We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were super clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The best part of the hotel is the fantastic rooftop terrace with a great view of the Acropolis and Athens cityscape. We were only able to stay one night but started and ended our evening on the terrace with one of the great drinks from the bar. If we had more time we also would have tried the restaurant on the roof that also had a great view and the food looked (and smelled) amazing. Our room overlooked the square and was still very quiet. The air conditioning in the room worked great, it was nice to have a fridge in the room as well as free wifi and breakfast buffet included in the price. The metro is just outside of the hotel, and it was only a 3 euro taxi ride to the major attractions in the city. Overall a great value for the price, and very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Stanley and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We would be happy to welcome you back to The Stanley the next time you return to Athens!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    591
    369
    136
    52
See reviews for
295
460
93
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hilliard
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We liked this hotel. We booked a non smoking Triple Room. We noticed smoke right away, but the desk sent someone to spray the bathroom and it made a noticible difference and we didnt smell smoke after that.
We had a room on the 6th floor facing the Acropolis. The super large wrap around balcony is amazing! The room was perfect for our family of three adults, although our son said his "roll away bed" was a little uncomfortable.
The AC did a great job of keeping the room cold. The front desk gave us two keys so that we could keep one in the room keeping the AC on. We locked our valuables in the safe.
It was a nice bonus having a fridge that kept our drinks cold.
The buffet breakfast on weekends is much nicer than weekdays. On weekends there's much more to choose from, but it's still a nice breakfast.
The free WIFI was a little annoying because we each had our "own code" that we had to keep logging in with everytime we turned on our devises.
The metro is beneath the hotel which makes it perfect when arriving from the airport or going to see the sites.
The walls are a little thin and the street noise is a little loud, but the value makes up for it.
The roof top pool was old, small and needs updated. Still it was nice to take a quick dip after a hot day walking about.
I would stay here again if I'm ever in Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room high up facing the Acropolis. Room 617 is perfect!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HilliardSonographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very glad to see you enjoyed your room and balcony, our breakfast buffet, our free WiFi, and got a chance to enjoy the pool.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens. We will have room 617 waiting for you!

Best Regards
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Upon booking, I had requested a non-smoking room on a higher floor. When we checked in, we were given a room on a second floor that was a smoking room where everything was scented with nicotine. However the hotel were happy to accommodate us with this change when we checked in. The doors are double to the balcony which is good for the busy street. The non-smoking rooms are clean; however keep your bathroom door shut as the smell of nicotine can come up through the vents of other rooms. The breakfast provided whilst we were there was American, with fresh fruit, muesli, eggs, bread, juice, sausages etc. The Wi-Fi works within the room, log in is required each time which the hotel provides you with.


No port pick up was available. However, the hotel is in a good location to the train station and the trains are easy to use. I don’t recommend using a cab as the cabbie will rip you off or play games with money. We paid him a $20 which both of us seen and he swapped it and said we only gave him $5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJWalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with your room, enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and were able to take advantage of our free WiFi throughout the hotel.

We do apologize that you smelled smoke via the bathroom vent. We are actually in the process of installing a more advanced ventilation system so that we fully eliminate this issue for future guests. We do appreciate your feedback as it helps us ensure we are improving the most important aspects of our guest experience, so thank you for your comments.

Lastly, we regret to hear about your taxi experience. We do partner directly with a taxi company that we recommend to our guests, as we are able to contact the company and identify the driver if there is any issue with your trip whatsoever. Our front desk is always happy to coordinate a trip for you.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to The Stanley. We do believe we can provide you with an excellent experience upon your return

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Stanley was a good experience. The Buffett for breakfast was good and the rooms were good too. The only thing I didn't like was how thin the walls were, I could hear the people next to us having a full conversation like they were talking to me. This hotel is budget friendly so you do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for staying with us at The Stanley. We are glad to see you had such a good experience during your stay, found our service excellent, enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and felt you received a great value.

We do regret to hear that you felt the rooms were a bit noisy. We will be looking into the issue and determining the best way to address this problem. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us become a better hotel and ensures great experiences for our future guests.

We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us once again. We are confident we can provide an even better experience the next time we see you.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Firstly, it is clean and that is what I look for above all else. Location, a bit out of the action but accessible by metro or a solid walk.

Rooms are very basic but clean and actually the best sleep I have had in Athens.

Lots of groups here including what appear to be school groups but no problems in the room.

Restaurant and bar overpriced. Not much on offer around the hotel itself.

68 euros is not much and I'm not whinging about paying it but I have had much better for much less but I did book this at the last minute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Public Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel clean, conveniently located next to the metro, and had such a great sleep while staying with us.

We would like to address your comments about both our location and our bars and restaurants. As you noted, we are located directly in front of a Metro station as well as taxi stand and bus stop, so our guests can easily get anywhere they would like to throughout Athens. We do regret that you did not find much to offer around the hotel, however we would have gladly recommend a number of bars, restaurants, or art galleries within just a few blocks of The Stanley. The areas of Keramikos and Gazi, which offer some of the best nightlife in Athens, are easily within walking distance of our property. In fact, Trip Advisor’s number one rated restaurant in all of Athens is a short walk from our doorstep.

We would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the pricing of our bars, restaurants and rooms. We do everything we can to keep the costs to our customers low, and can confidently say that our restaurant and bar menus are very competitively priced against the other 4-Star hotels in Athens. It is our goal for our customers to feel they receive a tremendous value at The Stanley, so we do regret to hear you did not feel this way. We take our guest feedback very seriously, and we would love any specific information you can provide us that made you think we were a bit overpriced.

Again, we thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. It is extremely helpful for us to continue to improve our guest experience, and hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having booked a Holiday with "The Travel Department " my Wife and I stayed here for three nights on a Bed and Breakfast basis. We were on the fifth floor but found it hard to sleep due to the noise of the traffic on the streets. I also had a problem with the lack of shower facilities even though there is a bath with shower mixer but no matter how i tried to hang up the head of the shower it kept falling down. I had no option but to have a bath and i found it very difficult to get out of the bath due to a hip complaint i have. My wife had to assist me to get out of the bath each time. Had i been on my own it would have been impossible ? I would have thought for a four star hotel they would have a walk in shower which would make things easier. This would be fine had i been twenty years younger but the age profile of the group of people i traveled with were over 55 and more.

On the positive side there was a good buffet breakfast with hot and cold food but can be extremely busy at times. Good size Bedroom also.Two English speaking Channels on TV. The room has a Safe and Fridge for storing bottled water which proved very useful in such a warm climate. This has been my experience of this particular Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Public Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and found the amenities in your room convenient and satisfactory.

We would like to apologize for your experience with your bathroom and that you found your room on the square a little too noisy. We offer rooms with many different types of bathrooms and would have gladly switched your room to one that features a walk-in shower if you let our front desk know. In addition, while our rooms facing the square do feature double glazed glass, all city hotels experience some unavoidable traffic noise. We would have been happy to switch your room to one facing our courtyard to completely eliminate the noise from the street if you had expressed your trouble sleeping to us during your stay.

Lastly, you mention in your review that you had a problem with your showerhead in the bathroom. We do apologize for that as well. We take all of our guest’s feedback seriously, so if possible, please message us directly your room number or full name so that we can double check the bathroom to ensure we replace anything that is not working properly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. We do believe we can provide you a much more comfortable experience should you return to The Stanley.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The Internet connection was very poor and the bath was not equipped well! During our stay we enjoyed our breakfast and in general all the foods and drinks. Althoght the slow Internet was anoing and we couldn't work in the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Dickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our dining options overall.

We would like to apologize for your experience both with our WiFi and the issue with your bathroom. Due to other guest feedback we have begun a property-wide upgrade of our Internet equipment. We are also aiming to continue to offer WiFi service throughout our hotel free of charge, an amenity that many hotels throughout Athens do not provide. We do believe that should we have the opportunity to welcome you again, you will find no problem with our free WiFi service.

Additionally, we would like to understand further about the issue you had with your bathroom. If you have time, please send us a direct message with a bit more detail about what you felt was lacking. We take our guest feedback very seriously, and we actively make upgrades to our property as a result of the feedback. We believe this helps us continue to improve as a hotel and to offer better guest experiences in the future. We very much appreciate your help in this effort.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#99 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#40 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing