We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms and good breakfast”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, in a great location close to most of the attractions of Athens. We were able to walk to the Parthenon, museums, Plaka, main shopping area. Nice rooms, clean with comfortable beds and well supplied. Breakfast was a buffet with a huge selection of quality food. Definitely the best on our trip. There are safes in the rooms too. Only issue was that there was an additional charge for the use of Wi-Fi or even to plug in. There was one computer in the lobby you could use for free but as you can imagine it was often busy.. One of the major tour operators begins all their tours from there so that was convenient too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 932Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

For starters, 2 days in Athens is more than enough. Outside of the Acropolis there is not much else to do. This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Acropolis, the tourist shops and the few other attractions worth seeing. The hotel is very modern and the staff is very helpful with questions and recommendations. One of our favorite things to do at night was to go to the top floor of the hotel which had a great view of the Acropolis. On our second night, there was a party on the roof which limited our access. The hotel manager saw us trying to take pictures from an empty corner and took us to an area for staff and gave us 2 chairs and a drink to sit and relax. We ended up sitting there for nearly an hour listening to the music from the party and enjoying the breathtaking sites. The breakfast buffet was also very nice. As an American I appreciated the fact that they had both American and classical Greek foods to eat. Overall, a very nice hotel with a great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tg174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have stayed with my wife at Amalia Hotel during July 2013. The staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is located on a very good region since it is centrally located close to shops, cafes, restaurants and many Athens attractions. The rooms are very big and clean with very good amenities. During our stay we had been upgraded to a deluxe room with view which was very nice.
Breakfast was delicious but bread could be more fresh.
I would recommend the hotel for sur

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This nice hotel is located right next to syntagma square - a short walking distance from all main attraction in Athens. The rooms are big and very clean, the staff is nice and helpful and the breakfast is great. I'm happy to recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzoni08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've stayed 4 times in one month (june, 2013). Clean, good breakfast, located on a very good region (a few minutes walking to the best touristic places). The control of the air conditioned does not work very well. DON´T HAVE free wi-fi (5,00 euros per day), just one computer without time control. Impossible to use.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glaucio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel doesnot have much character but its very centrally located in Syntagma Square within walking distance of all the main Athens attractions. The staff were helpful & friendly, service was good & the rooms had very good amenities. Very good value for the price

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel with a Staff that were so courteous. Loved that we could walk to the Plaka and it was also the pick up place for our Chat Tours.

I loved that they were saving on electricity by having the hall lights at low level only to brighten when the sensors detected humans in the halls.
The breakfast is grand and your simply couldn't ask for such fresh fare.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,887 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,796 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 281 in Athens
3,201 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $99 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing