We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #40 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stay in this hotel during Jan 2014 for 5 nights overall its OK nice hotel and reception, location not too far from the attraction area breakfast is average, but my only comment is on the room it's too small as well as the bed and they are having a very bad quality of pillow but it's well decorated clean as well as the bathroom also its nice but again small.

Overall I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: they have a Bad quality of pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBaghdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cr0wnePlazaAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear WBaghdadi,

Thank you for contacting the Crowne Plaza Athens regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Konstantna Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    360
    141
    25
    15
See reviews for
131
214
63
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is clean, staff are friendly. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. You have a good bed and hot shower. Internet is basic, good enough for basic usage. It is not really in the heart of the city, but just 2 -3 minutes by cab to Syntagma Square which is basically where all the action is.

Breakfast was good. Room Service is excellent, service is prompt, food was good and portions was quite reasonable.. Next time stay in Athens, would definitely be at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Well nothing to ask for, but if you are staying with a family, make sure it is on a floor where nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cr0wnePlazaAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Wanderlusttrokker,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. We will continue our efforts to make the Crowne Plaza Athens a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

clean, modern, efficient and quiet. we stayed for two nights in december and also pricing was very fair. It was renovated rather recently and it still feels new. not at the very heart of town, but close to a metro station. We believe it is a very good option for a stay in Athens.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fgrabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights; very efficient and friendly check-in, which was appreciated after a 4-hour delayed flight. The queen-bedded bedroom was very clean and comfortable, if a little on the small side. Fantastic to have free wi-fi! Little touches like biscuits & a little chocolate stick with the tea/coffee were a nice surprise. The only real niggle was the position of the shower riser, which meant that I had to squeeze into a corner so as not to have the water spray directly onto the floor. Breakfast was average . Decor felt a little 80's, but not sure if that's deliberate retro chic?! Check-out was also efficient, but far from friendly, which was a shame.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear prippit,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. It is good to know you had a smooth check in and like our clean room. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the bathroom facility and room decor encountered. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

Again, I am grateful that you brought this matter into our attention. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

It is a really tidy hotel - nice decorum, good ambience and friendly staff.

Located just a 10 minute walk from the main centre, it is well placed for most visitor's needs. Though, there isn't much to be said for the immediate vicinity - quite dark, poorly paved and not many shops, bars or restaurants. This is the main downside for the leisure tourist.

The rooms are nice. Good facilities (all the things you'd expect), a nice comfy bed and spacious bathroom. My one complaint was the shower head in my room insisted on twisting at a quite awkward angle - but I'd assume that's a one off.

Room service food was tasty, good portion sizes and reasonable prices. I didn't try the onsite bars and restaurants, but I thought they looked pretty good - I'd probably do so next time.

All in all, a good safe bet for all kinds of visitor I'd say.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is placed right in city centre and is just 5 mins walking from "Magero" metro station on Blue line. The famous "Santgma" metro station is just 2nd stop from this place.

The hotel is also near to couple of local restraints, super market and other conveniences. I really liked there staff, they took ultra care of the guests and made possible to make our stay comfortable.

We were on work and business both, and both the purpose were served perfectly. The daily pick and drops were conveniently timed. Airport is 35 mins from metro station. All was lovely.

The breakfast served was good, and had moderate variety. This is slight area i cut 1/2 star.

Cons: The hotel is slightly old, but hotel has made sure to update things and facilities time to time. In case you need ice, you have to help yourself and get it from 2nd floor or 4th floor from designated ice dispenser.

Room Tip: Room on the front side which gives the night view of Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParitG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights on business, and must say it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in this year. Good location, twenty minute walk to the main attractions of the city, fantastic hot buffet lunches and breakfasts with plenty of choice, the service of the staff is very attentive and was throughout my stay. A roof top pool and bar also gives it that little extra wow factor! A small gym facility, maybe the size of two standard rooms, with some cardio equipment to work off those nice meals! Cost wise it probably isn't the cheapest, although we were on a company special rate. The rooms were very clean, satellite tv, a very comfortable bed that I did manage to sleep in (for me that is good as I don't sleep well in hotels), and good water pressure for the shower, even though I was staying on the 4th floor. If you are in Athens this hotel is worth a look.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank M4rkbr4dders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Hilton Athens
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#24 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing