We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acropolis Select Hotel
Ranked #55 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (only because we prepaid and wanted to split our 8 day trip between 2 hotels). The Acropolis Select is close to the Metro and in a nice and quiet residential area. It is close to the Acropolis but it isn't near the hustle and bustle of tourist life. Other than that we didn't really like the hotel. The rooms were clean and okay and we had a big balcony on the 4th floor but it was dated and the view was crappy. We were looking at another apartment building. The biggest disappointment was that there was no roof top patio, which we could have sworn was listed to be there when we were booking the hotel. That kind of turned us off this hotel and the crappy internet connection. You had to sit in the lobby to get anything. The buffet breakfast was good and only 8 Euro, I believe. All in all I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Patricia N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

We value your input as it allows us to access the areas of our business that need to be improved, to ensure all our guests have as memorable an experience as possible during their stay with us here at the Acropolis Select Hotel.

I am so sorry that you were disappointed that our hotel did not have a roof top and we would be grateful to let us know if you have read this somewhere in order to correct it because the hotel have never had a roof top and we never said to our collaborators or different web sites about having one.

On the other hand we are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We do hope that you will still consider returning to our hotel again next time and we assure you
that we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations and make your stay a very pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    374
    143
    16
    12
See reviews for
123
323
67
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There is 3 of us staying in this hotel. one day, one of my friend was going to have a breakfast alone while another 2 of us still sleeping. One of the staff look at her and as her in a bad manner which room she is from and said she is not staying in this hotel. My friend english wasn't too good and unable to communicate with her. After that another one of the staff from reception came and told the lady she is staying here. The waitress not even apologies and just walk away. Is this how we treated in this hotel even though we did pay for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Athens. close to the metro and Acropolis museum. We have stayed here 4 times Very good location, terrific room service, and delicious full breakfast.
We had a very nice balcony room. The staff are great and we are now fluent in Greek. Yassas,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tateRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear tateRhodelsland,

We warmly thank you for your generous review of our hotel!
It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was comfortable and positive.

We are delighted that the service provided from our colleagues was great and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, services and location.
We hope for another opportunity to welcoming you again on your next visit to Athens and to provide you more greek lessons! :-)
Yassas!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

For the price and wonderful location, I recommend this hotel. Most of the staff has been helpful especially the one that helped to book a private bus to take us from the hotel to the cruise ship last minute on May 14 to take us on May 15. She was very responsive and did a great job in following up. Sorry that I forgot her name. Breakfast was a little disappointing since they only have one person doing everything. The poor fellow was running around like mad to get tables cleaned, set up, seat guests, fill up food trays and drinks. I was so afraid that he may have a heart attack as he was rushing around with sweat all over. They constantly ran out of food. One morning we were told that their suppliers did not bring food so we did not have much to eat. I will not rate this hotel anything more than a 3 stars due to its aged decor and tight space. Thank god that I was on the top floor and able to catch a glimpse of the Acropolis from afar. Wifi was not accessible in the rooms and very slow. It is just adequate to cover basic needs.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay more, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHNG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms on the smaller side, but have a fantastic large balcony, so much better! Wish there were better views and it was closer to the Acropolis. We stayed for 14 days and had no problems. However, bathrooms could use a good remodeling :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennD628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear JennD628,

Thank you so much for your nice review!

We are delighted that you had an overall great stay with us!

The entire team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we do hope to welcoming you back really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Acropolis Select Hotel is at an amazing location very close to the Acropolis hill and surrounding areas of interest to tourists such as Plaka, Hadrian's Arch, etc. etc. Nothing was further than a 15 minute walk away from the hotel. Although it is in a somewhat "shady" area, the Plaka area is only a couple of blocks away and is quite picturesque. We stayed as a family of three for three nights at the end of May and had a very enjoyable stay. The front desk staff were friendly and obliging and always willing to help out with suggestions. Leaving our bags for several hours after checking-out was no problem at all. The room - although admittedly small - was clean and adequate. The breakfast was also excellent. All in all, a great value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leely13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear CY3AHA,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that your stay with us was a comfortable one!
We are so delighted that you felt well-looked after while you were with us and we look forward to welcoming you again when you next return to Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a nice little hotel tugged away one lane behind the main road and so, relatively quiet at night. It is also just 2-3 minutes from the mass transit and less than 10mins walk to the touristy Plaka area, which is also next to the Acropolis. The lane where the hotel is is relatively deserted at night but we did not feel any sense of unease at all. There are also a few cafes and a fast food joint just around the corner, one with rather decent Italian food too, if you get tired of the traditional Greek sandwich or roasted meat.

Room is typically small but clean and well maintained. We were lucky to get a high floor with a view of the Acropolis, which is lighted up at night. The breakfast buffet was more than sufficient and the dining room well decorated and pleasant.

As a bonus, if you are planning to visit the Temple of Poseidon, the bus routes along the main road parallel with the hotel's lane. Altogether this hotel is very decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a chance to view the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Tantiko,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel!
We are pleased that the hotel's convenient location, facilities and breakfast were well suited to your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,017 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
712 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 326 in Athens
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 326 in Athens
575 reviews
Hotel Tony
#41 of 326 in Athens
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Property: Acropolis Select Hotel
Address: 37-39 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing