We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Ranked #39 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Situated in a nice quiet area but not far from the centre this was a great place to stay. Good for business or leisure with helpful friendly staff. I would stay there again. The room I had was quite small but with everything you need. Very clean and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 730 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just wanted to inform the hotel staff and would be visitors that this is one of the best hotels I stayed at during my vacation to Israel, Greece and the Greek islands. The staff were professional and went out of their way to address any needs I had. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and a patio view of the main street, it was slightly noisy at rush hour but you just close the door and the noise dissipates. They also have a nice lounge and restaurant, and the breakfast are very extensive, catering to every taste. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or vacation, it is also five minutes from the subway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was an oasis of hospitality in a city that is seething over its current economic situation. Prices were reasonable, no attempt to gouge nor nickel/dime. Accommodations were excellent and staff were super helpful. While I am unlikely to return to Athens, I would not hesitate to return to this hotel, should I have reason.

One consideration is that many cabbies do not know of what appears to be a " boutique" hotel and address is not an easy one to recall. Have written address to aid driver if using taxi.

Room Tip: Executive Suite is well priced and includes retractable shades over a glass roof. Also has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

only there 2 nights and out most of the time.. however.. staff incredibly nice and helpful, free wifi, lots of coffee shops and even a cheap and cheerful restaurant across the street.excellent value. a wee bit far from the attactions but only a quick ride away on the metro which is 3 mins walk away. other reviews have mentioned paper thin walls and this could be true, hotel was quiet and few people near my room so hard to tell.
hotel is slightly tricky to find, i got bus in from airport and it isnt easy to know where to get off. easier by far to get the metro and get off at Megaro, then a few mins walk south east, heading away from Likivitou. Area and the city itself is uber safe which is an amazing suprise!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussysleeperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was with some trepidation that I arrived for my third trip to Greece because having Coeliac Disease in Greece wasn't easy on my two previous trips. The hotel bent over backwards to supply me with GF bread (corn bread from the local bakery: Estia) and LF/GF soy milk for breakfast and meals in the hotel dining room. The staff were polite, helpful, and gave great advise from helping with me get a local sim card to how to travel safely and how much to pay in cab fares. Rooms were clean and spacious, and hotel conveniently located in city centre with great public transport links within easy walking distance. Will be returning next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 with 2 friends. First impression when you enter the hotel is hospitality. Very polite staff at reception with smiley faces. Every time we asked for information they were more than willing to provide us with everything we wanted to know. Very nice big and clean lobby. We had a 3bed room which was upgraded and it was big enough for the 3 of us. The balcony was spacious. Nice comfy bed with nice pillows. Very clean and spacious bathroom. Very soft bath towels. Toiletries and slippers available. Breakfast was very nice with very very polite staff. Especially a young girl with black hair but also all the others working there.
Metro station MEGARO MOUSIKIS is a 3minute walk from the hotel. The neighbourhood is very good because is close but not so close to the centre. You may thing is noisy because is on the Mihalakopoulou avenue but the room was very soundproof. FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. I visit Athens every year but this is the first time I stayed here and definitely is not the last one. I will surely return and I highly recommend this hotel. Keep going like this, you were great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POLINA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is very good, the staff is nice and polite, and the breakfast is tasty and pleasant (but the hotel restaurant is poor). The Location is very good in a silent and pleasant place
We're recommend it!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#25 of 282 in Athens
617 reviews
Holiday Suites
#66 of 282 in Athens
171 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Age Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Hotel Athens

Address: 57 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $87 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Age Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in one of the safest areas of Athens, near the Music Hall and the USA Embassy, with lots of coffee shops and restaurants in the area. The Parthenon and the Athens central shopping centre as well as the main square of Athens (Constitution Square) are a ½ hour’s walking distance away. You can also use the public bus (5 minutes walking distance at Mavilli Square) or the Metro (2 minutes walking distance to Megaro Musikis stop). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Age Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing