We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Achilleas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Achilleas Hotel
Ranked #120 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“good”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

the hotel facility is good. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. We spent two nights in different rooms. Both rooms are big and clean. Also the location is very convenient. For city tour, I think it's is a good choice.

Room Tip: choose the room at the back side. There is a bar nearly. During the weekend, it's a little bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Rosy L,

Thank you for your review! We are all very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the very central location of Achilleas Hotel! We especially appreciate your evaluation of the customer service.
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    141
    87
    24
    14
See reviews for
97
98
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Choose this hotel if you want to be near everything: Plaka district; commercial streets; syntagma square, Acropolis; nice cafes nearby, etc

Surrounding areas very safe;

BUS coming from airport ends at syntagma square, after that 5minute stroll to get to the hotel.

Spacious and clean rooms with bath tub.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julioviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear julioviana,

Thank you very much for your review and for your recommendation! The location is as you mentioned very central and Hotel Achilleas can become a great meeting point to visit Athens on foot. Hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is an ordinary hotel in an extraordinary place. It is a short distance to the Square and many of the Attractions are within easy walking distance. I was hoping for a little more out of the hotel but it was quaint. There was breakfast which was a plus. and there is a trendy restaurant just across the street. It is ideal for those who will be spending more time seeing Athens than sitting in the room!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the location. Achilleas Hotel is perfectly situated for visiting the main attractions on foot, yet next to nice cafes and restaurants! Next time you are here, take a walk down Kolokotroni street, Karitsi square and Agias Eirinis square. Many Athenians choose those areas when they go out for a drink.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

very good hotel, nice facilities, kind staff, very pleasant and impressive experience to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms in the lower floors have good wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XLIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear XLIU,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for your high score. We are very happy to read that your stay was a positive experience! We look forward to seeing you in your next stay! Please do tell your friends and family about your experience with us. Word of mouth is one of our best firends as we have many people who come stay at Achilleas Hotel based on recommendations of loved ones. Thank you very much again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice room, clean, within walking distance to main attractions.
We were recommended Achilleas and I appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your high score! As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again sometime in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

When you first walk into your room at the Achilleas hotel, you might think that the 120 euro a night is a fair deal. After all, the lobby has recently been remodeled, and makes for a nice introduction to the hotel. The rooms are massive, and ours included a small second bed, which could be good for a couple with a child in tow. The rooms are also clean, and while the elevator is only large enough to fit one adult plus luggage, it still saves you from having to lug your bags up multiple flights of stairs. So, the initial impression we had when we arrived was a positive one.

The location is a double-edged sword. I'll stay positive here, and discuss the downside of the location later in this review. In any case, on initial inspection, it seems like a fantastic location. A short walk to many of Athens' spectacular sights, and there are an amazing amount of quality restaurants within mere blocks. It's also not too far from a metro line that connects you with both the airport and the ferry in Piraeus.

However, any time spent in your room quickly reveals the glaring negatives of this hotel. To begin with, the key card readers in the room are loose, and unless you jerry-rig yours, chances are your key card will slide forward after a short amount of time. This triggers all room electronics to turn off. All of the lights go off. All electronic device chargers stop. The alarm clock stops working. This is at best disorienting if you're in the position of having to grope your way through a dark room to fiddle with the key card reader and turn the room's electricity back on. If you're reliant on a plugged-in alarm clock, this room feature could make you miss your flight. If you’re in the shower, you’d better hope your husband hasn’t left the room.

On the note of the room's electronics, I think the televisions are from 1982. Small, boxy things that short out after being on for twenty minutes. No, my husband and I don't go on vacation to watch TV, but it is nice to have a chance to watch the local news to see if there are any expected transportation or service strikes over the next few days. When your TV shorts out just as the news station begins to focus on Athens events, and the TV takes another fifteen minutes to cool down, this can be very frustrating.

Another less-than-appealing quirk of the rooms are the fact that there is no shower curtain or door separating the shower from the rest of the very tiny bathroom. As a result, when you take a shower, you soak the entire bathroom. You can expect any clothes, makeup, and/or toiletries in the bathroom to get drenched. Additionally, the hotel room safes are not very reassuring. Most European in-room safes work on a system where you can assign a code for the lock, and then open the safe using that code (which no one else knows). In these rooms however, access to the safes is tied to your key card. Does this mean that the housekeeping staff has access to all of the in-room safes, since they have key cards programmed to enter each room? I'm not implying that we had any issues with theft, but the idea that someone else might have access to your safe kind of takes away the point of a safe.

Returning to the location of the hotel, let's talk about the downside of this particular place. Specifically, you can expect to get a very poor night's sleep if you are staying on a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday evening. The bar right across the street likes to party it up on these nights and, unlike some places that will turn down their music once it reaches a certain time, this bar turns the music up. A lot. By 11PM, you'll feel like a full-fledged party is going on in your room. By 3AM, it's a full-scale sonic assault, cutting through earplugs and pillows alike. We actually thought a live horn section had been brought in for that part of the evening. Turns out the bar just has very impressive speakers. If you're planning to rage all night during your time in Athens, this hotel might work out for you. But if you want to sleep in the evening prior to 4AM over the weekend, this place is not for you. Note: To the hotel staff's credit, when we complained about the noise on the second night to the front desk manager, he actually went across the street and convinced the bar to turn their music down, which we thought we fairly remarkable (and is the sole reason this place is getting two stars, and not one in this review).

The breakfast buffet was passable, but compared to any other place we stayed in Greece, it was terrible. Especially having just come from a fantastic hotel in Mykonos that cost literally the third of what we paid to stay in the Achilleas Hotel, but had a breakfast buffet that was better by levels of magnitude, we found Achilleas' lack of decent breakfast options particularly disheartening. Especially on Sunday, when very little in the area was open until noon.

The beds left something to be desired. I love a hard bed, but these were hard due to total lack of padding, not just firm by design. It felt like they were all on one old spring system – sit on the corner of one and the corner at the far diagonal of the bed would comically pop up.

In all honesty, I would stay at the Achilleas if it was half the price it currently is. If they offered rooms there for 60 euro an evening, I would put up with the strange quirks like having all of the lights turn off unexpectedly in the midst of getting ready for bed. I would be okay with the crazy levels of music. I would even deal with the ridiculous open shower in the postage stamp-sized bathrooms. But with the prices that this hotel lists their rooms at, you should expect quality, and that is definitely not what you will receive.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a Monday - Thursday evening if you plan on sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for the positive part of the review about the Achilleas Hotel.
I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the quality of services we deliver. In our attempt to improve, we surely value all the feedback whether it is negative or positive and if there is a problem please let us know while you are here as we would be very pleased to have an opportunity to resolve it on the spot.
As far as the electricity is concerned I have personally checked the room in which you stayed and I can assure you there is not such a problem with the key card reader.
Also, regarding your concern for safety let me tell you that we chose the safe boxes based on security, and that every time a new guest enters the room, cards readjust.
With reference to your comment about the breakfast we try to make sure that breakfast is composed by many ingredients to suit all tastes and which can help you start your day with energy! At the buffet breakfast you will find hot and cold dishes, such as omelette, sausages, croissant, cheese, ham, bread, eggs, cake, biscuits, cereals, fruits, honey, marmalades, yogurt, milk, tea, coffee, orange juice. Again, we appreciate your input and we will never stop working and striving to make the Achilleas Hotel a wonderful experience for all our guests.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel has a good location. The staff were super friendly. The price was excellent. The breakfast had a great selection and was better than the other 2 hotels we had booked. Our room had a terrace. We were given a triple room which had AMPLE space, and actually had a room with a bed and then double doors which lead to the other room which had a large bed. This was great when my boyfriend couldn't sleep one night and I went to the other room, shut the door and he could enjoy the television. This hotel was QUIET! The only negative thing about this hotel was the shower. it was very small and the curtain kept touching me! The hotel was recently renovated, but the bathroom looked like it was left out.
Out of the 3 places we booked in Athens, this was by far the best, most relaxed hotel. Before you choose a hotel because it has a view...reconsider. Some of those places offer empty promises of services!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear mcy1980,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We especially appreciate your evaluation of the service you received from our staff. It is our first commitment to provide the very best to our clients including very clean rooms, customer service, rich buffet breakfast, competitive prices, top location!
Reading that you had a relaxed stay at Achilleas Hotel assures us that we have achieved a positive result. Whenever you return to Athens, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Achilleas Hotel.

With king regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#65 of 327 in Athens
904 reviews
Syntagma
Astor Hotel Athens
Astor Hotel Athens
#117 of 327 in Athens
649 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#89 of 327 in Athens
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#56 of 327 in Athens
563 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 327 in Athens
642 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#64 of 327 in Athens
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achilleas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilleas Hotel

Property: Achilleas Hotel
Address: 21 Lekka | Syntagma/ Plaka, Athens 105 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Achilleas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achilleas Hotel is a cozy family friendly hotel in Athens, just few minutes walk from Syntagma Square, Plaka, Thision and the Acropolis. Featuring 34 spacious, airy and bright rooms, that can accommodate up to 5 persons, it’s one of the few hotels near Syntagma Athens, which is ideal for students, families or friends, since its 30 sq.m. suites offer 2 separate rooms, providing privacy and comfort. The rooms also feature a large closet, TV, desk, safe, nice fully renovated bathrooms with bath products, hairdryer, a mini fridge and they are all fully air conditioned. Achilleas Hotel offers free Wifi Internet to its guests and complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Achilleas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achilleas Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing