We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Syntagma Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Syntagma Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Amalia Hotel's location is perfect....central and close to all conveniences. The X95 bus from Athens airport stops at Syntagma Square and the hotel is literally just around the corner. From my room, I had a view of the National Park and the Parliament. Walking distance to the Syntagma metro station, Acropolis, Monastiraki, Plaka, etc. The hotel staff were very nice and welcoming and daily breakfast was very good. I'd stay at the Amalia the next time I visit Athens again.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the 5th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTVnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    708
    107
    28
    11
See reviews for
314
773
99
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Its location is absolutely perfect. In the center of Athens. At Syntagma square, from where u can go everywhere by foot or by metro. Acropolis, Ermou street, Monastiraki, Plaka, Thiseio, Kolonaki(for shopping), Lycabetus and Omonoia square are nearby the hotel.
The rooms are big.
The breakfast is extremely good. "Greek mpougatsa" it's its attraction.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The only positive of this hotel is the outstanding location and proximity to the main attractions of Acropolis and the bus to the airport is just few steps away.

Besides that, hotel and service definitely not four star material.
- the rooms have really thin walls and gets quite noisy
- view opens out to the wall of the next door building inspite of having made a special pre request to have some good views. Not just a terrible view but no sunshine coming into the room as well. Makes for a dull start to the day and have never had such a dull dark room in all the travelling I've done
- I'd asked for a extra bed as offered as I was travelling with a 3 year old child. But they just put a cot in the room . A cot is definitely not the same as an extra bed. And if they didn't have the bed they should not have offered that. Cot is useless for a 3 year old so just returned that as meant she would just have to share bed with us
- however to top the bad start they had given a twin bed to a couple with a 3 year old child. So not helpful to sharing the bed with a child and made for a terrible 3 nights
- when I requested change to double room the receptionist says he can't do anything at all . Even when I asked if they could change it tomorrow as I'm sure somebody would check out of a double room tomorrow, the receptionist refuses to help and says I'd have to pick up tomorrow again directly with whoever was at the front desk that time . This irked me the most as how difficult is that request to manage for next day. Thus my comment that service is very unhelpful here
- breakfast was identical for all 4 days we stayed. Not even one dish changed right down to the spinach pie , cheese on tomato and desserts. Not a single change. Any other hotel I've stayed in typically changes atleast two or 3 dishes for variety
- also they don't even have a kettle or iron in the room. They mentioned security reasons which is the first I heard that excuse! Every decent hotel has that
- finally no free wi fi as well which is another underhand charging technique. Most hotels have that as complimentary
To sum up I will be returning to Athens but NOT this hotel. Not worth the money as compared to other four stars I've visited around the world

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramneet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival and and as the rooms were not available gave us ideas of how to fill in the waiting time. Nicely finished room although not large well equipped and comfortable with a good bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Amalia hotel for 4 nights/ 5 days between Christmas and New Year's Eve. Located in the centre of Athens, you have the chance to go everywhere you want on foot and enjoy the beautiful centre of Athens. In addition, you have the chance to take the metro and bus just outside the hotel to go straight to the airport. Hotel rooms was excellent and the staff was very friendly and polite. Breakfast was also very good. As a negative, I could say the small lobby area. Definitely I will be back again next time I will be in Athens

Room Tip: Try to book a room at 6th floor of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basinas-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights after a cruise from India we arrived a little early around 11.30am for our room, it was not available, that was Ok but when I asked what time it would be available and the receptioist shouted at me I had to request she did not shout, it was unnecessary

We booked a double/twin room, and were given a twin, the chambermaid said she could make it a double but we had to call reception, which we did but the man answering said it was their option whether we got a twin or double, after unnecessary problem creating from reception the chambermaid changed matteras to a double that she had spare on the same floor

Breakfast included was very good, in fact excellent many choices, greek yogurt , many dried fruits, eggs all styles, wonderful bacon and many choices of coffees, all first class

the location was very close fo Plaka and just across the square from Hotel Anglaise

Room Tip: Specify twin or double to ensure you get what you want not what suits hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Amalia Hotel May 4-5 and had a great experience. A highlight of the stay was attending a midnight Easter service in a nearby1,000 year old church. The hotel was easy to get to using public transportation--excellent location across from an extensive garden, a short walk from Syntagma square and within walking distance of the Acropolis. It was also handy to have the hop-on bus stop practically across from the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. There's a great view from the top floor of the Acropolis at night. After seeing some of the areas where the other hotels were located, I was glad we had chosen the Amalia. Not particularly elegant, but clean, comfortable and in a perfect location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank merikays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing