We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clean, nice, comfortable hotel in a great location (Plaka), right next to Syntagma Square (where there is a metro stop)!! We checked in and our room reeked of smoke so I immediately went to reception and explained that due to asthma and pregnancy I preferred a non-smoking room (to which they apologized and explained all rooms are non-smoking but unfortunately that doesn't mean everyone complies) and were happy to show me another room to see if it smelled better. Luckily, it was great, no smells, and even had a wonderful view of the Acropolis!!! Nice amount of space and good size bathroom....hotel was everything we needed! Wi-Fi was supposed to be 5 euros (per 24hrs) but it stopped working the night we got there after just a few hours, so I called reception to let them know and they had it fixed the next day and didn't charge me. Nice, helpful staff, great location, clean hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliebug39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everything was perfect with this hotel except it does not offer free Wifi...But considering it is a four star hotel that if fine. Excellent value for money. Location was great and near all kinds of attractions. All in all an excellent stay in Athens with this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenfofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Not my first time in Athens , and this was a great surprise . Excellent location beside Akropolis , Plaka , the Parliament , and facing the National Gardens . Within a short walk you´re into whatever you need or want . My special thanks to the reception staff , which was very kind and corteous towards ANY request we made . Excellent rooms , clean and functional . Nice breakfast as well .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Amalia was a great place to stay for our three day trip to Athens. We had the fastest check-in ever, received great advice from the front desk, and the room was big and very comfortable. The hotel is a perfect location to all the sites you will want to see in Athens. We were able to walk everywhere!

Room Tip: We chose a superior room with a balcony, and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Amalia hotel is a four star hotel with an excelent location pretty close to the main arqueological attractions in Athens,Greece. I really liked the hotel and the service I received. The people at the front desk were always with a nice smile and very kind. The lobby is very pretty and the rooms are big and were in really optimal condition. The bathroom spotless and clean. The breakfast was very good too. It had fresh fruits and good variety of food and pastries. I really recomend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice and affordable place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amado68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Amalia is easily within walking distance to the Acropolis, Plaka and many of the other historical sites in Athens. Our room was nice with a great little balcony. What really set this hotel apart was the staff. They offered wonderful advice about sites to see, places to eat, and easy ways to get around the city. When we had problems with our TV, they came to fix it immediately. The included breakfast is a delicious selection of breads and muffins. The only complaints I might have are that the WiFi isn't free (5 Euros a day) and the bed could be more comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel over others we stayed at in Athens. Make sure you go up to the rooftop at night. The view is spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Amalia is a great hotel. Situated facing the National Gardens, a stone's throw away from Syntagma Square, it should be a first choice for whoever travel to Athens. My wife and myself had nothing to complain. Location, as explained is perfect. All the staff, from receptionists to the housekeeping dept. were always very helpful. Our deluxe room faced the Gardens, so the view was fantastic. Though Amalias Avenue has a high traffic throughout the day & night, we were not affected. Rooms are almost soundproof. They are also quite spacious, with comfortable beds, wardrobes and a pretty bathroom. Breakfast was perfect. A wide range of items is available to meet the appetite of everyone! Will definitely recommend it, and whenever we'll return to Athens, Amalia will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,594 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing