We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place low rates!”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #93 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Nicosia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice place low rates!”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

i have stayed more than three times in this hotel. the hotel is located near theatres and right next to the hotel is the metro of metaxourgio and 3 stops away is syntagma square so this hotel is located in the centre of Athens. the area is a bit crowded but you wont hear the noise in your hotel bedroom. Breakfast is great and all hotel staff is very polite and helpful.
i would also recommend this hotel for groups..
further more the hotel has its own parking with extra fee of course but is something very important if you have a car as there are no car parks in athens....

Room Tip: fifth floor rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panichew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    630
    398
    156
    65
See reviews for
315
505
101
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I'm just saing this is a different ligue of hotels I ever been.

the services of the this hotel to the tourists... it's just unbeliveble... if you are looking for a good answer to your many you need to come...

the breakfast is typical greekian meadleast and very very good.

the hotel is neer of greek tabernas and very recomanded clubs as: COSMOSTAGE, IREA ODOS, and others...
the hotel is highley recomanded.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxworth, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel is a bit old looking in the rooms but the front is updated with a large waiting area and a bar too. The hotel has a restraunt upstairs that is effecient but not excellent. You can see the Acropolis at night from outside the restraunt's window. It is a nice sight! Our room was large enough....safe included. The closet is medium size with a dresser. The beds are hard but after the long day of walking around Athens, it doesn't really matter too much. *unless you have a bad back* It is noisy, extremely noisy outside the window. Greeks apparently lay on their horn while driving. The Stanley isn't too far away from the attractions but it's definitely a very good walk. The neighborhood isn't the greatest but we weren't too afraid. We did get stopped and asked if we wanted some drugs....and then on the way to Mcdonalds....there were three guys shooting up in an alley way....I kid you not! Other than that it was okay. We didn't go out at night after that. This hotel was the only option that came with our tour of Greece and the Islands. I think it is the more reasonable price hotels in the area. There is a HUGE buffet for breakfast. There is a Starbucks down the block and a Mcdonalds. The is little shop across the street that sells gyros and they are GREAT!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernchelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here the night before starting an island tour as part of the package. Terrible location if you are in Athens as a tourist. It's not anywhere near the sights and not within walking distance of anything you want to see as a tourist. I stayed the night before in the Plaka and would highly recommend unless you want to be dependent on taxis or metro. Also, not in a safe neighborhood for exploring. Was warned by cab driver on our way there - not a good sign! Location VERY noisy, akin to sleeping next to a scooter's exhaust pipe all night long. Other reviewers mentioned bed bugs - did not see any but knowing others had left me a paranoia all night... Also, the showers are a joke. SO small i had to use the one-legged stance at the end of Karate Kid to be able to shave my legs - and even still the shower curtain was stuck to half of me (and i'm only 5'7", 125 lbs - i have no idea what a larger person would do!). Only redeeming quality as I could see it was the buffet breakfast - large selection and available early which is necessary when you have an early ferry. Bottom line, stay elsewhere if in Athens to enjoy the cultural sights and want a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel was included as part of "package" vacation to several locations in Greece. Having read reviews by other guests I was a bit apprehensive about this facility. I found it to be more than adequate. I read the previous reviews with reports of bedbugs and found absolutely NO evidence of their presence, nor did anyone else traveling in the tour group. I checked the room VERY thoroughly and found nothing at all, so that was a huge relief.

The rooms at the Stanley are adequate-not at all elegant but not lacking for the basic necessities and are a decent size. The shower leaves alot to be desired (by American standards) as it is quite small, but it worked, which is all that matters. The in-room hairdryer is not the best, especially if one has long hair, but again, it worked. The room appointments were so-so, but I didn't find that too terribly important. The facility itself has nice public areas, and the rooftop bar/restaurant has a wonderful view of the Parthenon, especially at night. I got some great sunset photos up there as well. The food at the restaurant had some great dishes, but others were just acceptable - the baked cheese dip was wonderful. Guests can also order sandwiches and snacks at the bar tables, and the portions were a good size. Bar prices were slightly high, but normal for a hotel bar. The swimming pool is on the small side. My trip included the daily breakfast. Of all of the places that I stayed in Greece the Stanley provided the best variety of breakfast foods and presented it nicely. The buffet included more than just cold cereals, canned fruits, lunch meats and stale bread, which seems to be the norm for European hotels. Guests have a choice of eggs, bacon, ham and fresh fruit, as well as that wonderful Greek yogurt. Don't miss this- add a little honey and enjoy the Greek version of heaven!

The staff at the Stanley was kind and helpful. We encountered a government labor strike at the end of our stay and were unable to leave when we were supposed to. We were able to stay the additional night at a special rate and the staff handled it all smoothly-no room changes required. I had HUGE issues with Internet connections here. The hotel offers a "for purchase" connection-one buys a password and ID for a specified number of minutes. It's necessary to make some changes to the settings on your Internet device to make this work. The staff showed me what to do but no amount of coaxing made it work in my room. I discovered far too late that this was a signal issue-worked just fine at the rooftop bar!

The Stanley is not terribly close to the historic attractions in Athens. HOWEVER.....the Metro station is 2 seconds away from the hotel and a 10 minute ride to the major attractions. The Metro is cheap, easy to use and very safe, so the Stanley's location should not be an issue for anyone.

All in all, I would recommend this facility to any traveler looking for a good value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0000Ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Stanley Hotel for 10 - 12 nights in June 2011 as part of the LETR Final Leg for the Special Olympic world games.

The rooms are very plain, almost "dorm" like, but clean. The beds were hard, but we were so tired at the end of the day we could have slept on anything. Water pressure was good in the shower and always had plenty of hot water, although the Hotel needs to spend a few dollars to buy new shower curtains that are long enough to keep the water from covering the floor every time you shower. The air conditioning worked very well. Internet access was available to use in your room at a cost, but it wasn't that expensive.

Cleaning staff were friendly and always had my room cleaned very shortly after I would leave in the morning. Front desk were friendly and answered most questions to the best of their ability. Most could understand English pretty well.

The Metro is a 1 minute walk from the door.....so you are just a short subway ride to shopping and many, many restaurants. The area around the Hotel itself is a little sketchy, as a female I certainly would not go anywhere alone. Also, there are MANY pick pockets on the subway. Several people in our group were victims. Be very aware of being "bumped" into. Keep your personal belongings very close and don't carry much money on you at a time. Use the hotel safe for your passport and extra cash and credit cards.

The 9th floor was by far the best aspect of this Hotel......good food, nice cold beer and an incredible view at night of The Acropolis. Our group couldn't wait until the end of the day for our "9th floor meeting". :)

All in all, I would recommend this Hotel if you need to stay in Athens. If and when I return to Greece, I would certainly stay at this Hotel again as an arrival and departure point that is close to the airport. But the rest of my trip will be visiting the spectacular Islands away from the city of Athens !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis and confirm that you have a room with a tub. (If you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahamamamaPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel isn't going to knock your socks off, but then again it doesn't pretend to offer such.

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times, but originally picked it for its location. If you are seeking a hotel close to a Metro stop, you cannot get any closer than this. Just remember when you are getting ready to climb the stairs (out of the subway) with your large suitcases, take the Karaiskaki Square exit to make your life easier. They also offer off-street parking below the hotel - yeah, in Athens! I don't remember exactly, but it cost approximately 10 euros a day - completely worth it. Additionally, you are not too far from the Larissa train station and the National Highway.

The rooms are basic and adequate. The bathrooms vary somewhat, but I have had good luck getting ones with a full tub most of the time. Although, I know they do have ones with just a small, stand-up shower enclosed by a curtain. Don't worry about the balconies, because the neighborhood isn't exactly the quietest. I doubt you will be stepping outside to enjoy a evening cocktail. The beds are once again typical of the country - hard. Don't expect a pillow-top here.

Another amenity I enjoy about this place is the rooftop bar/restaurant. This isn't the best neighborhood for setting out on foot to find a nice taverna and sit down for a good meal - especially if you are feeling jet-lagged. However, you can head upstairs for a pretty decent meal. The staff is typically courteous and attentive. You will receive better service in the restaurant area than at the bar (consistent through the years). The pool upstairs is somewhat forgettable, but they do provide a separate area from the bar/restaurant for sunbathing and swimming.

They do have a computer in the lobby (for rent) should you need one. They offer WiFi for a charge as well - different minute levels.

All-in-all not a bad place, as long as you aren't expecting to stay somewhere extravagant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achaean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novotel Athenes
#62 of 326 in Athens
2,191 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,981 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#37 of 326 in Athens
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#106 of 326 in Athens
757 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#56 of 326 in Athens
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing