We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #38 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 2 nights July 14 & 15. Hotel lobby is your typical Crowne very nice. On our way to the room the hallway is very early 80's w/neon red lights. We had a double or queen size bed. The room was modern w/ flat screen t.v, mini bar, safe,iron and bathroom very clean & modern. Be very aware thought that The American breakfast buffet is 27euros which is very expensive. The pool is very modern & sheik however, they could use more sun beds b/c it does get a lil packed up there! Out the hotel to the right is a litte restaurant with good food...the Hotel is expensive. there are mini stores along there aswell for cheap sodas,water, beer and snacks.
30minute walk to the Acropolis which is a shaded walkway. There is a business center there & they'll let you use the computer for free for 30mins. Wifi in room but you'll need to call for rates. There is a fitness area w/ 2treadmills ,a bike,a stairmaster,leg press, Universal gym, leg extension, leg pulls for hamstrings. sauna

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyGoddess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 863 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed here on our last night in Athens before catching a very early flight the next morning. We had heard terrible things about Athens traffic so we wanted to be sure to be close to the airport to minimize our travel time in the rush hour morning traffic. Our taxi from the ferry terminal had difficulty finding our hotel but aside from that, the hotel itself is very nice. Spacious and American-style. The bathroom in the room was gorgeous with a huge bathtub and nice bathroom amenities. The restaurant downstairs served great food and the bar/lounge next door was very relaxing. We had no problems catching the hotel shuttle to the airport the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in May 09. The staff for the most part were polite and very accomodating. All but one snarly fella on the afternoon shift. The bus stop is right out front for going into Athens, this is a 40 min bus ride, take the X95 bus, this is same bus you take from airport ALSO you have to validate the tickets when you get on the bus which is an orange type machine on the bus you put ticket in, don't forget this as bus inspectors do ask for your ticket and if not validated they fine you. The shuttle bus from airport to hotel DOES NOT RUN between noon and 3pm, so if you land between these hours you will need a lift, remember X95 OR X94 they both go to hotel. It is a set fee for using either of these buses of €3.20 regardless of where you get off.
The rooms are nice and clean, very quiet even tho a main highway is very close.
Each room is allowed 30 mins of internet access daily on the PC's on the main floor, you might however have to wait in line in order to use them as most people want to check emails.
The work out area we never had chance to use, we did try the pool but it was SO BLOODY COLD you would have to be cold blooded to use it...we forfeited our swim for a shower!
The breakfast was included in our room fee, and was quite nice, but beware...EUROPEANS STILL SMOKE IN RESTAURANTS. So you have to walk or sit near smokers even tho, they have a "no smoking" area..it's a joke
We didn't spend alot of time at hotel, we did book shuttle 24hrs prior our flight leaving, it was quick and painless.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

On the positive side, this is a good, international standard, four-star hotel. The rooms are modern and nicely designed (in fact very trendy on the Club Floor). The hotel has the facilities you would expect, the staff are friendly and the hotel is well-located, being just a couple of hundred metres from Megarao Mousikis subway which is just just two stops from Syntagma.

On the negative, it is just a Crowne Plaza, that you will find in most cities anywhere in the world. If you are looking for a Greek experience, look elsewhere. We had a Club Room, which was nice but there is no breakfast in the Club Lounge and you have to take the fairly indifferent buffet in the restaurant. The Club Lounge is small but just about OK.

There don't seem to be many restaurants in the area but we went one night to a 'Greek taverna' just around the corner, called Saloon, which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The location is not so good and the facilities and aminities are quite bad. They need to improve a lot on the quality of things used in the room/bathroom and the quality of service also ! Food is a problem for vegetarians !

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getsetg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

If you have four people here, I recommend you to stay in this hotel. It is because the price for four is almost the same as the price of double room! The room is typical crowne plaza style and the shower is great as usual. The location is alright which is 10 mins away from the closest metro. Staffs are not especially friendly but it is not a matter for me. It is probably one of the best room in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Two night stay on business. Arrived late after cancelled Olympic Flight and with 2 hours time difference was almost 2am before getting in. As a Priority Member got upgraded to "club floor" with special card swipe to get lift to go to 6th floor. Very modern foyer and helpful staff. Seemed pretty quiet albeit it was 2am. Rooms very modern and of high quality. Has a single room at the back with a poor view where my colleague had a double room at the front with a long balcony . Suspect my room was a diabled room with emergency cord pulls and two showers including a walk in. Neat little buttons rather than door hangs for "make up my room" , and "do not disturb". Also good mutimedia panel with HMDI and laptop ports an USB ports- useful for charging ie phone and iPod.
Breakfast typical buffet type with hot and cold food. Good rather than fantastic. Wasnt exceptionally comfortable bed but the other positive features of room more than made up. Air Con a little noisy.
Got a bit lost in surrounding Athens, streets very antiquated and no pavements and traffic terrible. Generally i felt Athens itself was a bit run down- bearing in mind its an Ancient city. Wouldnt really be in a rush to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gw76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,871 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#52 of 282 in Athens
1,406 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#32 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $131 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing