We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #55 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed last week after many months. Although a big hotel the staff have a caring attitude particularly to regular visitors. I always stay her in summer because the roof top pool area provides a couple of hours of sunbathing swimming before heading out for dinner. Rooms are immaculate with excellent AC for both a stay or for working in the room. The door staff organize parking of our vehicle and get it ready for leaving in the morning. The buffet breakfast has a choice for everyone and the quality is good..Drinks in the bars are on the high side price-wise which does encourage you to head to a local bar round the corner.. As a hotel it is great and the staff really care about their guests.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the front are quiter and have Acropolis views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellasJRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice hotel, amazing rooftop with very nice pool. good for a swim after a day sightseeing. hotel is a distance from plaka which is a disadvantage.

If you do stay here check out the local dining at oroscopo just to the right of the hotel as you face it. Great food and good value also a couple of good places for breakfast here too.

We had a family suite and rooms were a good size. Hotel bar prices are steep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boscombe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed recently for business conference. Had free wifi and breakfast buffet included in price. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Found staff to be very helpful. Hotel location is just a bit far from Plaka for our taste but the free shuttle service to Syntagma Square helped. Only problem was the last pick up from square back to hotel was around 5:30 pm. Taxi's are very reasonable in Athens so we would take shuttle to square, spend the day and if we stayed later we took taxi back. View from rooftop pool area is beautiful but we were asked to leave at 8:30 pm because they were closing. It would be nice to spend some evening time with a nice glass of wine enjoying the views after 8:30 since it does not get dark until around 9 pm. The hotel is the perfect business hotel and for the price was just fine but I would prefer to be closer to the Plaka area. we did eat at one of the restaurants just around the corner from the hotel entrance and it was good. No complaints and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat4152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A modern hotel with all you need from a business hotel, with a classic decor, an incredibly kind service, and a suprise at the top floor. Together with a Spa, a swimming pool, conference rooms, and all those things, there is a roof garden with a fantastic view of Athens, all the way to the sea at Pireas. But, in the foreground, you have the Acropolis, and that's something unforgettable.

Room Tip: the street in fron is very busy, so rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning and end of a tour throughout Greece. Here's a tip, if you book a night outside of your tour you will most likely get wifi included, whereas other members of our tour group came in a night later than us and did not have wifi included in their stay. It is also much cheaper to book any pre or post nights yourself instead of through your tour company. The breakfast and dinner are very good. If you're an American you will get very close to your traditional breakfast offerings here like fried eggs, omelets, and even smoked salmon on the buffet. Be aware that most of the scrambled eggs in Greece are cooked in oil and look very horribly soggy, therefore we avoided that at every hotel on this trip. The service is good, just remember you're in Europe and your requests go further when you politely clarify your request and don't sound annoyed or complaining. You're less than a 5 minute walk to the Evangelismos metro station which is only a few stops from Syntagma square, Monastiraki, and an easy transfer towards the Acropolis for sightseeing. Many good dining options one block away include Oroscopo and Elleniko (I think this is the name-very friendly service!) next to Oroscopo, also Palmie Bistro all have outdoor seating.

Room Tip: We followed other trip advisor recommendations and requested a room with a view facing the Acropolis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianemdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room was ok, it looked clean and had everything that you need in a hotel room. Decoration is also pleasant and size of the room ok. Staff was not particularly friendly. There is no ironing board in the room and no way to get it if you are not on executive floor. As I returned late and had to leave early in the morning, they failed to offer any solution, because laundry department was closed. Breakfast is usual, nothing fancy but ok.
If you want to use wifi be ready to pay 5 euro per hour. If you want to use gym 12 euro.
I have been there for a conference at the special price, if I had to pay full price, I would never stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor is for smokers. Even if you won't smoke in your room, it will smell like ashtray if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunfloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us

We are sorry to read that your stay was not as memorable as we would like it to be. Unfortunately ironing board is only available at the executive floor while Laundry has specific hours of operation.

In reference to the way you feel about some of our prices being high, kindly please note that these are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens. However, your input has been taken into consideration.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in one of our properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A grand traditional building with enormous lobby. One of the leading hotels in Athens but in common with some of its competitors, a bit out of touch with today's customer needs. Service is excellent but forget about buying a drink at the bar. €22 for a scotch whisky, a fresh orange juice and a couple of glasses of water! With these prices the management is telling its customers to eat and drink elsewhere.
One minutes' walk from the hotel is a good selection of taverna style restaurants, one of which at least had excellent food and wine at sensible prices. This possibly explained why the hotel bar and restaurants seemed empty all the time.
My room was comfortable and reasonably quiet but the air conditioning was noisy. It was also automatically switched off between midnight and 6am presumably to save electricity. I would not be surprised at this practice in a 2 Star but do not expect to have the option of A/C denied me in a top hotel.
The shower in my room was combined with the bath. Poor design ensured a 10mm gap between the glass shower shield and the wall which resulted in a flooded floor every time.
In apparent Athenian tradition soap was rationed to one tiny bar. However, the tissue box was full by way of compensation. Wifi was chargeable but fast. Hook-type coat hangers with trouser clips in the wardrobe earned another plus point.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#67 of 281 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Hilton Athens
#18 of 281 in Athens
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $125 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing