We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUXURY UNDER ACROPOLIS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divani Palace Acropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Divani Palace Acropolis
Ranked #66 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LUXURY UNDER ACROPOLIS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was my first time staying at this hotel in Athens, although my wife stayed there once again last year. We travellend in Athens for the weekend, combing some business meetings and some night life in Athens with our local friends. We had booked the reservation via internet, and the price was really an offer (but the prices for goods in mini bar service are expensive). We were given a room in the 4th floor, which was nice, clean, well decorated, but not very spacious. It was important for us though, that we had a terrific view of Acropolis, and were at a walking distance from Parthenon and the Acropolis Museum.
Since it is a 5 star hotel, we have to mention that we fould somehow annoying the fact that our bathroom door needed to be repaired the soonest possible, as small pieces of paint and wood were almost falling off. When walking in the corridor towards the lift in the 4th floor, I noticed that other doors were in the same bad condition.
Having been served in several parts of the hotel (reception, lobby bar, etc) we admit that all staff were very friedly, smiling and eager to help, so we were served very well.
When we visit Athens next time, I believe this hotel will be again our first choice for accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with an Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRANICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    612
    309
    91
    46
See reviews for
330
540
67
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Excellent location, only minutes to the Acropolis. Restaurants and shopping close by and the hotel itself is first rate. We had a great modern room, the hotel restaurant was great and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICKY1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

If it's location, location, location that matters, the Divani has it. Two blocks from the Acropolis, with a roof garden to enjoy the lit-up parthenon at night. The hotel is beautiful, everything is marble. We had a very long and deep tub in our bathroom that was heavenly. The breakfast was a feast, with every imaginable goody available. And the service was excellent--when I accidentally hung up on my wake-up call, a bellman came up and knocked on my door to make sure I got the message.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMama8547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

It's now the second time I am in this hotel.
I only went there for business and will keep going to this hotel for my next visits.
It's a very well located hotel, just a few 100m from the acropolis, so it's very handy to go for a walk when you don't have much time.
The rooms are excellent and beds very confortable. There is a balcony for each room.
There is even a small pool at the ground floor.
To make it perfect I would just need a gym (just small).
The sercive and staff are very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Pros - location, location, location! Absolutely fantastic spot - walking distance to the Acropolis, 2 subway stops, and loads of terrific restaurants.
Cons - we got stuck in one of the old rooms that looks like it was last touched in 1971. Bed as hard as a rock, hard and lumpy pillows, stained bed cover, chipped paint on the walls, stained carpet, old TV. It wasn't until our last day there that we stumbled upon the renovated wing which looks like it is from a totally different hotel (and may indeed deserve a much higher rating). The dining room for breakfast is a bleak affair in the basement of the hotel. The food is below average.

Room Tip: Be sure to demand a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank agasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Divani Palace Acropolis

We are sorry to hear that your stay here was not as memorable as we would like it to be

It is in our future plans to proceed with a refurbishment of the old wing as well. The new wing was totally refurbished in 2010

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on 27th September the night before a two week cruise of the med only to be told our booking had been cancelled as the travel agency had gone into liquidation. We had booked via Clever-hotels.com who used a company called Navelar. We had paid them by switch visa rather than credit card so there was little chance of getting the money back. We were obviously upset and annoyed and after some heated debate at reception the Manager came to speak with us. She tried her best to explain what had happened and apologised for the distress this had caused us. She said that unfortunately the hotel was not liable for bookings where the travel agency had not paid them. She could not give us a room for free despite my argument that we had paid the company and no one had ever told us the booking had been cancelled. In the end we had to pay again. However, she gave us an upgrade on our original booking to an Executive room and she threw in breakfast for free and the total bill was only £95. The room was lovely and within 5 minutes a large platter of fresh fruit beautifully wrapped arrived with some chilled water. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast the next morning was lovely. The location was perfect for the Plaka district and the roof terrace with views of the Acropolis lit up at night was beautiful. The drinks on the terrace were a bit pricey as would be expected but the service was great and the little extras of a dish of olives, nuts, crisps etc was included with the drinks. We had read reviews about this hotel which mentioned some of the rooms not being very nice so I can't comment on that and wonder if some have been re-furbished but others not. I would recommend upgrading to an executive room to be on the safe side but all in all and given the circumstances, I would say the hotel went out of their way to help us and we were very happy with our stay there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us at Divani Palace Acropolis

We are happy that although you had a bad experience with your travel agency our staff was able to still make your stay memorable

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in our hotel during your next visit in Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

An excellent hotel, close to the both the Acropolis and the new Acropolis museum. Our room and bath were spacious and also had a nice balcony with chairs and table, view of the Acropolis included. The staff were attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your beautiful experience with us

I have shared your comments with my staff and are greatly appreciated

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our premise

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Royal Olympic Hotel
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#47 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Palace Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Palace Acropolis

Property: Divani Palace Acropolis
Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Palace Acropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Divani Palace Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Divani Acropolis Hotel
Acropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing