We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Electra Palace Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #14 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

Great place to stay when visiting Athens , great location great staff. Would like to stay there again.loved the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank premierlsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    901
    225
    71
    31
See reviews for
745
1,286
80
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shattuck, ok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed at the Electra Palace in April 2009. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the Plaka and Acropolis. The staff is friendly and helpful. We paid for an acropolis view, but you could only see a corner of it if you stood in the corner of the room. The bed was rock hard. We ate in the restaurant once for a meal other than breakfast and it was average. Breakfast was very good, especially the choco flakes!! The roof was closed during our stay, however, it was quite chilly, so that may not be too suprising. Wireless internet and hardwire internet was slow at best.

Overall, the hotel was fine, however, we expected more out of a five star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedfor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed here for four nights on a mini break to Athens and although we had looked at other 'five' star hotels we were thrilled with the tucked away location of this one right in Plaka which is the oldest part of the city and the very best place to be to soak up the relaxed atmosphere of Athens.
I would highly recommend an upgrade to a 'Superior Acropolis View' room. The room was spacious and well furnished with a nice bathroom. The bed was positioned facing the window with the most fabulous view straight over to the Acropolis and at night when this was lit up we simply left the curtains wide open! Certainly the most enchanting outlook I have had from a hotel!
The breakfast selection was very good although the hot food was more luke warm. Staff were helpful and attentive although they set out their stall 'wrong' when we arrived by saying this was a five star hotel and they were there to serve us as they could not or would not always do that. For instance the air conditioning was not working in our room and you needed to have the window shut to block out city noise but they just shrugged that it wasn't on at this time of year.
For families this is not quite such an ideal hotel. The outdoor pool was shut (with no notice) for maintenance and the indoor pool is ridiculous, tiny and too shallow to swim. In fact the whole spa area is a non-starter including tiny gym, broken jacuzzi etc.
For a luxury city sightseeing break however with the views this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in the midst of it's renovation. We stayed in a newly renovated room. It was nice. Very centrally located. I don't think we took any public transportation except for arrival/departure. We were able to walk to all the major tourist sites from here. Construction started early in the am. Which is painful when you're relaxing and on vacation. But I'm sure it's not an issue now. Te only thing that was an issue was that they were having a late night party in one of the ballrooms and I could hear the noise all the way from the 3rd floor. I called down to reception to request that they turn down the noise 3 times. Since we were in a renovated room and the ground floor was also already renovated - I'm not sure that this problem was resolved. I would still recommend this hotel though since it was a one time thing.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kengyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

If you're looking for the equivalent of a three/four-star hotel on a quiet(er) street with a perfect location between Syntagma Square and Plaka at reasonable rates, this is it. Don't drive yourself crazy wondering about hotels. Ask for a room with an Acropolis view, if possible. About my only criticism is that the fitness center closes early (8pm as of April 2009) and that the carpeting could use some attention, but that's hardly a disqualifying factor. One caution: About two blocks away from the hotel is the New York bar which has hustlers both inside and out; I got tired of them always bothering us when we walked by and told them we were gay. Never heard a word after that.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DwainChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

Athens it's a beautiful city and Electra Palace is the heart of Athens. Great view to Akropolis and Lycabettus Hill (from the terrace and pool on the roof) and the personal was very nice! Next time in Athens i will choose again Electra Palace!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cossmyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

After an agressive day of sightseeing in Athens it was a pleasure to unwind on the deck of the Electra. The rooms were good sized, the breakfast was good, and the service at the front desk was friendly. This seemed to be one of the more higher priced hotels in Athens, but it was worth it to end our stay in Greece here.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#6 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing