We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Age Hotel of Athens
Nearby Hotels
$346
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Areos Hotel(Athens)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$234
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$292
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$233
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Acropolis House(Athens)(Great Value!)
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fresh Hotel(Athens)
$1,117
HotelsClick
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveler rating
238
370
110
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
370
110
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationmegaro mousikisnice hotelgreek saladroom was spacious and cleanconvenient locationsyntagma squarefree wififour star hotelsmall balconynice stayblue linethe air conditioningsafe arealycabettus hillbreakfast buffetdouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 748 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Golden Age hotel was newly renovated with a modern entrance. I would call it a 4-1/2 star only because of what I'll describe later. Our room was "roomy" enough and we had a balcony overlooking the street but the room was well-insulated from noise. That evening we walked thru the old--part of Athens ....narrow streets but cars & motorbikes whiz by and you have to stand on a ledge about 2 feet wide to let them pass. There are many vendors. We climbed what was perhaps 100 steps to the top of what I would consider a hill with open restaurants on the edges......where we finally reached the upper level. The entire area was packed with people even on this weekday. The restaurant was small, open to the air...with old-stone walls. The bathroom was too close by if you know what I mean. The main meal was mediocre but the greek-style appetizers held us and the greek-salad was very good. In that very tiny space, some gals and guys dressed in ancient costumes did some greek dances and got some of the audience involved.
We had a bountiful buffet breakfast in the morning .that was very good. Our dinners that evening the Golden Age hotel were Italian style and as good as we had in Italy....maybe better because it was so different.
The only reason I don't give the hotel a 5 star is not their chosing. In greece you don't throw toilet paper in the John to be flushed as it has something to do with the fact they are still excavating underneath the city and don't want to modernize the system. It's something difficult to get used to but you do.
The people are so friendly....we found that to be true everywhere. But the greeks were hurting economically because salaries never increased when the EURO came into effect and prices went up.
The Parthenon is lit up above the city at night...which is a temple on the Athenian Acropolis, dedicated to the maiden goddess Athena. But, the street before you park the vehicle, when you drive up to the Parthenon area is rather a neat place to sit and have a coffee and shop for gifts. If one building in that area was old it would look ugly but having all of them together looking the same, then it just looks historically medieval and the way it should look in ancient Greece..

Room Tip: Room in the front with a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocajanmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Golden age hotel is a very clean, good located hotel in Michalakopolou street, with is very close to downtoun but in very quiet and "safe" area. The room was very clean, but for a 4 star hotel, was not spacious enough and the decoration was old, with carpeted floor. The bathroom was old and extremely small and there was no soudproofing as we could hear noises from the hallway and nextdoor. On the other hand the breakfast was tasty and the variaty was large. The staff were courteous, helpful and professional. In conclusion I would suggest thiw hotel to those looking for a simple and clean hotel, close to attractions and the downtoun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaharoula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice hotel, easy to reach from the airport and only two Metro stations from Syntagma. Friendly staff, rooms look nice. But...

..paper thin walls, you can hear every word of the conversation next door. That just doesn't do it frrm me.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
7  Thank ExilSchorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeofAthens, Internet Sales Manager at The Golden Age Hotel of Athens, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear ExilSchorsch,

Thank you for sharing your opinion and review with us.
The Golden Age of Athens is a well located hotel just 200m from the metro of Megaro Mousikis.
It is true that the access from the airport is really easy and with a reasonable price. The staff of our hotel are for many years here and for most of our repeaters, they do know even the small details and special request they have.
Concerning the "paper walls" you mentioned, it is true that some rooms have this problem, not all of them. In November we already decided that we will have a partial renovation in our hotel and the things mentioned will be changed. We hope to see you again in the near future and get the best possible service from our side and as a result to kindly change your mind...

Best Regards
Alexandros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great central location in downtown Athens, courteous and helpful staff, clean and modern room and amenities, copious and delicious breakfast, including Greek specialties. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one (with a balcony, in the back). Front rooms have better view but are noisier.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Eleftheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeofAthens, Internet Sales Manager at The Golden Age Hotel of Athens, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear 123Eleftheria

We really thank you for sharing your experience in The Golden age of Athens.
We do our best as your satisfaction is our main goal.
We will be happy to see you again when your destination will be again our beautiful city...we hope soon!!!

Best Regards
Alexandros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Greece and Athens. We enjoy walking and so looked for a hotel within a 30 min walk from the major tourist attractions of Athens, specifically the Acropolis. We wanted to be near Lycabettus hill which gives the best views of Athens and so we narrowed our search for a hotel down to that area. Finally we wanted a hotel to be very close to an subway station (the hotel is 2-3 minutes away) (its on the Airport line - no changing is needed). There are multiple branded hotels in the area we selected to look more closely at. This boutique hotel caught our attention and this is where we stayed for 3 days. As we subsequently found out, this is a family run hotel, and this is immediately apparent as you enter it, you sense being welcomed as one of the family. The staff without exception were friendly and personable and this certainly added to or resulted in the stay being enjoyable and satisfactory. The bathrooms may be a touch small, but this is a boutique hotel. Our balcony was a pleasant place to watch Athens wake up from and enjoy our morning coffee. The very adequate breakfast buffet that was included in our room rate offers an more that adequate start to the day.
The Benaki Museum and Panthenaic Stadium (where the first modern Olympics was held) are passed as you stroll to the Acropolis passing the National Gardens of the Greek Parliament on your way. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and when we come to Athens again, which we hope is soon, we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hong_Kong_Expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews