We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at Electra Palace for one night at the beginning of our 2 week trip in Greece. You can't beat the location of this hotel. It's in the heart of the Plaka and is walking distance to many shops and restaurants, as well as the Acropolis. We ate lunch at the rooftop restaurant which overlooks the outdoor pool and has amazing views of the Acropolis. The rooms were clean and the accommodations were very nice. I would stay here again when traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,668 - 1,674 of 3,286 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our initial room was very hot and so had difficulty sleeping at night. They did not have the air conditioning on yet despite it being 20+ celcius during the day. Our second time there, the night before we left Greece, they upgraded our room and gave us one overlooking the Acropolis. It was quite nice, though still very hot in the room! The staff was friendly and did provide us with a fan when I asked.
\

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our first stay and it was great! Our room had an amazing view and at night if felt so impressive. Staff are very good and the bathrooms very nice. My wife loved the large mirror in the room and it is the first time we have seen a feature like this in a hotel. Good value and we would go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Was on a business trip to Athens and stayed at this hotel in Plaka region of Athens, on arrival with my colleagues we were informed we had been upgraded to top floor suites. These were very very nice with views of the Parthenon which in the evening was lite up and looked stunning. We ate in the Hotel on the final night and the food was exquisite and as they were running a special price for people staying in the hotel it was very reasonable too.
Reception staff excellent as were all the waiters and waitresses etc. Will definitely stay here again when visiting my office in Athens

Room Tip: ry and get a top floor suite for the views, although there are views from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Langdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very nice hotel! Friendly personnel, relatively cheap (in April, however-- not sure about the prices in the high season). Great terrasse and a roof-top restorer and swimming pool. Excellent situation nearby Acropole.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Unbelievable! Arrived at the hotel after a 14-hour flight, at 2am, and we were told they had "technical difficulties" and no room available. This is after I had called the night before to say that we will be arriving late. They put us back into our taxi and sent us to some motel-level place outside the Plaka, with a bare-bones room, no gym, no pool. We booked a "five star" hotel for a reason - this was our 4th anniversary celebration trip - and this was definitely not ok.

There was no offer of compensation or refund, even after I complained to the booking agency. We holiday at least three times a year and this was the first time that something like this happened. We had such an amazing experience at every other hotel we stayed at in Greece (see my reviews of Avli Lounge in Crete and Asteras Villas in Santorini). We will definitely go back to Greece, but never again to Electra Group hotels. One word - rotten.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
16  Thank papaya168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My room was decent size with a cool view of the Acropolis. Not a 5 star, probably not quite a 4 star either. Two things firmly plant this in the 4 star category: location and service. Location is very convenient and the customer service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis
Electra Metropolis
#9 of 282 in Athens
616 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,459 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $174 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing