We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exelent location”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel Amalia has great location on walking distance from all the major attractions in the city. . The rooms quit comfortable. The best thing is that even it is on very busy street ( Amalia ave) rooms are isolated perfectly so when you close the window you have sense that you are in very quit area. Breakfast buffet is commendable. Staff is kind and helpful . Unfortunately, it is very clean hotel, even carpet look somehow dirty. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sladja75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived in Athens Eleftherios Venizelos Intl Airport and took a direct train to Syntagma station. No hassle (except dragging your luggage to the train station; the alternative is paying for a taxi), buying a train ticket was easy enough though in Greek (remember to validate your tickets at the appropriate timings, otherwise you could get a fine).

Trip to Syntagma was about 43 mins and as in most (if not all of Europe) the trains leave on time. We got off at Syntagma, which serves as a transfer point to the Blue Line (Line 3) with the Red Line (Line 2). It also serves as a connection point to the Athens Tram.

Hotel Amalias was about less than 5 min walk away from the train station. Location-wise, this is about the most ideal, especially if you have heavy luggages to lug around and are not keen on switching trains. Attractions-wise, the National Gardens is directly opposite the Hotel, which our balcony opened to. Somewhere on the left of the Hotel (the other exit of Syntagma train station) is the House of Parliament, with the Tomb of the Unknown Solider where we caught a glimpse of the respect and salutations the two guards gave to their lost counterparts. Amalias is also within walking distance from the old Plaka neighbourhood, where we had some fabulous local dishes. Our first night at Tavernas Plaka saw us wolf down a plate of mousssaka, gyros and the fried calamari (they serve fantastic calamari all over Greece!), washed down with their local Mythos beer. And then, the stunner. Their complimentary chocolate ice-cream. My goodness, how heavenly it tasted. Probably the best chocolate ice-cream I have ever tasted (and looking at my size, I have tasted some good ones before).

Anyway, back to the attractions, and we took a short train ride to the Acropoli station where we begun our tour of the historical ruins. You could choose as well to walk from the Hotel.

Hotel room was decently furnished, modern in design. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the second floor (one that faces the road and the National Gardens); the rest face inwards or have no windows as I understand it to be. It was not at all noisy for us, the balcony doors were sound-proof. Breakfast is repeated on the two days we were there, but that's not to say it was shabby. Instead, you find a decent spread of the usual continental delights. Nothing great to shout about, but good enough to fill your stomach (and you should) before your walks or trips out to the sights.

Down-bit was really the WI-FI, which was chargeable. Wasn't a huge sum, but really, it's something you would expect in most hotels. If you need your hot water, you would have to get it at the café at level one. No major issues for us both, just a note to those whom these might be deal-breakers.

Room Tip: If your budget allows for it, choose a room facing the National Gardens. The tall trees out front ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizardskinned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was an outstanding week at Amalia Hotel memorable and wonderful holidays in Athens. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is located probably at the best location for tourists. The metro station is 3 minutes walking and 8 minutes walking at the main streets of Athens (Ermou,Monastiraki etc)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel location is perfect. Right in the middle of Athens. The rooms are good. Try to get a room on a higher floor and facing the park. Breakfast buffet is commendable. Very helpful staff. Walking distance from all the major attractions in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Amandeep_Mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It's a smart hotel that does not disappoint. Very friendly,helpful staff & a good breakfast. Easy walking to the Acropolis, food in Plaka & other attractions. Just down the road to Avis car hire when we left. Bar drinks expensive. What do expect in a 4 star hotel?

Room Tip: Look out for special deals. We stayed 3 nights for 117 euros per night. Not bad for the quality of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Amalia Hotel's location is perfect....central and close to all conveniences. The X95 bus from Athens airport stops at Syntagma Square and the hotel is literally just around the corner. From my room, I had a view of the National Park and the Parliament. Walking distance to the Syntagma metro station, Acropolis, Monastiraki, Plaka, etc. The hotel staff were very nice and welcoming and daily breakfast was very good. I'd stay at the Amalia the next time I visit Athens again.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the 5th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTVnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Its location is absolutely perfect. In the center of Athens. At Syntagma square, from where u can go everywhere by foot or by metro. Acropolis, Ermou street, Monastiraki, Plaka, Thiseio, Kolonaki(for shopping), Lycabetus and Omonoia square are nearby the hotel.
The rooms are big.
The breakfast is extremely good. "Greek mpougatsa" it's its attraction.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konstantinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $106 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing