We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book this hotel!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Achilleas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Achilleas Hotel
Ranked #119 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not book this hotel!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I can't really say how my stay at Hotel Achilleas was because I really didn't stay there!!
After traveling for almost 24 hours I finally arrive at my destination: the Hotel Achilleas where I paid in advance for my three night stay. When to my surprise I am informed that the hotel is overbooked and they are sending me to another hotel [from the same group] a couple of blocks away. Couple of blocks turned out to be over 10 blocks away in a very sketchy neighborhood where nearly every taxi cursed to pick me up. Do not book this hotel or you might end up like me!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cátia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    137
    86
    24
    13
See reviews for
95
97
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was upgraded from a single room at the sister hotel to a double room with an acropolis view due to the inconvenience of being shuffled from one hotel to the next so i have no complaints about the price. The hotel paid for the cab between hotels.
Nice clean room, comfortable. Nicely kept bathroom with a bath I was tempted to use.
Within walking distance from everything you could wish to see or do in Athens. Situated next to a yoga centre. Breakfast was also quite substantial.
The main negative was that I was on the 4th floor near the rooftop garden and was kept up by chairs grating quite loudly across the concrete roof.
Also whilst the hotel is near some lovely taverns the area is not the safest or best for a single female traveller to be walking alone around at night, the local tavern owners will keep an eye on you though if you make friends with them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Advantages:
- Great location near the square (centre of Athens)
- Spacious family room, spacious
- Clean modern bathroom
- Good selection for breakfast
- Wifi in lobby and computer for guests
- Good AC for the summer

Disadvantages
- Noisy bar outside; kept waking up in the middle of the night
- No shower curtain
- Uncomfortable extra bed (we were in a family room of 4 adults)
- Small lift - can squeeze in 4 people max but 2 with luggage

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Madhuri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location, in the centre of the city, but down a side street which made it quiet. I stayed here for 5 nights in June with my 18 year old grand daughter and she loved it.. I walked everywhere from this Hotel. Close to shops, restaurants and Acropolis and Syntagma Square. Trains close by in all directions. Will stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A family vacation for 5. The location was very convenient. Like others we took the X95 bus from the airport and walked from Syntagma square. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and metro is walking distance as well. We did not rent a car in Athens and I think it would have been a hassle if we had. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Having breakfast was nice with a good variety. Internet access available in the lobby. They have one room that accommodates 5, so we able to stay together in a double room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mindy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just returned from a 3-night stay at the Achilleas with my 2 daughters (16 and 18). We stayed in a family room which was clean and well sized. The air con in our our originally allocated room wasn't working but we were given another room within 5 minutes.
Breakfasts were really good with an ample selection from which to choose. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Location couldn't have been better. The only negative - and this is being picky - is the very small lift. But if this is the only criticism then there's clearly no reason at all why I wouldn't recommend this hotel to other travellers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very good location, lovely and welcoming staff. The power is a little dicey -- a power surge in our room left us without power for a while and fried a phone charger, and the toilette was a little runny. Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#57 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Syntagma
Astor Hotel Athens
Astor Hotel Athens
#131 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#87 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#129 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilleas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleas Hotel

Property: Achilleas Hotel
Address: 21 Lekka | Syntagma/ Plaka, Athens 105 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Achilleas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleas Hotel is a cozy family friendly hotel in Athens, just few minutes walk from Syntagma Square, Plaka, Thision and the Acropolis. Featuring 34 spacious, airy and bright rooms, that can accommodate up to 5 persons, it’s one of the few hotels near Syntagma Athens, which is ideal for students, families or friends, since its 30 sq.m. suites offer 2 separate rooms, providing privacy and comfort. The rooms also feature a large closet, TV, desk, safe, nice fully renovated bathrooms with bath products, hairdryer, a mini fridge and they are all fully air conditioned. Achilleas Hotel offers free Wifi Internet to its guests and complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achilleas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achilleas Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing