We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms and bathrooms need to be upgraded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divani Palace Acropolis
Ranked #67 of 327 Hotels in Athens
pune
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The rooms and bathrooms need to be upgraded”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and while the rooms were clean they seemed to be tired. The bathrooms definitely need to be upgraded. The location was great to walk to the Acropolis museum and the Plaka. As with most hotels in this region there are no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room which is a problem if you want to have a cup of tea or coffee in the early morning or else during the day. The staff are very business like and definitely do not behave like they work in a customer oriented industry but that was the feeling I got in most of Athens in restaurants and shops. Maybe it's got to do with the problems with their economy which has made them unhappy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

We were satisfied to see that your general impression of your experience with us was positive.

We have mentioned all your comments to our staff and everything is taken into consideration

we are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    635
    326
    94
    49
See reviews for
343
568
71
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is quite close to all things. Shops, restaurants, laundromat, metro and especially the Gelato shops. The service was good, staff friendly and the room was huge. We did have 3 adults so we were pleased. I couldn't get my WiFi working on my Ipad so their IT guy helped me get connected. We were happy with their breakfast, a lot of variety and loved their Creamed Rice. Close to the Plaka shops so again have lots of money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed and were very satisfied with your recent stay at Divani Palace Acropolis.
Your warm input regarding the services rendered, the facilities, our personnel's friendly attitude has been passed on to our team and has been trully appreciated.

we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Divani Palace Acropolis or any other of our properties in Greece.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in mid August 2012. It is made for Westerners without losing its old world charm. It is very clean. The staff is extremely helpful. Food was very good in the lobby restaurant/bar. We had dinner on the roof terrace staring directly at the Acropolis. We've stayed in Athens many times and we can't imagine a more inspiring or more memorable view. This is it! Our room was average in size but adequate and had a small balcony overlooking the street. There was some minimal curb/road work being completed during our visit but should be finished by now. Check before booking. The location is perfect if you are visiting Athens for the first time. The new museum is a two minute walk and the Acropolis is just beyond it. The hotel is in the middle of the Plaka area which is the oldest part of the city. There are many cafes and restaurants within a 3-5 min walk. Take a stroll around the paths that encircle the Acropolis. It is pretty well laid out and worth a few hours to hike the entire circle around the site. Believe me, you'll never forget it.

Room Tip: We had room 604 which was great and had a view of the Acropolis from our small balcony. Anything at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonE1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for oyur warm comments regarding your visit at Divani Palace Acropolis

We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay, our facilities and our services offered. All your beautiful comments have been shared with our staff members

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties around Greece

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After a long trip we were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready for us at 9am. The staff spoke English very well - all friendly and professional and ready to please. The location was fabulous - easy walk to sights and throughout the Plaka neighborhood. There is a great convenience store across the street - for water, snacks, etc. The room was lovely and the bath spacious. The pool area is lovely also, with service from the bar restaurant. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view of the pool and the acropolis from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Divani Palace Acropolis.

Your comments have been shared with our staff and are highly appreciated

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Divani Acropolis is in a great location for reaching most sites in Athens. It's a short walking distance from the Metro, which is extremely clean and user-friendly, The Plaka, Acropolis and many restaurants. The staff was very helpful, especially John, the desk clerk. The rooms were clean and decent sized. The lobby is very nice.
The drawbacks were: the restaurant is unattractive and way over-priced, breakfast was 20 euros! Better choice is simply to walk a block or 2 to a cafe and buy breakfast there. The air conditioning in the room didn't cool the room off, there are no irons to use...you have to use the hotel ironing service. I think it was 6 euro to iron ONE shirt. There is no WIFI in the rooms. You have to stay in the lobby to use WIFI.
Overall, a good choice while in Athens!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your warm comments regarding your visit at Divani Palace Acropolis

We are mostly pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay the location of the hotel and our staff's attitude

In reference to the way you feel about some of our prices please kindly note that these are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens. However your input has been taken into consideration andreviewed with our team

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Divani Palace Acropolis

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and spacious. You can wander easily around this great part of Athens. Good value for a slightly older hotel. Just down the street and turning right there is a fantastic Greek pastry shop. Well worth finding.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank godmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed and were very satisfied with your recent stay here.

Your warm input regarding the location and the services rendered has been passed on to our team and has been trully appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you back

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Like another reviewer said, the standard for hotel stars is different in Greece than in America. By Greek standards, this hotel is by all means a 5 star hotel. It can't be stressed enough how ideal the location of the hotel is, whether it's your first or millionth time visiting Greece. You are walking distance from the Acropolis, but more importantly Plaka. But besides the location, the hotel is clean, the staff is very friendly, and it has the most amenities that can be found in a hotel in Athens. We only stayed there for a couple of nights, but it was the perfect hotel for the end of our trip. Dinner on the roof, with the view of the Acropolis was amazing. There was only one other couple up there, and the staff was just the right amount of attentive, that we felt like the whole roof was our personal space. It is beautifully decorated, and everything from the maitre'd to the glassware really has an elegant feel. One morning our trip guide had giving us the papers with the wrong pick-up time/hotel for our tour (had us off by an hour and at another hotel), and the lady at the front desk went above and beyond to get in touch with everyone so that the tour bus was able to still come and pick us up for the tour. Because we were traveling with some other people through Gate 1, we were able to see other hotels in the same price range when they were dropping everyone off. I can assure you ours was not only in the best location, but looked a million times better than every other hotel we saw. When we checked out (in the middle of the night bc of our flight time) they asked us nicely if we had taken anything from the mini-fridge because they had not had the chance to go to the room. We told them everything we had taken and it was very professional and polite the way they did not accuse us of taking more or imply there were consequences if we were lying. Also, the complimentary breakfast was by far the best we had on the trip. There was a large spread of both traditional Greek and American options. We called once for extra towels and before I got out of the shower they had already been delivered. Also, to my fault, I tried my very powerful hairdryer in the room (against the advice of my boyfriend) and blew out all the electricity because I didn't have the right outlet converter for heat. I was so embarrassed and so scared we would have to change rooms but the guy who came up to help us just reset the electricity from the power box in our room and was so understanding. He assured me that it was no big deal and never in the slightest acted annoyed. We never made it to the pool, but I'd still rec commend this hotel for a very lovely Athens experience for both couples and families of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Divani Palace Acropolis.

Your warm input regarding the services rendered, the facilities, our personnel's friendly attitude has been passed on to our team and has been trully appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,206 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#62 of 327 in Athens
3,003 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#51 of 327 in Athens
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,975 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 327 in Athens
705 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 327 in Athens
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Palace Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Palace Acropolis

Property: Divani Palace Acropolis
Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Palace Acropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Palace Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Acropolis Hotel Athens
Divani Acropolis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing