We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small art gallery, lovely art”

Municipal Art Gallery
Ranked #155 of 349 things to do in Athens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Municipal Gallery of Athens is the principal public museum in Greece’s capital city. It houses a diverse collection of nearly 3,000 works from leading 19th and 20th Century artists.
London, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small art gallery, lovely art”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Free exhibition, lovely art. The gallery’s security guard said that on average, the gallery receives 6-7 visitors a day, which is sad because there were some really great pieces. The nearest metro station is Metaxourgeio.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“inspiring art, culture and more.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A beautiful building to house art. The paintings inside we're very vibrant and textural. (over 50 of them.) I would recommend this gallery to anyone visiting Athens. It is very close to the acropolis area and a nice break from ancient Greek art. The exhibits rotate every few months, so you can always expect something new. They have a collection of over 3,000 pieces to choose from. All of the artists are Greek and from the 19th and 20th century. The gallery is located in avidi square and close to cafe's. The area is historically and culturally rich.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lucas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exellent gallery, talanted painters”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was recommended to visit the gallery and did not regret it. The gallery is an alternative to huge museums, if you are looking for something local and special the gallery is for you.
I really liked the artist and her fresh approach. it is a pity not many people know about this special place. The gallery is conveniently located, nice and quiet place to feel the contemporary art.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Municipal Art Gallery”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

On my first trip to Athens I was pleasantly surprised by the neighborhood of Metaxourgeio and the Municipal Art Gallery was a gem there! The staff was very friendly and it was a diverse and well curated exhibit for the George Economou Collection. I will surely go back to see what's new next time I'm in town.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank mollyemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lots of potential in this gallery.”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I recently visited the Municipal Art Gallery in the progressive Metaxourgeio district. Unfortunately when I visited there was only one temporary exhibition open, and I couldn't see the permanent art that is housed there. The display that I did see is called "Design 2011" which is ongoing from December 2011 into January 2012, and it is based on ecology and modern technologies. On display are some very futuristic designs and quirky art works. The building itself is very comfortable with every modern facility available, and was heated on a cold day! It is worth going to Metaxourgeio when the gallery is fully open.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieMcGrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Municipal Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing