We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star But Still Very Well Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divani Palace Acropolis
Ranked #65 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We are leaving today after spending 3 nights here. We were a bit disappointed when we first walked into our room but after settling in realized that although our room was outdated it was spotless and large enough for the both of us and our luggage. We faced the swimming pool which seemed to be in the shade as there were high buildings surrounding it which was why we only saw one person in it all the times we looked down from the very small balcony which you could not put two chairs on to enjoy an evening drink. These two reasons are the only reason I give it a 4 star. The plus side is the location as everyone has stated before. Within walking distance to everything. There is a small variety store across the street which sells water, beer, pop, snacks, hygiene essentials etc. We watched TV one night and were happy to see three channels had English speaking movies on which had subtitles in Greek. The employees at the hotel are very helpful and patient with all their customers. The breakfast was plentiful and quite the variety. For the price we paid we certainly got our money worth. The rooftop restaurant is lovely. We only had two beers there but after visiting other restaurants the previous days found the price quite high. I am sure if we paid higher we would have had a nicer room in the newer tower but am still very pleased of what I received the last three nights. I would definitely come back to Athens and definitely stay here. Very safe and clean area. I almost forgot, great wifi and free in room. That's definitely a plus

Room Tip: Try to get higher room in back of building. Quieter than facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilshd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Divani Palace Acropolis with Tripadvisor

We are glad to read that your stay with us was a memorable one

Your comments have been shared with our staff and we are looking into problematic areas that you mention

We are looking forward to welcome you back

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great, affordable hotel in the shadow of the Acropolis. No complaints at all! Great variety at breakfast buffet every moring, had a view of the lighted Acropolis from our balcony. Even better: drinks on the exclusive rooftop restaurant! Once-in-a-lifetime. Very near (walking distance to downtown) very SAFE, I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Dear Guest

What a great review! We can't thank you enough!

Your comments have been shared with our staff and are greatly appreciated

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our property during your next visit to Athens

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I spent one night at the Divani Palace Hotel in July passing through from the islands to France. My Greek friend recommended it as a perfect place to meet up, have diner and enjoy the spectacular view from their fabulous roof-top restaurant.
The hotel is in a central location close to the Acropolis. The lobby is spacious and modern and the staff are highly professional. There is a bar which opens out to a swimming pool where one can order cocktails and casual snacks/meals. The pool closes for a few hours during the afternoon so as not to disturb guests during siesta.
I booked a double room with a balcony and after the nice entrance to the hotel, I was disappointed with the room. It was very tired indeed and in major need of refurbishment. The door to the balcony wouldn't open which was probably a good thing as it was nothing more than a concrete rectangle. Very unappealing. The bed was hard and lumpy as were the pillows but the bathroom was clean and modern with a good shower/bath and nice products.
The piece de resistance was indeed the rooftop restaurant which adjoined a large
indoor restaurant. The view of the Acropolis lit up at night was breathtaking! The food and service were excellent.
When they get around to refurbishing their rooms this will be a fabulous 5 star hotel, but it's not at the moment.

Room Tip: Since the rooms this hotel needs refurbishment I would spend the extra money to get one of their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCMcM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location with amazing views and easy access to just about anywhere you might want to visit. The problem is that it is in need (no badly in need) of being updated. The rooms are dated, the beds too soft and the bathrooms date back 20 years. The prices are not bad, the staff is quite nice and very helpful. Also, a gym or exercise room might be a good addition, during the renovations that I hope are coming soon. I will also note that during our stay, the Wi-Fi, which is free, worked very well throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here ask for a room on a high floor with direct views of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

In terms of location, this place is ideal but if you are looking for a 5 star hotel experience, you are going to be quite disappointed. Staff was certainly courteous and helpful and the lobby, at first glance, is impressive, but it soon becomes quite clear that this hotel has seen better days. Peeling paint and mold in the bathroom, along with fraying bath mats were just some signs of the deterioration this hotel has suffered. Fortunately, we were more interested in location and along with the discounted rates we got, this place served us fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boxelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very near the Parthenon, which you can see in its floodlit splendour at night from the Roof Garden restaurant. This restaurant is exceedingly posh but the food is wonderful and the prices not very high. We could see the Parthenon from our room windows too. Very close to the Smile restaurant, to local amenities, pubic transport, important landmarks. The wifi was very good. Pool a bit small and a bit cold, but what can you expect in the middle of the city? It was surprisingly quiet at night, given its central location. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my family in adjoining executive rooms. The hotel was recommended to me by an Athens resident because of its excellent location. The location is brilliant. All sites are in walking distance and the immediate area is quiet / residential.

The Divani is not a real 5* hotel. Frankly that was clear from the room rates - you get what you pay for. In my view it's really 3 1/2. Rooms were well equipt, clean and cool (given is was 39 outside!). They are also small we heard a lot of noise from the furniture scraping elephants staying upstairs.

The hotel facilities are solid but basic. The pool is a disappointment (tiny with pigeons and mosquitos.) with 20 people poolside it's totally packed out. The breakfast was free (about the best I could say for it). The rooftop restaurant has a stunning view - and cost double the next most expensive meal we had in Athens (which also has an acropolis view).

So why 4 stars. For a short touristic break in Athens the location (for the price) just cannot be beaten. I would recommend this hotel to friends on this is basis. Just do not expect a Palace!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#66 of 282 in Athens
3,289 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#55 of 282 in Athens
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Palace Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Palace Acropolis

Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#44 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $142 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Palace Acropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divani Palace Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Acropolis Hotel Athens
Divani Acropolis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing