top notch venue in the 80s, but unfortunately time froze. The decoration is dated, the rooms are small and the en-suite bathroom is not bigger than a phone booth. The fuse box in the room buzzes quite loudly and is quite annoying. The reception is over-staffed, but check-in and check-out procedures are amazingly slow. There was a sign at the bar on the lobby mentioning it was closed and that service was available on the top floor terrace, but once on the terrace I was greeted by dozens of pigeons, an empty pool and what seemed to be a shuttered bar. Having said that, the room is OK for the price, and breakfast perfectly edible, but not fantastic. Wi-Fi works fine and location is good just by a subway station. I was not thrilled at all by my stay at Stanley Hotel, but for yet another business trip it would do it... However, I would not recommend it for a holiday retreat, as the area seems quite run-down with abandoned office buildings and possibly not the safest area in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSF-Lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. While we are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, we are glad you felt you received a good value, found our location convenient, and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We do thank you for your honest feedback and comments as it helps us improve our hotel for future stays. Since your review we have addressed our working procedures with our reception department, aimed at ensuring all check-in and check-out procedures are as quick, efficient, and helpful as possible. Again, we apologize that your experience was not ideal.

Additionally we would like to let you know that since we have many different sized rooms with different views, if you are not satisfied with your accommodation we are always willing to provide to you with an alternate option, upon availability.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to make a second impression on you. Please let us know when you are returning and we will do our best to ensure you enjoy your stay more the next time you stay with.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I got a little nervous based on some of the reviews but I don't know why there were complaints for the neighborhood. We never felt unsafe. The first night we went to a diner right by it and another night my husband picked up Thai food take out, about a 10 minute walk. You get off the metro and the entrance to the hotel is just on the other side of the building. We had a fabulous room on the 8th floor that was huge, which had an awesome balcony with incredible views! The staff was super friendly and took our luggage up to our room when it arrived a day after we did. We had a metro pass so jumping on the train for everything was very convenient.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. The 8th floor was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFroehlich70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your wonderful feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are so glad to hear enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had I planned the details of this trip myself, I would have never chosen the Stanley. Its whereabouts (Karaiskaki square, Metaxourgeio, Athens) is considered to be an urban run-down neighbourhood... Nevertheless, the trip organizers insisted on the quality of the establishment and they were right! And the area prooved to be very central, clean and quite safe, although definitely slum...

The hotel quality was suprisingly high. Nice, clean, renovated rooms (ask for a 7th floor no-smoking room). Nice reception area and roof garden area viewing the Acropolis. Friendly service.

I had 3 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 2 dinners there. Breakfast and lunch were poor. Dinner was very good.

The subway station is just infront of the hotel, so is a taxi piazza.

The Stanley is a hotel I would consider again as a budget, value for money stay in Athens.

Room Tip: No smoking room. Top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on business in Athens. I booked through booking.com and the price was incredible. The hotel is outside one of the Metro stops and is 3 stops to the Centre of Athens (only €1.40 for 1.5hrs of travel on the Metro!). The staff are very helpful and I felt very welcome. The room was sparse to be honest however it was clean and spacious. The bathroom was clean if a little small!
The view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar is beautiful (I could even see it from my room). I ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was fine for the price and the staff very helpful.
Bearing in mind the price I would happily stay here again, especially as it is just minutes from my customer and so well connected by the Metro.
Only point is the room could do with a choice of pillows and don't tell me to save the planet by reusing towels if you also provide an empty fridge which is on all the time!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley and for sharing your very positive feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you felt you received a great value, found your room clean and comfortable, our location convenient, and had a chance to enjoy our rooftop terrace, bar and restaurant.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding pillow choice. While we do provide additional pillows in the closets of each room, we will look into providing a greater variety for our guests.

Additionally, one point of clarification on our refrigerators – we provide these for guests to keep beverages or food cold throughout their stay and therefore they remain on for the duration of the guest’s time with us. We do turn them off when we are sure that the room will remain vacant for more than one day.

Lastly, we feel that any and all kinds of conservation are beneficial to all and therefore we ask our guests to do what they can in helping conserve water when possible.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Stanley the next time you are in Athens. Thank you again for your very valued feedback.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefkada, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Needed an overnight hotel that was well located in terms of public transport and a short taxi or bus ride to the bus station at Kifissou where I was catching an early bus. In this regard it fitted the bill.

The hotel is right next to the metro at Metaxayourgeio and a taxi to the bus station took less than 10 minutes and was 6 euros.The hotel itself is clean, the staff pleasant and reception helpful. Did not eat there but the restaurant looked okay. Used the bar on the rooftoplevel and it was good. The bedroom was spacious and 3 star level. The problem was the room was on the 7th floor and overlooked the square. Traffic noise all night as the windows were not modern double glazed. So a poor nights sleep spoilt an otherwise reasonable impression.

The surrounding area is not very nice. .so I would not recommend this for a holiday break. If I could be guaranteed a quieter room I might return but.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy59189460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient, enjoyed our rooftop bar, and found your room spacious and comfortable.

Additionally we would like to apologize for your experience with city noise from the street. While we do provide double glazed glass that works for most all of our guests, we recommend an interior facing room for light sleepers. In the future, please let our reception desk know and we will happily move you to an interior-facing room to eliminate all potential for city noise.

We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to The Stanley and are confident you will have a restful night’s sleep upon your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very good view from top floor (terrace is a bit neglected in winter). Pool on the top floor was empty at this time of year, but in fact it is quite small.
Bathroom with a broken shower. hard-open balcony door (balconies are nice).
Good breakfast, supper ok, but low-level new years menu and service. I think the hotel does not meet the requirement of four stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley for the New Year and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. However, we regret to hear that The Stanley did not meet your expectations.

We are always striving to improve our property, so if possible it would be very helpful to get some more specific feedback from you regarding your shower, your feedback on the New Year’s menu, and general feedback. Please contact us directly using the Trip Advisor direct response function, as any additional feedback you can provide would be extremely valuable in improving our property and offering to future guests.

Despite your first impressions of The Stanley, we do hope to have the chance to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens. We are confident we can deliver a better experience to you upon your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novotel Athenes
#62 of 326 in Athens
2,193 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,981 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#37 of 326 in Athens
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#106 of 326 in Athens
757 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#56 of 326 in Athens
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing