We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service, convinient location, normal price”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #85 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was last year in November that we had to stay in Athens for one night so we choose this hotel. It's OK for one night stay but It's not something special. The rooms are old fashioned and very amortized. The good think is that is clean. The bathroom was in bad condition. Sink and bathtub were clogged. The WI-Fi was missing in the room so I had to go in the lobby to be able to connect and even there the signal was very poor.
The personnel was really good and helpful. Any question was answered and any request was fulfilled as much as they could.
I loved our stay in Athens because of the city but wouldn't stay more than a night or two in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mira_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley last year and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful, our location convenient, and that you felt you received a good value.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding your room and our WiFi service. We have continually made improvements to our WiFi service throughout the year and are currently in the process of changing service providers and overhauling all hardware. In addition, we are updating our rooms with new TVs, bedding, and floors throughout the coming months. We do thank you for these comments as they ensure we are addressing the most important needs of our customers.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Stanley for a second impression. We believe you will be even more satisfied with your experience upon return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

very noisy place, the 7th floor supposed to be not smoking but who cares? the shower stream very poor, the connected beds not stable, noisy.
problems with wifi even it is free.
the personel did everything they could to change my room from 1st to 7th even they were fully booked. on this floor the noise is more quiet but still noisy.

Room Tip: there are rooms with one big bed. look for rooms with bathroom not only with shower. evennings on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank אריה ב
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, found our location convenient, and found our staff polite.

We would also like to express our apologies regarding your original room. If possible, please direct message us your name or room number (if you remember it) so we can look into the details of your comment and determine which issues we can replicate and fix.

Despite this initial complication, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was here in 2004. but since I'm new here I started with reviews :D

I was here for one night, short after the Games and hotel was very good, renovated, with large rooms and very comfy, big beds, nice modern bathroom with tub, nice carpets and staying here was very good experience. Breakfast was good standard continental buffet with various breads, grains, cheese, eggs etc. I liked that hotel was just next to metro station but I didn't liked that is far from city to walk at night, since downtown Athens is not very good place to be at night.

When it comes to the price, I can't say is it good or high since we went with agency.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sch0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us when you traveled to Athens, and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to hear you had an excellent experience with us and hope to have the opportunity to see you again should you return to Athens.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked because of a good deal. The rooms in the pictures were different from what we got. The hotel was in the red light area, anyone who heard the name of karaiskaki square gave that apathetic look when we mentioned where we were staying. Fortunately no bad incident took place. We had to reach the hotel with so much luggage by the metro as there was no pick up. It was convinient because the station entry is right outside the hotel but inconvinient if you have luggage. Even the bell boy did not escort us to the room with all that luggage.

Bathrooms were tiny. Could hear what was going on in the next room. Antique air conditioning system.
And the passage smells of oil or some weird oily smell.
We were asked to consume tap water as there was no complimentary bottled water but after conveying our disgust the manager provided us with bottled drinking water.

Breakfast was the only high point that this place had. Good variety. The view from the top floor is okay, nothing great.

A mention about the WIFI. IT DOES NOT WORK! EVER! So don't bother connecting because it asks u to enter and reenter the user name & password repeatedly and that's seriously annoying. 3 of the 4 days we stayed they said it had a problem with the company. But after reading some more reviews I felt it's just a cover up.

Quite a turn off at the beginning of the trip. I would not advise anyone to stay here unless you really really want to save money but then you'll end up spending reaching here as it's a little away from the city center impossible to walk. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ananyadoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations and for having a negative experience staying with us at The Stanley. While we do not agree with all comments you made, we understand your feedback and will take it to heart as we continue to improve our property.

Despite your first impression, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Stanley the next time you are in Athens. We are confident you will have a better experience the next time we see you.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good value hotel next to a metro station. The staff are friendly and helpful. Amazing views from the rooftop bar, restaurant and pool (a bit small). Good selection for the buffet breakfast.

The wifi is barely works in the rooms and you need to go to the lobby reception to get a decent connection. On the plus side they have computers with a printer in the lobby. I would recommend that the hotel does not start cleaning rooms before 8 am! We were disturbed a couple of times with rooms close to us being cleaned at 7.30 am.

Room Tip: Top floors have good views especially south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divyang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor and choosing to stay with us at The Stanley. We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly, and enjoyed our rooftop terrace.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding WiFi and cleaning service. We are actively working to correct the WiFi system and will be rehauling our entire system in the next few months, so should we have the chance to welcome you again, we believe that the service will be vastly improved. Additionally, we are thankful for you comment about our cleaning service. We will discuss internally to discuss how to address it within our process.

Thank you once more, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stanley Hotel is definitely not a 4* hotel. We arrived and were impressed as we walked into the front lobby. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was large however that first impression disappeared as our room was in dire need of some decoration. Did not strike us as a 4*. It seemed clean just a little battered. I did request a high floor and view of the Acropolis and I went straight out to the balcony - they had obliged and I was over the moon. Part of this however meant we were on the main road which is very busy and noisy - but this is Athens all over and to be expected.

The bathroom again was dated and the bathroom door was coming apart at the bottom. There was a lot of dust on top of the mirror light - (and no I do not go checking these things - I had to lean on it whilst adjusting a shoe!) but apart from that there was no obvious uncleanliness.

We were shocked at the area the hotel was located in. We went out on our first night and felt a little uncomfortable but put it down to us being in a new city. The next day we went on the open tour bus and as we put on our headphones we heard how this part of the city is very run down and full of brothels!!! We ventured out on a number of occasions and used the metro (which is located 2mins way - very handy) but felt very uncomfortable and fearful. We ended up getting cabs from outside of the hotel to our destinations. If you are getting the metro or cabs the hotel is
in a convenient location to get everywhere, but be prepared to feel on edge! Very few places to eat/drink - we travelled out of Karaiskaki Sq for this.

We chose the hotel for the roof top terrace and it did not fail - it was beautiful and you could see the Acropolis whist having a glass of wine or coffee. A little more pricey but that is to be expected. There is also a pool but we were only here for limited time so were unable to utilize it.

The hotel is one of the biggest I have stayed in and breakfast catered for that. There is a fair selection but nothing that I would write home about. Staff were not particularly friendly when we had requests - wifi didn't work the whole time we were there.

I have never given a negative or low review on trip advisor, this is my first however if I was asked if I would return to this hotel then at the present time I would say no and I would not recommend it. It definitely needs updating and the direct location in my opinion is poor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemma_london2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our rooftop terrace and found our location convenient.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding some areas of improvement we have. We have taken internal steps to continue to overhaul our room décor, our cleaning processes, our staff attitude, our breakfast quality, and a full-scale overhaul of our entire WiFi system as a result of your review.

Lastly, we would like to clarify that our neighborhood has a reputation that is a relic of the past. It is currently gentrifying with many new art galleries, restaurants, bars, and cafes opening in the area. In fact, Trip Advisor’s number one rated restaurant in all of Athens is just a few blocks walk from our door. And of course, we remain extremely convenient to get to all sites within Athens as well as easy access to the airport and Piraeus port.

Despite your conclusion in your review we do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to The Stanley for a second impression. We are confident we can deliver a better experience upon your second stay. Thank you again for your comments.



Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean!! its a quiet place and you can pick up a taxi outside the hotel!! its not very expensive and i believe its a nice place for a short trip in athens! it is also located next to a metro station!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nikolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and for staying with us at The Stanley. We are very glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and hope to have the chance to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Katerina Hotel
#34 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#58 of 282 in Athens
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,204 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#57 of 282 in Athens
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $52 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing