We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, rooftop restaurant wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Electra Palace Athens to your Saves list
Electra Palace Athens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece (Plaka)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, rooftop restaurant wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here for one night before taking a cruise. We had two rooms booked and were fortunate enought to be upgraded to junior suites overlooking the garden. The rooms with hardwood floors were large and tastefully appointed. Hardwood floors were a little noisy as we could hear our upstairs neighbors walking around in their room. Bathrooms were very clean. We ate at the Roof Garden restaurant which afforded a stunning view of the Acropolis. The food was outstanding. One of our party needed a gluten free meal and the chef provided this with no trouble at all. Breakfast is included in the room which is a plus and had everything one could want. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the Plaka and entrance to the Acropolis. It was too chilly to swim in the rooftop pool which was closed but there is a lovely indoor pool attached to the spa in the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    781
    192
    70
    25
See reviews for
614
1,090
71
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF bay area
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Great Location, you can walk to most of the sites. Stayed 5 nights, rooms older but you can open the windows! Nice pool and good view from the dining room. Staff was very good and nice patio for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Reached the hotel around noon & the A/c wouldnt work, felt like we were in a sauna. After making some noise, the staff decided to change our room & also got a fan. The rest of the stay was pleasant. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels replaced with fresh ones, but not the soap & service was generally ok. The american breakfast was the same daily, this was a disappointment as there was no change in menu.

The good part of the hotel is that is just 2 mins walk from the central bus station, Syntagma Square, Plaka market & restaurants.

Restaurant on the roof top, had the lovely Acropolis view, this is lovely in the night! If you get there, make sure to take your camera.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Close walk to key attractions. Great evening view of Acropolis from roof patio/pool. Good breakfast. Parking at hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mharrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my husband before leaving to go to the greek islands and had a great experience. The location is great being that it is walking distance to all the major attractions like the acropolis. We were greeted at our room with a bottle of wine and some greek treats/dessert which were delish! it is a clean hotel with great service. After blowing out a fuse when trying to use my adaptor with my hairdryer, I called down to the front desk and they were there in minutes to fix the fuse problem and even brought me their own adaptor to borrow. They quickly got us a cab when we wanted to go sightseeing and on our departure we did not have to wait, they called ahead of time to have the cab ready for us to leave after making sure that we had our complimentary breakfast. Oh and we were also upgraded to a junior suite. The only negative I would have to say is the quality of the bed...it was hard as a rock! Being that we were only there for one night it was not that big of deal for us. Overall it is a lovely place to stay and great staff! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary - started off in standard room but upgraded to Superior room as standard room was extremely small and very noisy. Walls in all rooms are extremely thin as could hear people talking in the corridor and next room. Bathrooms were a little dated and found large cockroach in room as well as used bubble-gum on the bedside table. Indoor gym was extremely basic and indoor pool was quite dirty. Breakfast was good as service. The location is fantastic - short walk to Agora & Acropolis - Metro station very near and lots of restaurants. Overall we were disappointed as we expected more for a hotel that is rated in the top 10 in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This big hotel in Athens with very big rooms, superb breakfast and excellent anttention of the staff is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eric0534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,746 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 335 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Electra Palace Athens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing