We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from the food here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay away from the food here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The food in both restaurants was ready made, very bad and unbelivable expencive. The breakfast was out of price and realy disapointed.
Albert night the room was noisy by the traffick outside. The people working here were very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertmisdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor and for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our staff.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the food in the hotel. We normally receive very positive comments regarding our food – both in quality and in pricing. In fact, we have recently reduced the prices of many of the items on our menus. We have also added new dishes to our lunch and dinner menus that include a broader range for our guests to choose from, including vegetarian options. Lastly, our breakfast buffet is fairly comprehensive – offering everything from fresh seasonal fruits and croissants, to eggs and bacon.

Given our feedback is usually very positive, we would very much appreciate further feedback from you regarding the specific issues you had with the food in our hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to have our guests help improve our hotel for future guest experiences. If you are able, please email us at generalmanager@hotelstanley.gr with more specifics, as honest specifics will undoubtedly be very helpful to us.

Again, we appreciate you comments and would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    591
    369
    136
    52
See reviews for
295
460
93
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

All things about this hotel are good- excellent location, walking distance from city centre, metro station next door, beautiful night view of Acropolis- but the area around this hotel has become quite seedy. I got a feeling that crime is a problem. But the hotel has its own private security guards. Breakfast buffet is good, but if you arrive late, you tend to miss some items. Rooms are clean and spacious, service is excellent, staff are courteous. The free wifi is a problem but in the lobby there are computers which are of use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor and for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. It is wonderful to hear that you were satisfied with our location, views of the Acropolis, breakfast buffet, and rooms.

We would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the WiFi throughout the hotel. As a result of your feedback and other guest comments, we will be adding additional routers throughout the property to increase the wireless signal strength and provide a better Internet experience for all guests.

Additionally, we would like to address your comments regarding the neighborhood. Our area is currently in the process of gentrification with many newly opened high-end restaurants and art galleries within a short walking distance from the Stanley. While the neighborhood may feel a bit “old,” we do not consider it to be unsafe.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the Stanley hotel for 5 nights.

Its a bit dated in its decor including the rooms but everything is VERY clean and in good working order (aircon, fridge, hair dryer, room safe etc).

The good points - its very central and I was able to walk to several nearby atrtactions including the Acropolis, Monastiraki square and Syntagma Square. Its VERY good value for money and the staff were very helpful. having a room safe was nice too as you just felt a bit better leaving passports etc there. Although greece is going through some difficult times with many protests and a growing number of vagrants in the area, you felt safe with a strong police presence, even at the hotel entrance.The cleaning staff were very good, leaving my alone when I had a do not disturb sign out and cleaning when I didnt. The rooms are double glazed with two sets of doors to the balcony which was good because I'm a light sleeper and this feature made the rooms quite quiet at night.

The not so good points - For a 4* hotel I would expect a more up-to-date look. there was a very dated 14" TV in my room which should really be a larger flat screen these days and a few more english channels other than just BBC 24 and CNN would be nice. Only a few rooms from about the 5th floor and up and on thew front side of the hotel have views of the acropolis. Mine was on the 5th floor but on the side so I could only see the best view if i leaned out over my balcony. Perhaps the hotel could offer these "premium" view rooms for an additional fee? It would be a nice option. I asked prior to arriving for a room on the upper floors - the floor i was on was just on the upper floors (its got 9 stories) so arguably they did what I asked for, but top floor would have been nice - that said, I did book it through booking.com and as I was reminded at check-in, it was a discounted price (only £186 for a double room for 5 nights, including breakfast). on the 2nd floor they have conference rooms and these can be quite noisey in the morning - as you walk to the stairwell, they are wery loud and it might pay for the hotel to ensure the doors to these rooms are closed so the noise does not travel around the hotel. There can be quite a few vagrants around the area at night and you may often pass through Omonia square to get back to the hotel at night. I would suggest staying on the major roads and some of the side streets have junkies and are dangerous. For full safety, take a cab - they aren't expensive and drop you off at the entrance. Lastly, the wifi, although in every room (via repeaters in the hall ways), I found was very imtermittent regularly causing my phone to switch back to 3G which then cost me - I had to keep checking that the Wifi symbol on my phone hadnt dropped out - an annoyance more than anything but one to watch for if your phone company limits your data usage overseas

The bad - there rally aren't any bad points for this hotel. For the prices they charge and their location and their service they really are exceptional value for money and I would definitely return their again on my next visit.



I didnt wake early enough for breakfast

Room Tip: If you want a view of the acropolis which is amazing, ask for rooms on the front side from the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your extensive and thoughtful comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stanley, especially your room amenities, our location, and the views from the rooftop of the Acropolis and city of Athens.

Additionally, we would like to thank you for some of your comments regarding the television, WiFi connection, and conference rooms. We are actively updating our amenities over the next few months and we will certainly take your comments into consideration. Feedback such as yours is extremely helpful as we continue to improve our hotel for future guest experiences.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again at the Hotel Stanley in the near future.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay and very good value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff. The metro and hop on hop off buses are right at the front door. The hotel is in a very handy location being just far enough out of the very busy areas of Athens. The view from the roof where the restaurant and pool are located is just fantastic. Access is simple from the motorway and parking secure. We are sure to use the Stanley when we go to Athens next.

Room Tip: The hotel is providing more signage to help guests locate it, as when we stayed the only sign was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobra115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you once again for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us on your first trip to Athens.

Additionally, we would like to thank you for the comments regarding our hotel signage. We are indeed adding additional signage for guests arriving both by car or taxi, as well as the Athens Metro. We rely on our guest’s feedback to help us improve and provide future guests an even better experience. We are very appreciative of the comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in town.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

comfortable rooms although a little worn out and in need of minor repair. Staff is friendly. Location is ok, but at night feels a bit unsecure. During breakfast a good variety was offered of eggs, omlets, yoguts, fruits etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about The Hotel Stanley on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

We are also happy to hear that you found our location convenient – with our proximity to the Athens Metro and Hop On/Hop Off tour buses at our doorstep. We would like to clarify that although there are some older buildings in our area, the neighborhood is safe to walk around day or night. Within walking distance there are many newly opened bars and restaurants, including some of Trip Advisor’s most highly rated eateries.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Please let us know the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great find in the centre of Athens - fantastically priced clean and spacious
We stopped in a triple room for £48.99 (60E)
Plenty of room and clean towels

Breakfast was discounted to 6E per person for hotel guests which is really good and there was plenty of variety to eat and drink
The hotel also has a rooftop terrace bar which gives you a fab view of the Acroplis and Lycabettus hill which is a super bonus. Will definately use again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear that you felt the Stanley provided a great value and that you were able to enjoy the views of Athens from our rooftop bar.

We would love to see you when you are in Athens again, please do let us know the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios,
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed by all the staff at the Stanley. The reception team were always very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We were concerned with traffic noise, it is in a busy location, but the staff ensured we had a room at the rear, plus the balcony doors were double to ensure noise could be eliminated.
Sure, the decor is a little dated, but the upside is that the rooms are large, and ours was spotlessly clean.
The rooftop bar and restaurant is great. You look across to an uninterrupted view of the Acropolis. Great spot after a day of sightseeing. And we found the restaurant staff engaging and friendly and the food was very good value if you took their daily specials.
Breakfast was also good value for a budget priced hotel, with a wide range of offerings.
Location suited us fine. It is right above a subway station providing easy access to the main tourist attractions and the port.
We would not consider any other option for a good budget priced hotel in Athens

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley and sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community.

We are very glad to hear you had such a pleasant experience with our staff, and that you were able to get to our rooftop bar and restaurant to enjoy the views of the city.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, please let us know the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#99 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#40 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing