We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acropolis Select Hotel
Ranked #53 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Athens. close to the metro and Acropolis museum. We have stayed here 4 times Very good location, terrific room service, and delicious full breakfast.
We had a very nice balcony room. The staff are great and we are now fluent in Greek. Yassas,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tateRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear tateRhodelsland,

We warmly thank you for your generous review of our hotel!
It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was comfortable and positive.

We are delighted that the service provided from our colleagues was great and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, services and location.
We hope for another opportunity to welcoming you again on your next visit to Athens and to provide you more greek lessons! :-)
Yassas!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 777 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

For the price and wonderful location, I recommend this hotel. Most of the staff has been helpful especially the one that helped to book a private bus to take us from the hotel to the cruise ship last minute on May 14 to take us on May 15. She was very responsive and did a great job in following up. Sorry that I forgot her name. Breakfast was a little disappointing since they only have one person doing everything. The poor fellow was running around like mad to get tables cleaned, set up, seat guests, fill up food trays and drinks. I was so afraid that he may have a heart attack as he was rushing around with sweat all over. They constantly ran out of food. One morning we were told that their suppliers did not bring food so we did not have much to eat. I will not rate this hotel anything more than a 3 stars due to its aged decor and tight space. Thank god that I was on the top floor and able to catch a glimpse of the Acropolis from afar. Wifi was not accessible in the rooms and very slow. It is just adequate to cover basic needs.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay more, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHNG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms on the smaller side, but have a fantastic large balcony, so much better! Wish there were better views and it was closer to the Acropolis. We stayed for 14 days and had no problems. However, bathrooms could use a good remodeling :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennD628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear JennD628,

Thank you so much for your nice review!

We are delighted that you had an overall great stay with us!

The entire team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we do hope to welcoming you back really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Acropolis Select Hotel is at an amazing location very close to the Acropolis hill and surrounding areas of interest to tourists such as Plaka, Hadrian's Arch, etc. etc. Nothing was further than a 15 minute walk away from the hotel. Although it is in a somewhat "shady" area, the Plaka area is only a couple of blocks away and is quite picturesque. We stayed as a family of three for three nights at the end of May and had a very enjoyable stay. The front desk staff were friendly and obliging and always willing to help out with suggestions. Leaving our bags for several hours after checking-out was no problem at all. The room - although admittedly small - was clean and adequate. The breakfast was also excellent. All in all, a great value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leely13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear CY3AHA,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that your stay with us was a comfortable one!
We are so delighted that you felt well-looked after while you were with us and we look forward to welcoming you again when you next return to Athens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a nice little hotel tugged away one lane behind the main road and so, relatively quiet at night. It is also just 2-3 minutes from the mass transit and less than 10mins walk to the touristy Plaka area, which is also next to the Acropolis. The lane where the hotel is is relatively deserted at night but we did not feel any sense of unease at all. There are also a few cafes and a fast food joint just around the corner, one with rather decent Italian food too, if you get tired of the traditional Greek sandwich or roasted meat.

Room is typically small but clean and well maintained. We were lucky to get a high floor with a view of the Acropolis, which is lighted up at night. The breakfast buffet was more than sufficient and the dining room well decorated and pleasant.

As a bonus, if you are planning to visit the Temple of Poseidon, the bus routes along the main road parallel with the hotel's lane. Altogether this hotel is very decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a chance to view the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Tantiko,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel!
We are pleased that the hotel's convenient location, facilities and breakfast were well suited to your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Acropolis Hotel has a very good location, close to most of the major ruins and attractions. We found walking was the best way to get around, and having been duly robbed of over fifty euros by a cab driver, was a little shy on getting back into a cab. The rooms are adequate, very clean and have the benefit of a balcony. The included breakfast was very good with a selection of fruits, cereals and cooked items. The lady that looks after the breakfast is on the ball and is constantly replenishing items.We also found the front desk staff very helpful, and knowledgable, nothing is ever too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimS456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Lim S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I am so sorry for the incident you experienced with the taxi driver.
On the other hand, we are so pleased to hear that our hotel has met your expectations.

We thank you once more and we do hope welcoming you back to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Acropolis Select Hotel. Great location. Within walking distance (about 25-30 mins) to most attractions- Hadrian's Arch, The Acropolis Museum, Plaka, etc... Just 2 blocks away from the Metro station, which made it very convenient. Eateries around the corner, made it easy to have a quick breakfast of a light dinner.
Hotel Reception was very helpful and approachable.
Breakfast at the hotel was decent.
However, the bedroom wasn't what I had expected, having seen the photos on the website. The bedroom, although clean, was rather small, dark and dated. The bathrooms were clean, but really dated and needed some renovations to bring the rooms up to date.
The 2 inconveniences in my opinion is that 1) Wifi is only available at the Lobby. Which made it very inconvenient. 2) There are a few steps leading up to the Lobby and no one to help you with your heavy luggage up those stairs!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Tantravels,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had with us with TripAdvisor's readers.

Whilst we are pleased that you were satisfied with our service, location and breakfast, we are sorry that some aspects of your experience fell below your expectations. Your comments are certainly being considered for future improvements of the hotel.

We thank you once more for your review and we do hope to welcoming you back in Athens and to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,796 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#20 of 281 in Athens
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,383 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#43 of 281 in Athens
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Address: 37-39 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $67 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing