We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #38 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Quite a typical chain hotel. Quite nicely decorated, clean bathroom, bedrooms. Hotel is very conveniently located, just 5 min walk from the train station, and also within walking distance to Plaka (about 20min). However, I find it ridiculously that you have to pay to use the lounge as a Platinum member.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear catherine l,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    315
    128
    26
    13
See reviews for
118
194
54
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We started our tour at this hotel so had to make our way by taxi from our starting hotel by the Platka. It was nicely decorated, quite modern actually, which was a surprise. Before our room was ready, we had a drink at the bar but had to ask the desk agent to find us a bar tender. We only waited an hour until the room was ready, about 11:00. We were happy with what we got. We had 2 beds, a desk, table and 2 chairs and still had room to walk around. The bathroom was large, with a big bathtub and a Badet' The toiletries offered were SWEET. (i only use what the hotels offer to cut down on packing) Nicely displayed too, i just wish the Badet comes with instructions, (haven't been able to figure out how to use them) The bed was comfortable, the airconditioning worked well, the elevator was large and the morning breakfast excellent. The wait staff was very good.
What we liked least about the hotel was the location which for us newbies to get around was really a challenge. (we did take the subway and that was an adventure in itself). Also, strangely, only one bathrobe and one pair of slippers were left us. Not being people to cause difficulties we did not report or complain which in retrospect i am sure would have been made OK by the staff.
The staff really did work well together. On our last morning, there was a hotel strike so all the managers waited on the tour groups and others for the breakfast. We didnt even realize anything was wrong until i asked if i could purchase their delicious jellies and honey and the "waitress" had no idea. She told us of the strike and then gave me 8 jars of the jelllies. A nice way to satisfy a customer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were shunted to this hotel from the Novotel when workers went on strike....in a country with 25% unemployment...go figure. In any event, we really lucked out. This place was great in most every respect. It was close to a major route so we could access shops easily and was a mere 10 minute walk from the east-west subway route which runs thru Athens. 10 minute subway run had us right downtown for 1.6 Euros ( a lot cheaper than a cab)

The rooms were good, the breakfast as good as anything we had experienced in Europe and the help desk spoke English very well. There was free internet and when we visited in late Oct. there were few patrons.

The elevators took a bit of getting used to.....you had to flash you room key in front of a scanner before you would be taken to any floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVJjvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A good choice for Athens visitors, specially those who wish to visit the center. Perfectly located near points of interest and the subway. Not a brand new building but seems recently renovated. Comfortable, quiet, well equipped and clean rooms with balconies offer a beautiful view of the Lecabetus Hill (if placed in the frond). Many delightful details caught my eye, evidencing that owners know how to run the business. After all its a crown plaza hotel!
Nice cuisine and pleasant atmosphere in the "Amvrosia" restaurant.
Willing staff makes you feel better than home.
Absence of internal pool and expensive parking were the only disadvantages.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the frond (Michalakopoulou str) and on the fifth or sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddad1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a one night stay in this hotel. Nice room with 2 queen size beds and plenty of amenities. Quite location at the back of the hotel. As Te hotel is in the middle of town do not expect great vistas. Check in and out was efficient. Room had free Internet and all 3 devices could use the same code :). Breakfast is as usual a bit steep at 19 euros but if you stuff yourself you can skip lunch. Would definitely return here. Was on business trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Varossf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice stop over for the night as we were flying back from Santorini and then back to Germany to following day. Hotel is very nice and cozy and reflects well the CP branding. We had access to Internet for 2 devices using two different codes and paying only for a one 24 hours period which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being first time to Greece, i am glad to have chosen this hotel.

Agree with the other reviewer that this is a safer part of Athens.

It is easy to get in and out as the metro is near (short 10mins walk). The same blue line will get you from Airport and also to downtown Athens

Next to the hotel are some really cheap and good food offering. 5min Cab ride to foothill of lycabettus hill where you can get the eletric train to enjoy fantastic evening view of the city

Like the warm conceige service by Mr Luokas who is always ready to help. Also good service by Zoe from front office.

There are some good resturant next to the hotel that serves good greek food.

Overall, good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChooMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
#20 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#45 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#39 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#22 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing