We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, not very friendly service”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Amalia's top asset is its very central location, right in front of the National Gardens and close to Syntagma Square. We got a room with a very nice view to the city, including the Parliament building and mount Lycabettus. Rooms are very large and comfortable. Breakfast is OK, nothing exceptional. Although the front desk officers were helpful when needed, they were not particularly friendly - looks like they are forbidden to smile, in a sharp contrast with my previous experiences in other hotels in Greece.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigriParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Amalia Hotel is located across the street from the National Park, is 1 block from the Parliament House and the changing of the guards and a short walk to the Acropolis Museum. Transportation is available from the front door of the hotel to all other Athens locations.
The hotel room was very clean; the bathroom was very nice and totally updated. We had a rooftop balcony room and were delighted to see the lovely lights of Athens each night.
The breakfast was extremely extensive and very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some balcony rooms fact the Acropolis--a great sight at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Last time in Athens I wanted to stay a bit closer to the city and Plaka.
We choose this one, good price , great location. It is not so cosy maybe, but a good bargain for the price we payed for the room. Walking distance to everything, easy access to the airport with the buses, a big plus!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went to this hotel for 3 nights in total direct from International Airport. Rooms very clean - beds extra large - a top breakfast. This hotel won't disappoint. Very close to Parliament House (watch those riots - but we didn't see any), easy walk to Syntagma Square Railway Station. Here is what you need to know. Arrive at Athens International Airport - follow signs to the Metro Station and get tickets to Syntagma Square Station. Will cost you approx 7 euros. Once at Station you will come up at Syntagma Square. Walk up towards Parliament House - turn right and go approx 1 block to Amalia. Also in area is a big McDonalds (for free WI-FI). For you coffee fix (Western style) - there is a Costa Coffee close by. From Amalia you can walk to most of Athens attractions. Also alot of tour companies will leave from Amalia - so if you want some tours - chances are they will pick-up from Amalia. I know Go Tours do. Good park opposite. We didn't see any political problems at all in Athens. The Amalia seems to be in a very good area. You will feel safe here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussie_1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel in mid-September and found it really nice. Our room wasn’t too big and the bathroom was tiny but both were clean and modern. The buffet breakfast was really good. The hotel is really close to any major attraction in Athens and the Plaka which has tons of places to eat, shop etc. It’s also 2 minutes from the Syntagma metro station that can take you straight to the airport. We had some weird things around our room that we weren’t informed about: the AC doesn’t work if the window is open and there were some switches that aren’t connected to anything and confused us at first. Other than that we had a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt face Amalias avenue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

So my boyfriend and I stayed in Athens for a couple of nights after spending a week by the sea eating Pitta Gyros and Cheese. On arrival we were informed that our room had been upgraded...whoop. We then had a problem with our first room but I can't complain because the staff swapped our room for one with a view of the Acropolis without any trouble.

The bed is huge and the room was clean spacious and so so decorated. Nothing to shout home about and I would describe it as a comfortable business hotel. No character about it and I was disappointed with the roof top "garden" and lack of pool to refresh.

Location, as other people have stated, is incredible. Acropolis/Plaka/Monesteraki are not to be missed (15 minute very slow paced walk). We walked everywhere and it is just by the Syntagma Metro station which is about a 45 trip to the airport. Oooo I should say the breakfasts are also great!

In conclusion- would I stay again? Yes- mainly for the location and on the basis that it's a decent comfortable hotel for a very reasonable price. I would however search for other comparison hotels before doing so. Enjoy Athens- it's a great city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hi
We spent some days in athens in this hotel end it was exelent.
Good location in the parlament sq - and the plaka ' akropolis ' ermu street for shoping
Metro is 100 m neer the hotel
Brekfast was very good!
The staff was helpfull!
The hotel was very very clean !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moshe1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,459 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $105 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing