We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good rooms, very good location - loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #43 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good rooms, very good location - loved it!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very good rooms, very good location - loved it!

I have Platinum status at the Priority Club and they recognized it at checkin. :-) WOW! In Europe very often they dont care at all.

Some hotels pretend they dont even know that Platinum Status should offer you upgrade. Some do that after you ask them and ask why not.

This one looked at the card, and immediatelly said that they would give me an upgrade and access to Club Lounge.

Anothere benefit, this is a Crown Plaza that has Club Lounge, which I learned is not very common. Even some Interconti pretend to have Club Lounges in the describtion on the website, and they dont have it when you arrive. I have to say Hilton is much more predictable in this area.

But, as I said, Crown Plaza Athens is EXCELLENT and they do care if you are Platinum or not. :-)

K.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Business_or_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    378
    150
    29
    15
See reviews for
143
227
65
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

One very big + point for this hotel is its close proximity to Athen's metro. It is both quick and fairly easy to travel in direct from the airport to the nearest stop which is a two minute walk to the hotel. Like-wise travel in and around Athens is also easy from this location.
Clean, modern hotel with two restaurants in the summer months (one on the roof top by the pool) and just the one in winter. Strangely on the two nights I stayed at the hotel recently, I was the only one in the restaurant at 8pm. Food very nice and staff very plesant too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is one of the most reasonably priced hotel I have ever visited in Athens on its category. Due to the Greek crisis many hotels now offer great prices. I think this is the best time for a city break in one of the worlds most cultural cities! Bars, restaurants and hotels are affordable for all budget ranges and this is absolutely great for a city like Athens!!

Located withinin a walking distance from the American Embassy tube station, the hotel offers easy access to all sights This hotel offers great quality and a conterporary clean environment. The hotel is located in a safe area away from Syntagma square so any strikes, riots or other unease will not disturb your holiday as these limited phenomena take place away from this hotel.

The rooms are new and spaceous, the bathrooms new and clean. The breakfast could be a bit more creative yet it was more than adequate for a city hotel. The views are not good but again you cannot expect everything at this price range in a metropolis centre.

I will definately visit again and will recomend this hotel to all business travellers and city breakers.

Room Tip: simply ask for it, the staff is great and would do anything to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manos_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winterthur
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for business. The Hotel has been renovated, so that the rooms are modern, the windows good isolated, the furniture quite new, comfortable. The toilette is really very nice, modern and big enough. Everything is very clean. However, for fresh renovated hotel, it could have been much more impressing. Everything is ok but pretty normal.

I ate here as well, something small for dinner. The service is good: at the restaurant, reception or housekeeping.

Location is perfect, in the city center and very close to the HILTON (lot of congresses take place here).

The only think that i didn't like was the price of the breakfast: EUR 23.- !!!!! I mean, this is really exagerating, we are talking here about Athens not Paris!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Quite interesting and renovated hotel, close to city center. Enjoyed the vivid colours and the menu. Seems renovated.
Cheaper than nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XriLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My fiance is half Greek and lives in Athens - therefore we regularly visit Athens but usually stay at his family home. We are getting married in Athens in the summer and decided to check out this hotel to see if we could recommend it to out guests. We spent 1 night in the Crowne Plaza and thought it was great.

From Megaro Mousikis station (metro line which carries on directly to the centre) it is an easy 2 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel itself is very spacious, modern, lots of amenities (gym, small plunge pool, restaurant and bar). The rooms had everything you would need with an American style feel - large comfortable bed, toiletries, iron, kettle, mini-bar/fridge and large modern and clean bathroom. The best feature was the sound-proofed windows. Our room was on the main road over-looking Lycabettus and we could not hear any sound from the road below at all.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was immaculate. It is not in the city centre but if you are comfortable with taking the metro or even a taxi, you are no more than 5 minutes from the centre, but benefit from larger more modern rooms by being a little further outside the city. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to all of our wedding guests coming to Athens.

Room Tip: All the rooms were soundproofed so try and ask for a view of Lycabettus on the main road. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BudSalt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Would recommend for business and/or pleasure. Clean, comfortable, nice bedding and food. Meeting rooms excellent with impressive support. Reception and dining room uninspiring. Pool not open. Staff lovely and helpful at all times. Taxi cost EUR 7 from the airport and we took a tour around the city by an interesting local taxi driver for EUR 25 with lots of photo stops. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFickleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,625 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#58 of 326 in Athens
1,309 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing