We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great but rest OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divani Palace Acropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Divani Palace Acropolis
Ranked #67 of 333 Hotels in Athens
BigginsBoy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location great but rest OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my family in adjoining executive rooms. The hotel was recommended to me by an Athens resident because of its excellent location. The location is brilliant. All sites are in walking distance and the immediate area is quiet / residential.

The Divani is not a real 5* hotel. Frankly that was clear from the room rates - you get what you pay for. In my view it's really 3 1/2. Rooms were well equipt, clean and cool (given is was 39 outside!). They are also small we heard a lot of noise from the furniture scraping elephants staying upstairs.

The hotel facilities are solid but basic. The pool is a disappointment (tiny with pigeons and mosquitos.) with 20 people poolside it's totally packed out. The breakfast was free (about the best I could say for it). The rooftop restaurant has a stunning view - and cost double the next most expensive meal we had in Athens (which also has an acropolis view).

So why 4 stars. For a short touristic break in Athens the location (for the price) just cannot be beaten. I would recommend this hotel to friends on this is basis. Just do not expect a Palace!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    611
    309
    91
    46
See reviews for
330
539
67
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
389 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location is quite good but in terms of certain areas of the hotel the rooms need improving .Love the interiors of room we were staying .Be sure get some with views Acropolis .The hotel is walking distance Acropolis and museum

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is located in a very good area and reachable to everywhere. The hop on hop off bus passes just 2 minutes walk away. Acropolis is 5 mins away and even the acrolpolis museum. Plaka centre restaurants and shops are ll just round the corner. Over all the hotel is very clean but the breakfast was not worth eur20 we found it better to go in a coffee shop just few steps away and with eur5 for 2 persons will be more than satisfied. from our room we could hear everything that was going around in the corridors, and tv satellite showed only greek films and bbc news. Some reception staff weren t friendly at all and never put a nice smile of welcome.... and last point, could be by mistake but it happened that after a day cruise coming back to hotel at 9 we found our room still upside down with no towels to dry and after a day out the first thing is to take a shower and rest.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenSaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

this is quite a dated hotel but no more dated than other athens hotel and the location is perfect, right next to the acropolis, it is fine for a few days, buffet breakfast had lots of choice but not that great in terms of quality. We made a mistake in our booking and booked the wrong dates - they were not able to accomodate in a family room but gave us two rooms for the same price, really kind of them given it was my error - would recomend this hotel no problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetteandlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

After 6 hours on a steamy hot ferry and a fine hour in the subway the Divani is an oasis to jump in.
Friendly receptionists, nice clean rooms (from our room no Acropolis view but with 38 degrees outside, who bothers to sit on the balcony) and a very good breakfast. Nearby the beautiful Acroplis musseum as well the pedestrian under the Acropolis. Safe neighbourhood at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemieke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A very good, comfortable and clean hotel with all the amenities and perfectly located. The rooms are comfortable, well-appointed, clean and spacious (by European standards). The hotel in the old historic part of Athens with small narrow roads, allows for easy and quick access to the Acropolis and Plaka; and provides easy access to Trams and Metro, all a short walk away.
I loved the rooftop restaurant with a view of the Acropolis.

Room Tip: Get a room that is higher up with a veiw of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I spent two nights here pre a cruise if the Greek Islands in July.
It's an OK place to stay. We had an upgrade to an Executive Room with a "view" of the Acropolis. Hmm. The room was comfortable enough, good size bed, well stocked mini bar, small but functional balcony. The "view of the Acropolis" was across a lot of rooftops and tv ariels, if I angled my neck appropriately. The view from the hotel is of the back of the Acropolis.

The rooftop restaurant is lovely, good food, great service, view of the Acropolis.

This hotel is used by a lot of organised groups, package holidays, schools etc.

It's well situated for the Plaka, only about a five minute walk away, and the new Museum of the Acropolis.

So it's an OK tourist hotel, you will get good service and you are well positioned for sight-seeing. Which is probably all you will want to do in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strawbuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Royal Olympic Hotel
#59 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#47 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Palace Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Palace Acropolis

Property: Divani Palace Acropolis
Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Palace Acropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Divani Palace Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Divani Acropolis Hotel
Acropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing