We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A roof garden with a view on the Acropolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divani Caravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Divani Caravel Hotel to your Saves list
Divani Caravel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #50 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A roof garden with a view on the Acropolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A modern hotel with all you need from a business hotel, with a classic decor, an incredibly kind service, and a suprise at the top floor. Together with a Spa, a swimming pool, conference rooms, and all those things, there is a roof garden with a fantastic view of Athens, all the way to the sea at Pireas. But, in the foreground, you have the Acropolis, and that's something unforgettable.

Room Tip: the street in fron is very busy, so rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    374
    190
    57
    20
See reviews for
147
248
47
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning and end of a tour throughout Greece. Here's a tip, if you book a night outside of your tour you will most likely get wifi included, whereas other members of our tour group came in a night later than us and did not have wifi included in their stay. It is also much cheaper to book any pre or post nights yourself instead of through your tour company. The breakfast and dinner are very good. If you're an American you will get very close to your traditional breakfast offerings here like fried eggs, omelets, and even smoked salmon on the buffet. Be aware that most of the scrambled eggs in Greece are cooked in oil and look very horribly soggy, therefore we avoided that at every hotel on this trip. The service is good, just remember you're in Europe and your requests go further when you politely clarify your request and don't sound annoyed or complaining. You're less than a 5 minute walk to the Evangelismos metro station which is only a few stops from Syntagma square, Monastiraki, and an easy transfer towards the Acropolis for sightseeing. Many good dining options one block away include Oroscopo and Elleniko (I think this is the name-very friendly service!) next to Oroscopo, also Palmie Bistro all have outdoor seating.

Room Tip: We followed other trip advisor recommendations and requested a room with a view facing the Acropolis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianemdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room was ok, it looked clean and had everything that you need in a hotel room. Decoration is also pleasant and size of the room ok. Staff was not particularly friendly. There is no ironing board in the room and no way to get it if you are not on executive floor. As I returned late and had to leave early in the morning, they failed to offer any solution, because laundry department was closed. Breakfast is usual, nothing fancy but ok.
If you want to use wifi be ready to pay 5 euro per hour. If you want to use gym 12 euro.
I have been there for a conference at the special price, if I had to pay full price, I would never stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor is for smokers. Even if you won't smoke in your room, it will smell like ashtray if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunfloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us

We are sorry to read that your stay was not as memorable as we would like it to be. Unfortunately ironing board is only available at the executive floor while Laundry has specific hours of operation.

In reference to the way you feel about some of our prices being high, kindly please note that these are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens. However, your input has been taken into consideration.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in one of our properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A grand traditional building with enormous lobby. One of the leading hotels in Athens but in common with some of its competitors, a bit out of touch with today's customer needs. Service is excellent but forget about buying a drink at the bar. €22 for a scotch whisky, a fresh orange juice and a couple of glasses of water! With these prices the management is telling its customers to eat and drink elsewhere.
One minutes' walk from the hotel is a good selection of taverna style restaurants, one of which at least had excellent food and wine at sensible prices. This possibly explained why the hotel bar and restaurants seemed empty all the time.
My room was comfortable and reasonably quiet but the air conditioning was noisy. It was also automatically switched off between midnight and 6am presumably to save electricity. I would not be surprised at this practice in a 2 Star but do not expect to have the option of A/C denied me in a top hotel.
The shower in my room was combined with the bath. Poor design ensured a 10mm gap between the glass shower shield and the wall which resulted in a flooded floor every time.
In apparent Athenian tradition soap was rationed to one tiny bar. However, the tissue box was full by way of compensation. Wifi was chargeable but fast. Hook-type coat hangers with trouser clips in the wardrobe earned another plus point.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a buisness trip. It is a slightly dated and expensive hotel but the room was a reasonable size, very comfortable and an air conditioning system that was effective and almost silent. However, I was very impressed with the quality of the service I received from every member of staff I had contact without exception. All were helpful, friendly and kind with with good practical advice. The location is good with easy access to the metro system and only a 20 minute walk to the old city and and main shopping centre. The combination of the location, efficiency of the service and the legendary Greek hospitality makes this a hotel I will consider again next time I am back in Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
479 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Insight tour package for being an "upscale" property. The hotel fees are outrageous and here's the latest one that needs to be shared with the general public. We had a very early flight out of the Athens airport and wanted to print out my boarding passes.

They charge 5 euros to use the computer and 1 euro per page (multi-segment trip of course).

Divani - I am your customer! What are you thinking? - Shame on you! This fee is totally unacceptable and I want a refund!

Other fees - 12 euros for health club. I was afraid to do anything else in the hotel because of the fees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the main boulevard. Other rooms look out on ugly side streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicago90Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki , greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights . All the services are overpriced. The wifi connection is charged even for the customers of the hotel !!! Room service is unacceptably overpriced too , and offers you nothing special.Its not acceptable for a 5* hotel to serve stale cookies with a capuccino ,for example. The staff is not so friendly but as another traveller stated , acts like " Bad Monday" . The room was clean , with plenty of light ,comfy beds and nicely made every day.The location is nice for a tourist , as there are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars around and is just a few minutes away the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thessaloniki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#64 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#23 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 2,804 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,384 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#54 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (40 suites and 2 presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing