We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Price was Right and Centrally Located”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #112 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Southern Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Price was Right and Centrally Located”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here in June on an EF Tour with hoards of high school students. Noticed a wide range of rooms and functioning appliances like Air Conditioning. For example one room had a door that swung in to the bathroom and would hit the toilet before the door fully opened. Some rooms had AC that worked other just the fan from the AC worked. There are rooms with anywhere from 2-4 beds. This hotel seems to cater to the high school age tour groups. Multiple tour groups coming and going. This can be a concern as there is only one very small elevator to the upper floors. Take the stairs at your own risk. Very Narrow and the doors open out into the stairwell from the upper floors. If someone is opening the door about the time your reach the doorway, you could easily be knocked down the stairwell. The highlight of the hotel is the rooftop swimming pool. Beautiful views of the Acropolis at night. There is also a rooftop bar. The hotel is centrally located and the staff were hurried but helpful. Be sure to check out the little souvenir shop adjacent to the hotel. By the way, don't purchase the Wi-Fi, it works just fine in the Lobby!

Room Tip: Ask for and check room for operational AC is traveling in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTrail007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    180
    183
    49
    39
See reviews for
138
157
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Awful hotel , arrogant staff ,breakfast had been sitting in the trays since the Acropolis was built ,and the rooms needed a huge freshen up .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and rather large for European standards. However the food left something to be desired. We had prepaid dinners but wished we could eat somewhere else.

Additionally, the air conditioning was out for the length of our visit and the staff didn't really seem to care. It was a hot, sticky day for Athens and our kids were miserable. Staff didn't seem in a big hurry to try to get someone to fix it.

The roof top bar is nice, but they lock the pool at 8 p.m. just when you are returning from sightseeing and would want to cool off. Especially since the air was out. Additionally, with the pool locked you can not take advantage of the spectacular view of the Acropolis from the rooftop.

Hotel is located near a convenient Metro stop and local bakeries.

Frequented by large tour groups.

Room Tip: clean but TVs and refrigs don't work well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khgiblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here at the tail end of out trip in Greece. Decent hotel for exploring Athens as you are only a few stops from Syntagma Square.

Room was small, but acceptable. I had a balcony, but it only opened into an ugly part of the building.

Whomever built the stairs needs to get their head examined. The flight from the 1st floor to the 2nd floor is odd and the door/stair connection was even more odd. Elevators did not work properly all the time. If you asked to go to floor 3, you sometimes went to 3 other floors for no reason whatsoever.

The area around the hotel is relatively boring. There are better places to stay, but I liked this enough to stay here again. It had free Wifi in the lobby and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The Oscar hotel where we stayed in Athens for 3 nights was at the cheaper end of accommodation available. The taxi ride from the port brought us thru graffiti laden buildings (was there any building, window, perspex barrier, without graffiti?) and into a densely populated area of the Greek capital. The hotel was satisfactory. It was old and a bit tired but 100m from the excellent metro system that was cheap, always on time, safe and very clean. Our room was small with a tiny balcony, had a small fridge and TV. A swimming pool was located on the top floor and that afforded a view across to the Acropolis but unfortunately, this was chained off at night and the view was lost. Across the road was a supermarket and a few cafes were nearby. The staff were very helpful and stored our luggage for a couple of days while we were away on a tour. The airport was a long drive away across town and cost us around 42 euros-a lot more than we expected. The breakfast was satisfactory and the free WiFi appreciated.

Room Tip: Book early and ask to be above 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

oscar hotel
My family of 3 stayed here on april 21-25 room 41x and on 29-30 room 32x, both with balcony. Probably basic rooms since I was with my daughter's budget school tour.

1.check in- i cannot comment on it because i was in a group tour and the hotel checked in the group in a relatively quick time. There are two lobbies that you can use.

2.elevator= 2 very small one and could fit only 4 average size people rather tightly. if you have luggages, then it will fit only 2 people. beware! the 2 elevators are NOT double door types. The door that you open from the outside is the same door that you see on the inside. as the elevator moves up or down, you will see the stationary door moving. A bit of dangerous I think.
The elevator is rather quick. However, due to the volume of clients, the small size of the elevator, its seems always in use. another advise. When you call for the elevator and it stops on your floor, you had better be aware and pull the door open (opens like a regular door. It does not slide open sideways) or else the elevator will continue on its merry way. The same thing when you are inside; if the elevator stops at your door, you had better open it or the elevator,after a short pause, will continue on its way.

3, stairways- if you decide to walk up the spiral stair way, be aware that there is a hotel keycard operated door to the first floor. And it opens outward in your direction. so if you have luggages, you will find it an acrobatic act to open the door with a keycard, open it in your direction while making sure your luggages do not fall off the narrow spiral steps.

4. The rooms are a tad smaller than budget hotels in the US but not surprisingly small.
The bathroom measures approx. 6 by 7 feet. the towels, surprisingly, are of a decent size and thickness. not exactly fluffy though. there is a master cold and hot water valve on the left wall as you enter the bathroom. It has to be open or else there will be no hot water in the sink or the tub. Three small pieces of soap and tubes of shampoo were given everyday.
There is no electrical outlet of the bathroom. In my room on the 3rd floor, the height of the shower head was less than 5 ft. 3 inches. I had to literally duck under it to be under the shower. STRange that it was place so low.

5. There is no individual ac/heating control of the room. it seems like a centralized unit. You cannot determine if you want cold air or hot air to come out. Although we were there in April, our room was warm. The only way to cool it was to open the balcony door. Obviously we cannot sleep with the door open and the street noises (not too noisy though)coming in.

6. Electricals= Upon entering the our room on the left side is a keycard slot that turns on most of the electricals in the room including the heating/cooling fan. I checked it out and found that there are 4 electrical outlets in the room, 2 being used by the tv and fridge, one by the door to the room and one on the work table. The outlets use a round plug, I think the
4mm size. when you remove the keycard, all electricals including the fan (except the tv/fridge and work table outlet) are shut off. Note that this is not an electronic keycard slot. It is mechanical. You can plug any other card (like your driver's license) into it and the electricals will be turned on.

7. There was a balcony in our room. note that when you open the balcony door, the ac/heat fan turns off! I noted a magnetic switch found on the top of the door.

8. Computers- They have 3 machines in the lobby and wifi. you pay 90 minutes for 5 euros. you can log off and continue someother times to use up your 90 minutes. the card last for 30 days from first activation or until your time is up.

9. Around the area= a big Carrefour supermarket (first floor and basement) across the street supplies every essential you need. To the left of Carrefour is Saturn. The logo looks like the saturn car division of GM but is is actually 3 levels of electronics-tv, memory cards,radios, etc. including sim cards for vodafone, cosmote, and wind- the 3 telecom carriers here. My sim for cosmote cost 5 euro and I loaded it up with 20 euro worth of time. All taken from Saturn.
Saturn is accessed from the ground by as escalator to the first floor.

10. I cannot find the chinese laundry (or any laundry) in the vicinity. I ended washing the small stuff in the sink with laundry soap bought from carrefour. This laundry was mentioned in a prior review

11. Banks,atms= at the ground floor entrance to Saturn is a Citibank atm.
if you exit oscar hotel and turn left, you will reach the entrance to larissa metro in about 40 meters. go underground to cross to the other side ( better than trying to cross the major street
above) you will come out to the regular train station. this is different from the metro. there are 2 atms here.an emporiki bank branch with an atm and a eurobank atm.
There is a National Bank of Greece atm right inside the Larissa metro station next to the metro ticket vending machines. I used it twice as I found the area safe. You are in the view of a transit worker in an office.

12, when you exit oscar and make a left, then another left on the first cross street, you will find an internet cafe and to the end of the next block you will find a bakery. i did not try both of these. i walked around the oscar hotel area and with a few blocks there are quite a few internet cafes but no laundry!

13. Breakfast was not bad= sausage,scrambled and cold hard boiled eggs, bacon, bread,crossant, jam jelly, coffee, tea cereals and juice. But it gets boring after a few mornings. Breakfast hours- I think it was from 630-830 a.m.

When I checked the internet price for the dates I was staying it was USD 85 for a single and 110 for a triple. I checked this via Expedia in February. Would I stay there again? Good question. Everything is convenient and the price, if booked early, is reasonable. A nearby supermarket, electronics store, metro, atms etc. The only thing missing is a laundromat. The big question is the heating/cooling system and your lack of control over it. NO thermostat. Just a a fan speed controller.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigwawao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a two week trip with gate 1. Do yourself a favor and upgrade your rooms... Trust me its worth it! This place was close to the metro but the area around it was very seedy. The rooms very poorly lit, old carpet and dirty feeling. There was a pool in the top floor that was great. You could have a drink and see the acropolis from the roof. If you are on a tight budget, its fine but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curbanfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#99 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Candia Hotel
Best Western Candia Hotel
#127 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#56 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#86 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Property: Oscar Hotel
Address: 25 Filadelfias, Athens 104 39, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing