We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #112 of 325 Hotels in Athens
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel 29/10/13-03/11/13, the room is basic and cleaned daily...slight problem with the drains smelling in room 522 but other wise the Oscar is an ideal location for easy access to Athens centre.

If you want 5 star, book five star, the hotels breakfast is continental and basic, the rooms are comfortable and beds comfy.

It does not offer evening meals but operates orders for a local take away that you can eat in the roof top bar or in your room (we didn't try the food so can't say what it's like!)

Just a few seconds from the excellent Metro system, main line trains and taxi rank.

The staff are friendly and great with children, they are also very helpful

The area of Larissa boasts a few restaurants if you're willing to explore.

The swimming pool was still in operation and boasts great views of the Akropolis and Parthenon as well as Lykavittus Hill (think I spelt that right). The staff in the bar are friendly also wand serve a variety of drinks.

Room Tip: Travel into Akropolis via the Metro for a better selection of restaurants, keep your windows closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick_Boardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    175
    177
    46
    37
See reviews for
133
152
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

For the second year in a row I stayed in a single room on route from central Greece to Athens airport. The Oscar is perfect for such a journey due to it's location right next to Larissa train station. The room was clean and if a non smoking room is required, this should be specified before you arrive. The bed offers a comfortable sleeping experience and overall this hotel offered much value for the 40 euro a night fee for a single room. In addition, it's only a 10 min walk from Athens main museum and I was able to fit in a visit there before heading to the airport. The main downside is the breakfast is not of good quality and I would give that a miss to be honest. I have stayed here a few times over the years and it offers great value for money and I will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is across the street from the main railway station, so it is very convenient. However, the hallways and rooms smell of smoke and the breakfast is not very good. I would not recommend this hotel unless it was a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badger7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place looks good from the lobby and when you view online. The rooms were a nice size but there were bedbugs and the staff didnt even help with our bags. The breakfast offered in the morning is not edible. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetterjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We wanted to take a train to Meteora. Unfortunately, the train arrives around 11pm. So we booked the hotel right across from the train station. The price is really good. To our surprise, the hotel room is pretty comfortable with big bathroom, and with a shower curtain. We stayed in a more expensive hotels before. They did not have a shower curtain, and the bathrooms were tiny. The breakfast was just OK, not as good as the other one. But hey, for the price we paid, I have no complain. It is very close to the Metro station too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good location,near the metro station and a supermarket,friendly staff,clean room,the elevator was annoying :)) , the breakfast was ok and the bar on the roof was super and we don`t regret this choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I are currently staying here for four nights. This morning we woke up to ants all over our beds, floor, and bathroom and we are covered in bite marks. When we went down to reception to ask for a new room the guy did not even speak to us let alone offer an apology.

The hotel is situated close to the metro and opposite a supermarket. It's a long metro ride from Piraeus but easy enough on the metro.

I would never stay here again and if you value your hygiene I suggest you don't stay here.

Oh, and I'm writing this at breakfast because there is no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Missjasminerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#101 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
#124 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Property: Oscar Hotel
Address: 25 Filadelfias, Athens 104 39, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing