We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW its the little touches that make this place great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #56 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

After 13 days traveling around Greece including a 7 day cruise this hotel was a nice ending to an otherwise tiring but still fantastic trip.

We had heard from others in our group that this hotel was great so we moved from the Acropol to here.

Arriving at the hotel and entering into the lobby was an experience and I mean a grand one as there was a lot of empty space, floors of marble (of course in Greece everything is made with marble - its like us in Canada using wood), big chandeliers and a whole bank of elevators that never took much time to get you to whichever floor you needed (plus big enough for more than two people)

Check-in was a breeze (we all were on the 2nd floor) the room had two twin beds and oh my I didn't have to turn the power on! The room had a big window that opened, plus a bar fridge, closets that lit up when you opened them, and a tv (found only one channel in English though showing old episodes of 90210 with Greek subtitles). The bathroom was huge that had a big enough to lie down in tub, hand held shower, standard sink and toilet (dual flow).

This hotel has a top floor with a pool and let me tell you that was a welcome amenity to have especially with the 40 Celsius temperatures in Athens. There is part of the area covered overhead with nice chairs to relax in underneath. The walls are glass with a good view of the Acropolis in the distance, and a bar with the most attentive bartender I've seen - who brought each guest upon arrival a nice glass of water with either mint or small pieces of strawberry in each glass. I dont believe the pool was heated but then again who cares it was so nice to be in.

Breakfast apparently had changed style and location within the hotel from the time the other guests described it to us (this being while we were on our coach tour) to when we ended our trip there but it was still great.

Lots of fresh fruit, real fresh squeezed orange juice (not sure why but the other hotels we had been in liked the stuff tasting like tang). Eggs were fried in the style that I liked but others may not (sunny side up), bacon not quite crispy but still edible, fancy jams, breads, German cakes, scrambled eggs of two styles, baked tomatoes, fried mushrooms - and Im sure I missed something.

This hotel is also close enough to the metro station Evangelismos (highly recommend the subway system 1 Euro to almost anywhere in Athens).

Now should you leave in the morning and then return in the afternoon you will find the room all clean and tidy.
Should you leave again and return later that night you will find that the turn down pixies have invaded your room and placed a floor mat (inscribed with Bon Nuit) near each of the beds, a chocolate wrapped in a pink box on your pillow (quite yummy) and your bed covers turned down all ready for you to slip into for a nights sleep.

Like I said its the little touches that really made staying at this hotel quite the experience!

Bon Nuit!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

Excellent hotel for business purposes. the location is near the center of Athens but also close to the exit of Athens to other major suburbans. It has all the business facilities and it is very clean

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We thought about one of the famous hotels in the main square for our three day stay but finally decided on the Divani Caravel which is a 20 minute walk away from the main square. There is a free hotel shuttle bus that goes about every hour to the centre. We were there in April before the main tourist season and the hotel was very quiet and the front desk and restaurant service was excellent, as was the food. The first room we were given at the back faced out onto other buildings and we asked for a room on the front and they happily obliged. Good sized rooms for a European city hotel, although a little tired but clean. The rooftop bar area was out of season while we were there. There was coffee and tea in the room. "Best Hotels of the World" category? Maybe not.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajero20091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I am just wondering. Is this hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World? They must be jokking!!! No way. Bad service, unpolite staff, dirty rooms, definitely not a Leading Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxmichael87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

For the money conscience people there are lots of reasonable priced places to eat just around the corner. A small park is a great place to sit and watch the people as they go about their lives.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I spent three nights at this lovely hotel before visiting family on one of the islands. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Divani Caravel Hotel. The service, quality of food, linens and towels were excellent. The staff was very friendly and the location of the hotel is very central - within walking distance to museums, embassies and Syntagma Square. This is a very well run hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Managed to secure a good christmas rate direct with the hotel ($130 b/b).
Large well maitained hotel half a kilometre from syntagma square.
A short walk takes you to all major sites
safest area of the city
wonderful breakfasts
helpful staff and reception
courtesy bus to syntagma
expensive spa! but athens prices have rocketed
clientel are monied and older
very comfotable rooms with turndown service
large and spacious lobby
non smoking rooms available
if any other info on athens is required please feel free to contact (other hotels/clubs restaurants etc)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank loppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#65 of 282 in Athens
1,696 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
#33 Family Hotel in Athens
#35 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $142 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing