We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view of the Acropolis from the rooftop pool and bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #48 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best view of the Acropolis from the rooftop pool and bar”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A very comfortable hotel. The reception area is beautiful. The rooms were very clean, the beds and linens were excellent. The breakfast buffet was very good. The best kept secret is the rooftop pool and bar. Had the best view of the Acropolis, and Athens. Drinks were rather pricey, but I guess you are paying for the view. The hotel is conveniently located by some great restaurants. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBennett79109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed and were very satisfied with your recent stay at Divani Caravel.

Your warm input regarding the services we offer, and the facilities have been shared with our staff

We are looking forward to welcome you once again at Divani Caravel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    468
    227
    72
    26
See reviews for
197
314
60
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We got this hotel for one night for well under 200 Euros (we called them to negotiate & our rate did not include breakfast). At this price we were quite pleased for the accomodations provided. This Hotel is not near the old part of town, it is away from the real touristy areas.The room was very comfortable, the bed, linens etc of high quality. The bathroom was well appointed, even if the narrow slippery tub, the single glass door tub enclosure and the high water pressure in the hand shower made for an interesting shower experience (we got the hang of it after a few minutes). The interiors of hallways and such were on the plush side, it was all rather high end....courtesy soaps, shampoos,shaving and sewing kit, slippers, etc...mini bar, 24 hour room service etc. We found the staff attentive and helpful. I am not convinced that 5 stars in Greece would translate to 5 stars in NYC or London, so I will just say that if you need better accomodations than this you need to find out where the royals or celebs stay.
The view from the roof, near the pool is spectacular. You feel perched above the city, looking down upon the Acropolis. We thought the view grand enough to invite other tourist friends who were staying elsewhere to join us...too bad the bar closes at 630p.....if we'd been able to have a few drinks we might have spent a few hours there, watching the sunset and basking in the wonders of Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hojney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

We were satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience with us was a positive one.

Your warm input about the decoration of the room and the service of the hotel has been communicated to our staff and is greatly appreciated

it will be a pleasure to welcome you again to one of our properties in Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The price of the hotel of course is quite good (which might be due to the corporate contract my company has). Nevertheless these were the things that quite annoyed me. Arriving at 1AM in the morning you want everything to go smooth.

FrontDesk did not have the means to make a copy of my passport for registration so fill it out myself...
Room number was not indicated to return to front desk
Room door did not open with the key (green light went on but the mechanism did not open). This was solved by a very special way of pressing the leaver --- is this really what you should expect ?
Room is good, AirCo good and silent, Bathroom gets flooded when you take a shower....

Good:
Clean, Rate, Location, FREE WIFI !!!!

Bad:
Not up to standard, needs rennovation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for having chosen Divani Caravel for your stay

We were satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience with us was good ( as far as cleanliness, pricing, location and free WiFi is concerned)

Your comments about your check in and the problems with the room have been communicated with the Front Office Manager

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Perfectly located a bit outside of the ancient center of Athens. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Nice roof top pool & relaxing area with fantastic 360 degree view of the city. Excellent service and experience for what we paid, make sure you'll get a deal including breakfast. Would also use it for a holiday get-away with the family.

Room Tip: view to Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wailea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your experience in our property.

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and the facilities and services offered.

Your comments have been shared with our team and they are greatly appreciated

Hope to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff, who even remember your name. Room was spacious and very clean, and the fittings were of good quality. Breakfast was too expensive, but otherwise the hotel was very good value. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at Divani Caravel

Your comments are highly motivating and have been shared with our staff

We hope to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We travelled in August to Athens . From the moment we stepped through the door the staff were friendly, attentive and extremely professional. Every detail was covered and they were happy to advise on ways of getting round Athens with two children and gave helpful tips for restaurants etc...nothing was too much trouble. The same level of attention to detail was evident in the restaurant. We booked a b and b deal direct with the hotel ( a good saving) . Our room was upgraded too suite on arrival so the children had their own space. The rooftop pool was often deserted and was very welcome after a day of sightseeing in the intense heat. Although it is a business hotel they were so welcoming to us and made a fuss of the children at every opportunity .
We were even able to extend our room for a late check out at no extra cost. Nothing was too much trouble ... Highly reccomended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is very satisfying that you enjoyed your experience with us and the services of our staff. Your comments have been shared with our staff and they are highly appreciated

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in one of our properties in Greece

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Huge business style hotel in a good area in Athens. Although a bit out of fashion, we took a cheap offer and also were upgraded to a superior room which was great.

There is a metro station 10 minutes walk which is 2 stops from Syntagma Square.

Next to the hotel there is a small park full of restaurants and bars which are quite ok to have a bite or have breakfast if you don't want to pay 27 euro for the buffet...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klausnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Hilton Athens
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#70 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#29 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing